Background on Southeast Los Angeles Community Plan

The Southeast Los Angeles (SELA) Community Plan is one of 35 Community Plans that make up the Land Use Element of the City's General Plan. It serves as the blueprint for growth and development in the area. The Plan includes goals and policies for the various types of uses of land, including residential, commercial and industrial. 

SELA is one of the 3 community plans that make up the South Los Angeles Planning Region, which includes the South Los Angeles Community Plan and the West Adams-Baldwin Hills-Leimert Community Plan. SELA includes several neighborhoods, including Central, Avalon, Green Meadows and Watts. There are 9 Neighborhood Councils in the Plan Area.

Click here for the Neighborhood Councils map. 

Plan Boundaries 

Southeast Los Angeles is located south of downtown Los Angeles with the I-10 Santa Monica Freeway on the north, the 120th Street and Imperial Highway on the south, Figueroa and Broadway on the west, and the Alameda Corridor and Central Avenue on the east. 

Size, Population, Council Districts 
  • 15.72 square miles of land area 
  • Population of 278,337 (2010 Census) 
  • Council districts: 8, 9, 14, 15