Resources‎ > ‎

Past Announcements

The Year in Review 2012:

Photo: Chapter President, Jon Marinaro, MD presents Kindred CEO, Michael Shaw, with the Toys For Tots traveling trophy. Kindred Hospital won the Toys For Tots Challenge and was named Children’s Champion for 2012 with a total toy count of 98 toys, followed closely by UNMH MICU with a total of 70 toys! The combined total count delivered to the USMC was 228 toys! Kindred received the traveling prize--a USMC Teddy Bear. Kindred will host the prize until next year’s competition when we will see if they keep it or lose it to another ICU! UNMH MICU will receive a Toys for Tots holiday ornament to keep for coming in second in the 2012 ICU v ICU competition. The clear winners are the children in our community who would otherwise go without this Christmas day but for your generosity and efforts. Thank you to everyone who coordinated, contributed and participated in the 2012 Toys for Tots Drive.

ACEP Recognizes UNM Faculty.  The American College of Emergency Physicians recognizes UNM Critical Care Faculty in their December newsletter -- see page 10

Presidential Citation awarded to Jon Marinaro, MD, Isaac Tawil, MD, and Sophia Rodgers, ACNP, for their extraordinary contributions of time, energy and resources to the Society of Critical Care Medicine during 2012. Congratulations all!

Critical Care Nutrition. UNMH ICU dietitians, Paula West (TSI and NSI) and Chet Kubik (MICU), have passed a specialized national board certification showing dedication to their profession and critical care medical nutrition therapy. This is Paula's first time certifying and Chet's fifth. Each certification period runs 5 years. Both are Certified Nutrition Support Clinicians (CNSC), a certification available to dietitians, physicians, nurses, pharmacists, and physician assistants, demonstrating they have attained the skills necessary to deliver quality nutrition support care. Paula and Chet join Jen Martinez (TSI and NSI), who is in her second certification period, as CNSC's forming the backbone of the ICU nutrition support team.

Division of Critical Care Medicine. Congratulations to the Surgical Critical Care Intensivist Team and the Department of Anesthesiology at the UNM Health Science Center on the creation of the Division of Critical Care Medicine. Dr. Jonathan Marinaro will lead the team as Division Chief. He is joined in the Division by fellow New Mexico Chapter members Isaac Tawil, MD, FCCM, Amber Rollstin, MD, Todd Dettmer, MD and Ben Kratzert, MD.

New FCCS Course Consultant. Congratulations to Dr. Jon Marinaro on his recent recognition by the Society of Critical Care Medicine as an FCCS Course Consultant. The Society considers Consultants to be “experts in both critical care practice and the FCCS program.” Dr. Marinaro joins a short list of 26 Consultants nationwide and 33 worldwide. Among the short list is our very own Sophia Rodgers, ACNP, fellow New Mexico Chapter member! New Mexico is one of 7 states that is home to more than one Consultant. The FCCS course was prepared under the direction of the SCCM by leading multiprofessional critical care educators in anesthesiology, emergency medicine, internal medicine, nursing, pediatrics and surgery.

New Fellow of Critical Care Medicine. Congratulations to Isaac Tawil, MD, FCCM who was recently named as a Fellow of the American College of Critical Care Medicine. Dr. Tawil will be inducted into the College at a convocation ceremony at SCCM Congress in Puerto Rico in January 2013.

New ICU at UNM Health Science Center. Congratulations to Ben Kratzert, MD from the Dept of Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine has been named the Medical Director of the newly formed Cardiothoracic ICU. Dr Kratzert is boarded in Anesthesia, Critical Care Medicine and Transesophageal Echocardiography. Dr. Kratzert trained at Columbia Hospital and Stanford University for his cardiac anesthesia and critical care fellowships. We welcome Dr Kratzert to his new leadership role.

SCCM Welcomes the New Mexico Chapter. The Society of Critical Care Medicine (SCCM) is pleased to welcome the New Mexico Chapter as its twelfth regional partner. Jonathan Marinaro, MD, will serve as the New Mexico Chapter president as the group develops regional and local activities and facilitates new networking opportunities. The New Mexico Chapter also is on Facebook.

Chapters create multiple opportunities for members to meet their peers, participate in their community, and interact with local and national leaders.