2016 SMS Conference

CFP: Society for the Metaphysics of Science (2nd Annual Conference), Geneva

After its successful first meeting at Rutgers, Newark in 2015, The Society for the Metaphysics of Science (SMS) will be holding its second annual conference on September 15-17, 2016 at University of Geneva, Switzerland.  

Our keynote speaker will be:

Helen Beebee (University of Manchester)


In addition, Alyssa Ney (UC Davis) will deliver a presidential address.

All other sessions will comprise submitted papers.

As well as various presentations, the conference will also feature an organizational meeting of the Society which will elect officers, continue to make various policies, plan future conferences, etc. Both those interested in presenting papers and/or participating in the Society are invited to the conference. (For more information on the society, SMS also has a Facebook page.)

At the conference, presentations will be 40 minutes.  Submissions should be on a topic in the metaphysics of science broadly construed, of no more than 6,000 words and should include an abstract of ~150 words and a word count.  All papers must employ gender-neutral language and be prepared for blind review. 

Submissions must be made using the EasyChair online submission system at: https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=sms2016. The submission deadline is March 1, 2016.  Notifications of acceptance will be delivered by May 15, 2016.  The conference will have a $50 registration fee.  (The fee will be waived for graduate students.)

The Society would like to thank the Department of Philosophy at the University of Geneva for patronage.

Contact tuomas.tahko at the domain helsinki.fi for further information.

Program Committee:

Tuomas Tahko, University of Helsinki, Chair

Emma Tobin, University College London, Co-Chair

Paavo Pylkkänen, University of Helsinki

Sarah Robins, University of Kansas

Alastair Wilson, University of Birmingham

Satellite Conference: Ground in the Philosophy of Science