World Trade Center













World Trade Center in New York was built on the draft Japanese architect Minoru Yamasaki in 1970, officially opened on April 4, 1973. September 11, 2001, he was destroyed in a terrorist act. The complex consisted of 7 buildings, among which were two dominant architectural twin towers, each 110 floors (North - a height of 417 m and the South - a height of 415 m). Some time after the construction of the tower were the highest skyscrapers in the world (before that building was the highest building "Empire State Building", which following the destruction of WTC again became the tallest building in New York).

According to the official version, during a terrorist attack twin towers completely struck, another building complex (hotel "Marriott") was buried under the debris of the first tower. Frames four remaining buildings to resist, but they were found not subject to restore and subsequently demolished.

On the ground collapsed Gemini erected a memorial complex.

At present, reconstruction is complex, planned for completion by 2012.

Location New York City, New York, U.S.
Status Destroyed
Constructed 1966-1973
Destroyed September 11, 2001 (9/11 attacks)
Antenna/Spire 1,727 ft (526.3 m)
Roof 1,368 ft (417.0 m)
Top floor 1,355 ft (413.0 m)
Technical details
Floor count 110
Floor area 8.6 million sq ft
800,000 m² (1 & 2)
Elevator count 198 (1 & 2)
Architect Minoru Yamasaki, Emery Roth & Sons
Leslie Robertson, Leslie E. Robertson Associates
Contractor Tishman Realty & Construction Company
Owner Port Authority of New York and New Jersey