5th AGORA Workshop in 2016

We are delighted to announce that the 5th Workshop for the AGORA Project will be held 12-14 August 2016 at the University of California, Santa Cruz.  

- Registration is now open at THIS LINK!
- Looking for the workshops in previous years?
- For the latest updates on the ongoing efforts in the AGORA Collaboration, please visit the Project Workspace (membership required).  

Venue and Travel

On Aug. 12 the Workshop will be in the Simularium, Rm 180 of the Engineering 2 (E2) Building in the northwest corner of UC Santa Cruz campus, on Science Hill (click here to see a map to the E2 Building).  This will be a joint session with the annual Santa Cruz Galaxy Workshop 2016.  On Aug. 13-14 the Workshop will move to Rm 102 of the Interdisciplinary Science Building (ISB; click here to see a map to the ISB).

    (2) For a detailed direction to the meeting venue and the parking nearby, please go to the "General Info" tab in the Santa Cruz Galaxy Workshop 2016 webpage.  You may find it useful to visit the link for visitors by the Department of Astronomy and Astrophysics at UC Santa Cruz.  

    (3) Parking on campus is free on weekends.  However, on weekdays you will need to display a parking permit which you can conveniently purchase in the Galaxy Workshop registration.  If you do not wish to purchase your permit through the Galaxy Workshop registration, please do so at the campus main entrance.  If you plan to use public transportation the Santa Cruz Metro schedule to and from the UC Santa Cruz campus might be helpful.

    (4) No housing will be available on campus this summer.  We recommend that if you plan to attend the conference, you arrange for lodging early.  Although hotel policies vary, ask if there is a special rate for UCSC.  You may find information about local lodging options in the "General Info" tab in the Santa Cruz Galaxy Workshop 2016 webpage.    


    (1) This year's program is still open to your suggestion.  However, Paper "4" (workspace; membership required) and/or Paper "2" (workspace; membership required) will be the areas of focused AGORA efforts before and during this year's Workshop.  Remote participation (eZuce or Skype) will be arranged for weekend sessions.  

    (2) All the simulation talks will be on Friday (Aug. 12) during the joint session with the Galaxy Workshop.  We currently do not plan to have any talks on Saturday or Sunday.  If you are coming only to the AGORA portion of the week, but want to give your talk on Friday 12, please contact the AGORA Project coordinator.  Feel free to send any suggestion about the Workshop to the Steering Committee members or to the Project coordinator, too.

08/12 (Fri)  - Rm 180, Engineering 2 Bldg.  (a.k.a. Simularium)
 Sessions XX-XX.
09:00 - 06:00 PMHigh-resolution galaxy simulation talks jointly with the Galaxy Workshop 2016
Visit the Santa Cruz Galaxy Workshop 2016 webpage 
for the latest schedule, slides, and videos

08/13 (Sat)  - Rm 102, ISB
09:00 - 09:30 AMBreakfast
 Session A1.
09:30 - 09:35 AMOpening Remarks by Primack
09:35 - 11:00 AMPaper "4" Working Session  
(Paper Group collaborative doc located here)
- Joint discussion of composite figures and diagnostics using projectors
- Pick and write unfinished subsections of Section 6. "Results"
- Discuss authorship + future timeline to submit the article
- Revisions to an already submitted datasets are discouraged at this point
- Online participation to be arranged via eZuce; check Collaboration mailing list
11:00 - 11:15 AMBreak
11:15 - 12:30 PMPaper "4" Working Session Continues
12:30 - 02:00 PMLunch
 Session A2. 
02:00 - 03:30 PMPaper "4" Working Session Continues
03:30 - 04:00 PMBreak
04:00 - 05:30 PMPaper "4" Working Session Continues
05:30 - 06:00 PMBreak / Carpool to Primack's House
06:00 - 08:00 PMDinner at Primack's House 

08/14 (Sun)  - Rm 102, ISB
09:00 - 09:30 AMBreakfast
 Session A3. 
09:30 - 10:30 AMCollaboration-wide Brainstorming Session
(Discussion agenda located here)
- Updates from Paper Group "4" (Kim, Primack)
- Updates from Paper Group "2" (Simpson)
- Forging ideas for future projects
- Future timelines of the Project in general
- Online participation to be arranged via eZuce; check Collaboration mailing list
10:30 - 12:25 PMPaper "4" Working Session Continues
12:25 - 12:30 PMClosing Remarks by Primack
12:30 - 02:00 PMLunch & Goodbye

08/15 (Mon)  - Rm 102, ISB
 09:00 - 05:00PMFeel free to stay and work if you like 

List of Participants

 Registered Participants

    - Tom Abel (Stanford University)**
    - Daniel Ceverino (Heidelberg University)
    - Sukanya Chakrabarti (Rochester Institute of Technology)*
    - Colin DeGraf (University of Cambridge)
    - Avishai Dekel (HU Jerusalem)
    - Robert Feldmann (UC Berkeley)**
    - Tze Ping Goh (Columbia University & UC Santa Cruz)
    - Fangzhou Jiang (Yale University) 
    - Ji-hoon Kim (SLAC/Stanford University)
    - Anatoly Klypin (NMSU)*
    - Andrey Kravtsov (University of Chicago)*
    - Christoph Lee (UC Santa Cruz)
    - Nir Mandelker (HU Jerusalem)
    - Joel Primack (UC Santa Cruz)
    - Santi Roca-Fabrega (HU Jerusalem)

    - Vadim Semenov (University of Chicago)*
    - [TO BE ADDED]
    - *  indicates people attending only the Friday session of the meeting
    - ** indicates people attending only the weekend session of the meeting 

 Remote Participants

    - Michael Butler (MPIA)
    - Jun-Hwan Choi (UT Austin)
    - Nick Gnedin (Fermilab)*
    - Shea Garrison-Kimmel (Caltech)*
    - Ben Keller (McMaster University)
    - Hui Li (University of Michigan)
    - Alessandro Lupi (Institut d'astrophysique de Paris)
    - Piero Madau (UC Santa Cruz)*
    - Lucio Mayer (University of Zurich)
    - Ken Nagamine (Osaka University & University of Nevada, Las Vegas)
    - Tom Quinn (University of Washington, Seattle) 
    - Yves Revaz (EPFL/Lausanne)*
    - Ikkoh Shimizu (Osaka University)*
    Christine Simpson (Heidelberger Institut fuer Theoretische Studien)
    - Romain Teyssier (University of Zurich)*
    - James Wadsley (McMaster University)*
    - John Wise (Georgia Tech)
    - [TO BE ADDED]
    - * indicates people who will be available online for a limited time

Organizing Committees

 AGORA Science Steering Committee

    - Tom Abel (Stanford University)
    - Nick Gnedin (Fermilab)
    - Piero Madau (UC Santa Cruz)
    - Lucio Mayer (University of Zurich)    
    - Joel Primack (UC Santa Cruz)
    - Romain Teyssier (University of Zurich)
    - James Wadsley (McMaster University)
    - Ji-hoon Kim (SLAC/Stanford, Project coordinator)

 Local Organizing Committee

    - Joel Primack (UC Santa Cruz)
    - Ji-hoon Kim (SLAC/Stanford, Project coordinator)
    - Rondi Robison (UC Santa Cruz, Administrative support)