Home‎ > ‎

2018 SMS Conference

Society for the Metaphysics of Science 

4th Annual Conference

University of Milan

The Society for the Metaphysics of Science (SMS) will be holding its fourth annual conference on August 22-24, 2018 at the University of Milan.

Our keynote speaker will be

Alexander Bird (Kings College London)

In addition, Alastair Wilson (U Birmingham) will deliver a presidential address. 

All other sessions will comprise submitted papers.

As well as various presentations, the conference will also feature an organizational meeting of the Society which will elect officers, continue to make various policies, plan future conferences, etc. Both those interested in presenting papers and/or participating in the Society are invited to the conference.


At the conference, presentations will be 30 minutes, with a 10 minutes comment, 5 min reply, and 15 minutes for Q&A.  Submissions should be on a topic in the metaphysics of science broadly construed, of no more than 4,500 words and should include an abstract of ~150 words and a word count.  All papers must employ gender-neutral language and be prepared for blind review. 


At most one contributed paper on which you are the presenting author can be submitted. No one will be permitted to present more than once at SMS 2018. A scholar may appear as co-author on more than one paper or symposium talk, but may present at SMS 2018 only once.


Submissions must be made using the EasyChair online submission system at



The submission deadline is 2 February 2018.  Notifications of acceptance will be delivered by 2 April 2018.  Selected speakers should confirm their participation before 4 May 2018.


The conference will have a $75 registration fee for faculty and post-docs, $10 for graduate students, $1 for emeritus faculty.


The Society would like to thank the Department of Philosophy at the University of Milan for support.

Program Committee:

Matthew Slater (Bucknell University)

Cailin O’Connor (University of California, Irvine)

Claudio Calosi (University of Geneva)

Michael Hicks (Oxford University)

Alison Fernandes (University of Warwick)

Markus Schrenk (University of Dusseldorf)

Zee Perry (Rutgers University)

Local Arrangements Co-chairs:

Andrea Borghini

Giuliano Torrengo

Subpages (2): Accommodations Program