Sportives‎ > ‎

Scalloway sportive 2013

Scalloway Regatta Cycling Sportive - 4th August 2013

Sunday morning saw 27 cyclists of all abilities head out to make the most of a traffic free Tingwall Valley.  The weather was warm and sunny and a strong SW wind provided the perfect tailwind to blow everybody up the valley at top speeds.  Of course the downside to this was a tough tailwind on the return leg.

A Sportive is a non-competitive cycling event and this one consisted of two routes; 25 miles and 6miles.  All cyclists started off together from the Scalloway Boating Club, making their way to the Tingwall Valley under Police escort. 

Once in the valley the 25 mile riders headed off first and continued north to Sandwater where they branched left through Kergord and up Wormadale before heading back through the valley.  11 riders took part in this distance and first to return to the Fire Station were John Wm Simpson and Colin Smith in a time of 1hr 17mins, closely followed by Russell Gair and Iain McDiarmid.

There were all abilities taking part in the 6 mile route through the valley with an age range of 7-75 years.  Linda Gair was back in 31:30 closely followed by Theo Fullerton.  They had both enjoyed the empty roads so much they decided to go again.  Alex Williamson (75yrs) came down from Whalsay and completed the route with his daughter in a very impressive time of 37:40.  Special mention must also go to Lois Phillips who completed the course on a scooter with a broken arm and a big smile on her face throughout.

Once the riders had finished they all received a goody bag and relaxed on the grass eating ice-cream and cheering on the other riders as they pushed their way through the headwind to the finish line.

Organisers would like to thank the Police and Lerwick Radio Club for their support in this event and all the motorists who diverted their routes for the 2 hours the road was closed.  Also a HUGE thanks to marshalls who gave up their Sunday morning to help out and to JG Grays for donating refreshments for the riders.

Scalloway Regatta 25 mile Sportive - Event Timings
Name          Time
Jonathan Emptage02:47
Russell Gair01:19
Elizabeth Gifford02:23
Marvin Inkster01:28
Ryan Leith01:28
Iain McDiarmid01:19
David Oral01:27
Craig Porter01:57
June Porter01:57
John William Simpson01:17
Colin Smith01:17

Scalloway Regatta 6 mile Sportive - Event Timings
Name    Time
Anna Cochaline    N/A
Theo Fullerton00:34:30
Linda Gair00:31:30
Sara Leith00:43:10
James Phillips00:51:30
James Phillips (Jnr)00:51:30
Mandy Phillips01:05:00
Lois Phillips01:05:00
Helen Robertson00:43:10
Matthew Robertson00:44:29
Saro Saravanan    N/A
Prasheeta Saravanan    N/A
Alex Williamson00:37:40
Alison Williamson00:37:40
Gary Robinson01:10:00
Alex Robinson01:10:00