Scottish Pain Research Community - SPaRC



 SMASAC Guideline - Draft 

Following a consultation period the Scottish Medical and Scientific Advisory Committee (SMASAC) have submitted the final version of the guideline: Management of Chronic Pain in Children and Young People to the Scottish Government.

Developed by the Short Life Working Group for Chronic Pain Management in Children,  the launch date for this guideline is TBA.

To view the draft guideline please visit: Resources.


23rd March 2018
Westpark Conference Centre, Dundee

For the abstract submission form please visit: Resources

Registration is now open:

Westpark Conference Centre


Image result for scottish pain research community (sparc)

The basis of the research sub-group's work evolved from the Proposals for a Research Strategy paper by Professor Blair H Smith & Professor Gary J Macfarlane.

Research Subgroup of the National Chronic Pain Improvement Group - Strategy & Workplan 2014 

Evidence for Pain Management

SIGN 136; The Management of Chronic Pain was published in December 2013

International Research Information

International Association for the Study of Pain -  IASP

European Pain Federation - EFIC

Pain Research Forum - USA

PAIN-OUT Acute Pain Research Network in Europe

Arthritis Research UK

Bath Centre for Pain Research

Pain Research Institute - Liverpool

King's College London

Leeds University

Oxford Pain Research

University College London 

Wellcome Trust London Pain Consortium

German Neuropathic Pain Research Network

Karolinska Intitute

Body in Mind - Adelaide

Pain Management Research Institute - Sydney

McGill University Pain Research Centre Montreal

International Research Consortium for CRPS

The Centre for Paediatric Pain Research - California

Pain Research Unit at Sydney Children's Hospital

University of Galway 

Waitemata - New Zealand

Chronic Pain Research Alliance - Chronic Overlapping Pain Conditions - USA

Nueropharmacology & Pain Research Group - Barcelona

Membership of SPaRC Steering Group

  • Contact us at

  • Professor Lesley Colvin (Chair) - Consultant Anaesthesia & Pain Management, Senior Lecturer, NHS Lothian, University of Edinburgh and Dundee, Royal College of Anaesthetists.

    Dr Fiona A. Bull - Clinical Lecturer, The Scottish Clinical Research Excellence Development Scheme (SCREDS), The University of Dundee.

    Dr Paul A. Cameron - Lead Advanced Practice Physiotherapist, NHS Fife Pain Management Service; National Chronic Pain Coordinator.

    Professor Sue Fleetwood-Walker. - Chair of Sensory Neuroscience, University of Edinburgh.

    Professor Tim G. Hales. - Director Institute of Academic Anaesthesia, Centre for Neuroscience, Ninewells Hospital & Medical School.

    Professor Gary J. Macfarlane. - Professor of Epidemiology, University of Aberdeen.

    Dr Kathryn Martin, Lecturer in Epidemiology, University of Aberdeen.     


    Dr Colin Rae. - Consultant in Anaesthesia & Pain Management, Lead clinician of Greater Glasgow & Clyde Pain MCN.     


    Dr Mick Serpell. - Senior Lecturer & Consultant in Anaesthetics & Pain Management, NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde.

    Professor Blair H. Smith. - National Lead Clinician for Chronic Pain, Scottish Government, Professor of Population Science  University of Dundee.

    Dr Lars Williams - Consultant in Anaesthesia & Pain Management, Greater Glasgow & Clyde Pain MCN, National Residential Pain Management Centre.