Postgraduate Essay Prize

Res Publica offers an annual prize for the best article submission from a postgraduate student.

The winner of the 2017 Res Publica Postgraduate Essay Prize is Fredrik Dybfest Hjorthen:  'Who should intervene?' (forthcoming)

We invite entries from both current postgraduate students and those who were awarded their PhD (i.e. have passed their viva) no earlier than May 1 2017 (the prize winner may be asked to provide proof of their current or recent postgraduate status)

All entries must be received by 1 December 2017, with the winner to be announced early in 2018.

Winners receive £100 and a year's subscription to Res Publica 

The prize will be judged by two referees, along with the journal editors.

Entries should be submitted via the journal's submission website and labelled 'PG Essay Prize'

Previous Winners:

2011    Christopher Nathan, 'Need there be a defence of equality?'

2008    Göran Duus-Otterstrom, 'Betting against hard determinism.'

2006    Alexandra Couto, 'Privacy and justification.'