Historia de Sigma Delta Pi

    Sigma Delta Pi, the National Collegiate Hispanic Honor Society (La Sociedad Nacional Honoraria Hispánica), was established on November 14, 1919, at the University of California Berkeley. The Society's insignia is the royal seal of Fernando and Isabel, representing Castille, León and Aragón. Sigma Delta Pi's colors are red and gold, its flower is the red carnation, and its motto is the Greek phrase "Spanías Didagéi Proágomen" meaning "Let's go forth/continue forth under the teaching/guidance of the Spanish language." The national headquarters is located at the College of Charleston in South Carolina.

    With the guidance of such notable Hispanists as S. Griswold Morley, Elijah C. Hills, Rudolph Schevill, Leavitt O. Wright, William Berrien, John D. Fitz-Gerald, Tomás Navarro Tomás, José Martel, Archer M. Huntington, John T. Reid, Stuart M. Gross, James O. Swain, F. Dewey Amner, Carl A. Tyre, T. Earle Hamilton, Dolores Brown, Richard E. Chandler, Ignacio R.M. Galbis, John H. LaPrade, Mark P. Del Mastro and Germán D. Carrillo, the Society has expanded its activities and now has over 570 chapters in 49 states.

    The following reveal the diverse nature of the colleges and universities that form the Sigma Delta Pi family: the University of Notre Dame, the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, The Citadel, Johns Hopkins University, the University of Hawaii, Oral Roberts University, the University of Texas at Austin, Hood College, Brigham Young University, Truman State University, the College of William and Mary, Howard University, Friends University, Georgia Southern University, California State University San Marcos, Auburn University and the University of Wyoming.

    In order to serve its many chapters optimally, the Society has a National President (click here for list of current and past presidents), an Executive Director,* and five Regional Vice Presidents. All but the Executive Director are nominated and elected by the active chapter members. The Society is governed by an Executive Council consisting of the seven aforementioned officials, the Immediate Past President, the Presidents Emeriti and one Executive Committee Member-at-Large. The sponsor of the chapter, preferably chosen by the student members, but sometimes appointed by the department head, is of the utmost importance, for his/her wisdom, imagination and dedication largely determine the success of the local branch of the Society.

Sigma Delta Pi: A Brief History, Recounting a Decade (1995-2004) by John H. LaPrade and Mark P. Del Mastro.

( Large files: please be patient while downloading.) 

*In August 2010 the title of Executive Secretary-Treasurer was changed to Executive Director to better represent the related duties.

Ruth Barnes, founder, inspiration, and guiding spirit of Sigma Delta Pi;
we remember you with gratitude and appreciation.