Honorary Service Awards (HSA) / Founders Day

 The Santa Barbara Area Council of PTAs

Honorary Service Awards Reception
May 19, 2014

6:30 P.M. - 7:00 P.M.
Appetizers and entertainment

7:00 - 8:00pm: Awards Program

County Office of Education Auditorium
4400 Cathedral Oaks Road
Santa Barbara, CA 93110

R.S.V.P. Marina King

The Santa Barbara Children's Chorus performing under Rebecca Leftwich Hodson

What is Founders Day?
Founders Day is a perfect time to renew our dedication to the purposes of the PTA that were defined by our founders more than a century ago. Each year in February, PTA honors the three founders as well as past and present PTA leaders. PTA also attempts to increase the awareness of its members and the community by highlighting achievements, activities, projects and goals. 

Origin of Founders Day
The Founders Day celebration was created in 1910 by Mrs. David O. Mears, a charter member of the National Congress of Mothers founded by  Alice McLellan Birney and Phoebe Apperson Hearst in Washington, DC on February 17, 1897. The Founders Day observance has continued through the change of organization names in 1925 to the National Congress of Parents and Teachers, and the uniting in 1970 with the National Congress  of Colored Parents and Teachers founded in 1926 by Selena Sloan Butler, to become the National PTA. 

Issues concerning immigrants, homeless children and families, the unemployed and the uneducated and numerous health and safety concerns still need attention. However, through PTA advocacy to enact and enforce laws, our children's health is better protected and children are better fed, housed and educated, with parents more involved in their upbringing. The vision of our founders has been realized in many ways, and it is now up to us to continue the vision. 

Current Honorees
Last year, the Santa Barbara Area Council of PTAs honored 
Kim Modugno with the Golden Oak Service Award for her continued 
outstanding service to children, and also honored these individuals from the following schools: 

Dos Pueblos High School
Sonya Castillo
Steve Davies
Mark McClenathan
Jette Schuh

Foothill Elementary School
Norma Aldana
Beth Uhrig
Seth Uhrig

Monroe Elementary School
Rafaela Orozco

Montecito Union Elementary School
Annabelle Brownell
Heidi Winston
Shannon Murray 
Michelle Kelly 

Mountain View Elementary School
Barbara Little
Vivi Tziouvaras

Santa Barbara High School
Donna Harris
Ramon Trujillo
Trevor Smith 

Vieja Valley Elementary School
Dale Hoeffliger
Patrice Mueller
Manny Sanvictores