SHIFT - Secular Humanism, Inquiry and Freethought, was founded on May 4, 2009 by Jason Cooperrider (graduate student of Neuroscience) and Elaine Ball (undergraduate student of French) as a student group of the University of Utah. It is an educational, social, and service group for students and members of the community who are freethinking and devoted to inquiry and the ethics and values of Secular Humanism. Our meetings and other functions are open to the public; anyone may participate.


The purpose of SHIFT (Secular Humanism, Inquiry and Freethought) is to promote and practice open, rational, and scientific examination of the universe and our place in it; to promote awareness that ethics and morality can be meaningfully based on rational and humanistic ideals and values; to provide a safe and open community for atheists, agnostics, humanists, skeptics, naturalists, and all freethinkers; and to organize activities (e. g., social gatherings, discussion forums, guest speaker events, community service projects, and debates) that educate University of Utah students and surrounding community members.

                                                           Membership Requirement:                                                                      

Membership is open to all University of Utah students, though faculty, staff, and the general public are welcome to attend any and all of our functions. This organization and its members shall not discriminate against any individuals for reasons of race, color, creed, religion, sexual orientation, gender identity, national origin, sex, age, socio-economic status, disability, veteran status, or any other factor. People of faith are welcome to our functions and several have taken us up on our offer in the past. To become a voting member, you must either be a student, staff, or faculty of the University of Utah and you must have attended a minimum of five meetings.

                                                                  General Meetings:                                                                           

We are currently changing our meeting times trying to find the right time that will work for our members. At this time we are currently meeting every other Monday at 5pm at the Marriott Library Cafe. If you want to find more information on when exactly a meeting is, you can either go to the calendar or find us on our official facebook page.


President: Adam Isom
Vice-President: Kyle Ray
Treasurer: Vacant
Secretary: Shaun Brannen
Webmaster: Kyle Ray*
Faculty Advisor: Deen Chatterjee

* Interim

                                                                    Contact Information: