Current Workshop

SetVR 2018

International Workshop on Set Visualization and Reasoning
18th June 2018, Edinburgh, United Kingdom
(co-located with Diagrams 2018)

SetVR 2018 will be the 6th meeting, with the first one held in 2004, previously called the Euler Diagrams Workshop. It aims to promote theoretical, empirical, applied research on visualization and diagrammatic reasoning, especially, about sets (set-theoretical and grouped data). SetVR 2018 will run as part of Diagrams 2018 conference, which will be held from June 18th to 22nd in 2018, and is expected to occupy one day (June 18th) during this period

SetVR 2018 will encourage researchers to submit papers on set visualization and reasoning in the following areas (but not limited to):
  • Information Visualization: diagram/graph drawing and layout, data visualization, ontology visualization, human-computer interaction
  • Diagrammatic Logic: formalization, inference system, expressiveness, decidability, computational complexity, automated reasoning, history of notation
  • Cognitive Science: efficacy evaluation, cognitive process, cognitive model, educational outcome
  • Application of Diagrams: visual modeling, real world reasoning, ontology engineering, data exploration

SetVR 2018 welcomes the following types of contributions, in Springer LNCS style:
  • full papers (16 pages): original research, surveys.
  • short papers (8 pages; at least 5 pages): systems descriptions, software demonstrations, position statements, original research.
All submissions will go through a peer-review process. Accepted papers are expected to be published on-line by CEUR Workshop Proceedings ( Submissions should be made by the deadline via EasyChair:

Important Dates
  • Paper Submission Due: 5th February, 2018  19th February, 2018 (Due to requests, the deadline has been extended.)
  • Notification: 23rd March, 2018 
  • Camera ready deadline: 23rd April, 2018 
Authors of accepted submissions: at least one author must register to attend the Diagrams 2018 conference by 23rd April 2018. Registration is now open
  • Early bird: before 7th April, 2018
  • Late: from 8th April, 2018

Invited Speaker
           Professor Peter Cheng, University of Sussex

Yuri Sato (University of Brighton, UK)
Zohreh Shams (University of Cambridge, UK)

Program Committee
Bilal Alsallakh (Bosch Research and Technology Center, USA)
Jim Burton (University of Brighton, UK)
Peter Chapman (Edinburgh Napier University, UK)
Renata De Freitas (Universidade Federal Fluminense, Brasil)
Mateja Jamnik (University of Cambridge, UK)
Sven Linker (University of Liverpool, UK)
Luana Micallef (Helsinki Institute for Information Technology HIIT, Finland)
Peter Rodgers (University of Kent, UK)
Gem Stapleton (University of Brighton, UK)