Welcome to my web site.

I write historical novels set in New Zealand. The first book,
Sentence of Marriage, begins in 1881, and the most recently completed, Daisy's War, takes the series to 1918. Sentence of Marriage is available as a free download through various retail outlets.

While the characters and their stories are my own invention, the broader setting is the real New Zealand of the period, with actual, historical events; from major ones like the Tarawera eruption, the baby farming scandal and the extension of suffrage to women through to relatively local events such as the great Bay of Plenty floods of 1892.

This site gives some extra background to the setting of the books. I've also included several chapters from an earlier version of
Sentence of Marriage, giving a little more detail of the events in Amy's life in the months before the book begins.

If you'd like to go on my mailing list to be notified when I have a new book out, please Contact Me.

Promises to Keep

Sentence of Marriage

Sentence of  Marriage is Book 1 of Promises to Keep.

In nineteenth century New Zealand, there are few choices for a farm girl like Amy. Her life seems mapped out for her by the time she is twelve.

Amy dreams of an exciting life in the world beyond her narrow boundaries. But it is the two people who come to the farm from outside the valley
who change her life forever, and Amy learns the high cost of making the wrong choice.

Book Trailer for
Sentence of Marriage

Mud and Gold

Mud and Gold is Book 2 of Promises to Keep.

Amy tries desperately hard to be a good wife and mother. She puts her whole heart into doing the best she can. But will her best ever be

good enough for this man?

Settling the Account

Settling the Account is Book 3 of Promises to Keep.

Amy watches in growing fear the worsening confrontation between her husband and her son, until she realises that only one of them

can survive it. How long can she keep them apart?

A Second Chance

A Second Chance

A Second Chance is the sequel to the three-volume Promises to Keep.

Amy uses the second chance she had hardly dared dream of to make up for the wasted years. But a familiar face from long ago makes

an unwelcome reappearance, threatening her new-found happiness. Payback has more than one meaning, and sometimes people get what they deserve.


Daisy's War

Daisy's War

In 1914, Daisy lives in the quiet New Zealand valley where her family has farmed for generations. A cherished only child with an adored older cousin,
and surrounded by a sprawling extended family, her world seems a warm and safe one.

But the Great War is casting its long shadow over New Zealand. Daisy watches in growing fear as more and more of the men leave to fight in Europe,
and the War strikes ever closer to the heart of her family.

Daisy's War
opens five years after the end of A Second Chance. The settings and many of the characters from the earlier books are revisited, while a new generation is introduced:
that of Amy's grandchildren.