Anita Borg

United States Scholars:

  • Jennifer Roberts - Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Sheena Lewis - Northwestern University
  • Ramya Raghavendra - University of California-Santa Barbara
  • Saleema Amershi - University of Washington
  • Divya Ramachandran - University of California-Berkeley
  • Leshell Hatley - University of Maryland College Park
  • Sara Sinclair - Dartmouth College
  • Mary David - University of Southern California
  • Dana Forsthoefel - Georgia Institute of Technology
  • manjari narayan - Rice University
  • Yi-Chieh Wu - Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Sarah Cooley - Oregon State University
  • Katherine Corner - University of Colorado at Boulder
  • Natalie Freed - Arizona State University Main
  • Sarah Loos - Indiana University Bloomington
  • Isabel Mattos - Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Norma Savage - Universidad Nacional Autonoma De Mexico
  • Elaine Short - Yale University
  • Xuexin (Alice) Zhu - Harvey Mudd College
  • YoungJoo Jeong - Carnegie Mellon University

United States Finalists:

  • Cindy Rubio Gonzalez - University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Maria Kazandjieva - Stanford University
  • Rachel Sealfon - Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • shilpa arora - Carnegie Mellon University
  • Pinar Muyan-Ozcelik - University of California-Davis
  • Kristi Morton - University of Washington
  • Carrie Ruppar - Ekaterina Gonina - University of California-Berkeley
  • Kelli Ireland - University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh Campus
  • Xia Zhou - University of California-Santa Barbara
  • Corey Toler-Franklin - Princeton University
  • Chaitrali Amrutkar - Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Krystle de Mesa - University of California, San Diego
  • Sonal Gupta - University of Texas at Austin
  • sujatha nagarajan - University of Illinois at Chicago
  • Julia Schwarz - University of Washington
  • Wendy Stevenson - Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
  • Supriya Vadlamani - Cornell University
  • Tracy Chou - Stanford University
  • Alyssa Daw - California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo
  • Rachelle Fuhrer - University of California, San Diego
  • Jennifer Harrison - Arizona State University Main
  • Margaret Leibovic - Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Sneha Popley - Texas Christian University
  • Kyle Rector - Oregon State University
  • Jacinda Shelly - Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Sarah Shiplett - Wellesley College
  • Manasi Vartak - Worcester Polytechnic Institute
  • Angela Yen - Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Valerie Yoder - Westminster College

Canada Scholars:

  • Jenna Cameron - University Of Western Ontario
  • Jing Xiang - University Of British Columbia
  • Pooja Viswanathan - University Of British Columbia
  • April Khademi - University Of Toronto

Canada Finalists:

  • Barbara Macdonald - University Of Waterloo
  • Melanie Tupper - Dalhousie University
  • Xiaoyuan XU - Simon Fraser University
  • Michelle Annett - University Of Alberta
  • Gail Carmichael - Carleton University
  • Sarah Carruthers - University Of Victoria
  • Katherine Gunion - University Of Victoria
  • Kathleen Tsoukalas - Simon Fraser University
  • Zahra Ahmadian - University Of British Columbia
  • Phillipa Gill - University Of Toronto
  • Marjorie Locke - University Of Western Ontario
  • Somayeh Moazeni University Of Waterloo
  • Mona Mojdeh - University Of Waterloo
  • Fahimeh Raja - University Of British Columbia
  • Ozge Yeloglu - Dalhousie University

Anita Borg Scholarship

Anita Borg believed that technology affects all aspects of our economic, political, social and personal lives. A technology rebel with a cause, in her life she fought tirelessly to ensure that technology’s impact would be a positive one. It was this vision that inspired Anita in 1997 to found the Institute for Women and Technology. Today this organization continues on her legacy and bears her name, The Anita Borg Institute for Women and Technology (

Her capacity to mix technical expertise and a relentless vision inspired, motivated and moved women to embrace technology instead of avoiding or ignoring it. She has touched and changed the lives of countless women in the computing fields and beyond. She is responsible for including women in the technological revolution – not as bystanders, but as active participants and leaders. In 1987, prior to founding the Institute, Anita began an email online community called Systers which today has 3,000 members from all over the world. In 1994, Anita co-founded the Grace Hopper Celebration of Women in Computing Conference. The Grace Hopper Celebration has grown to become the largest gathering of women in computing in the world. The Anita Borg Institute is the umbrella organization for both of these ongoing programs as well as the Virtual Development Center, TechLeaders and a host of other dynamic partnerships and collaborations that embrace Anita’s ongoing vision.

During her life, Anita’s commitment to her vision and expertise in the field gained her significant recognition. In 1999 President Clinton appointed her to the Commission on the Advancement of Women and Minorities in Science, Engineering, and Technology. In 2002, she received the Heinz Award for Technology, the Economy, and Employment.

Born Anita Borg Naffz on January 17th, 1949 in Chicago, Illinois, She grew up in Palatine, Illinois, Kaneohe, Hawaii, and Mukilteo, Washington. Anita found her way to a computer keyboard in her mid-20s. She received a Ph.D. in computer science from the Courant Institute at New York University in 1981. She then embarked on a brilliant research career for some of industry’s commercial giants including, Nixdorf, Digital/Compaq’s Western Research Lab and Xerox PARC.

The Google Anita Borg Scholarship was established in 2004 to honor the legacy of Dr. Anita Borg ( and her efforts to encourage women to pursue careers in computer science and technology.

Since first awarding the scholarship to 8 women in 2004, the Google Anita Borg Scholarship program has expanded to include Anita Borg Scholarship programs for women studying computer science in Australia, Canada, Europe, the Middle East & North Africa, and New Zealand.

Since 2004, 194 women in the US and 152 women globally have earned the distinction of either an Anita Borg Scholar or Finalist, and Google has award $$$ USD to students globally.

The Anita Borg Scholarship Programs are managed in partnership by the Global Diversity & Talent Inclusion team, and the Global University Programs team.

Blog Post

Blog Post at:

Announcing the 2009 Anita Borg Scholars and Finalists

5/11/2009 10:59:00 AM
We're pleased to announce our 2009 Anita Borg Scholars and Finalists. We established the Anita Borg Memorial Scholarship in 2003 to encourage undergraduate and graduate women completing degrees in computer science and related fields to excel in computing and technology and become active role models and leaders in the field. This year, we're awarding 50 scholars and finalists in the U.S., 18 in Canada and 56 in Europe, the Middle East and North Africa. We'll also be awarding scholarships to female students in Australia and New Zealand later this year.

In addition to receiving academic scholarships, all of our winners will be invited to participate in all-expenses-paid networking retreats featuring workshops, speakers, panelists, breakout sessions and social activities at Google offices.

For more information on the Anita Borg Memorial Scholarship and other Google scholarship opportunities, visit our scholarships page.

Congratulations to all of our winners!