Testimonials


JEFF QUINN SAFIR T14 TEST

posted Mar 27, 2012, 3:02 AM by AYHAN AYDIN   [ updated Mar 27, 2012, 3:44 AM ]

Safir Arms T-14 .410 Shotgun Upper 
for the AR-15 American Tactical
Imports is no longer the distributor
for this upper.
 Safir Arms LLC (New Jersey) now 
handles this product exclusively.
by Jeff Quinn

photography by Jeff Quinn & Boge Quinn

December 5th, 2009


UPDATE July 21st, 2011

American Tactical Imports is no longer the distributor for this upper. Safir Arms LLC (New Jersey) now handles this product exclusively.

www.safirarms.com

Last month I attended the NASGW Show in Reno, Nevada. At that show, manufacturers set up their new products to display to wholesale distributors. I saw a lot of interesting new products on display, but some of the most interesting were displayed at the American Tactical Imports booth.  AR-15 rifles are the hottest-selling rifles in the United States right now, and there are many variations available. ATI had on display an AR upper that is chambered for the .410 2.5 inch shotshell, and when I saw it, I knew that I just had to have one.



The AR system is very user-friendly, and most anyone can learn to shoot one well. The sights are easy to see, and placed high, allowing for a straight-comb stock. The recoil is straight back, with almost no muzzle jump at all. The controls on an AR are well-placed, and the system is very reliable. 



I recommend an AR rifle or carbine to anyone who needs a good fighting rifle, or just for predator control around the homestead. However, inside a dwelling, over penetration is often a concern using high velocity bullets. In such a setting, a shotgun is a great weapon, but most are limited on magazine capacity, especially those like a .410 shotgun, which is often a good choice for those who want light recoil, but still need a defensive shotgun. Using buckshot or large birdshot, a .410 shoots the projectiles just as hard and fast as a twelve gauge, it just doesn’t throw as many shot. A .410 on an AR is a very interesting concept to me. It would deliver low recoil, allowing fast follow-up shots on a target or multiple targets. At close range, it hits plenty hard, yet will not penetrate walls and then continue on into the house next door. After penetrating a wall, the velocity of the shot falls off quickly, yet at across-the-room distances, even a load of small birdshot is a very effective stopper.

 

The ATI upper has a twenty-inch smooth bore barrel with a birdcage flash suppressor. It is a straight cylinder bore, meaning that the barrel has no choke constriction. The A-3 style upper has a flattop receiver with integral Picatinny rail, and a standard A-2 front sight. There is no rear sight, but the rail will accept many variations of rear aperture or optical sights. The upper comes with a five-round magazine, but a thirteen-round mag is an available option, and is definitely my choice, offering a lot of firepower for close-quarters fighting.


The operating system is different from an AR. There is no gas tube running atop the barrel underneath the hand guard as is on an AR-15 rifle. The gas system is more like that on a traditional gas-operated shotgun. The ATI upper is chambered for the 2.5 inch .410 shotshell, but cartridge-overall-length is important. Winchester shells are too long. ATI shotshells, of course, work perfectly, as do the excellent Federal Personal Defense .410 number four shot shotshells. The Federal four-pellet buckshot loads do not feed well unless modified. They are slightly too long, but I modified a few that then worked very well. The ATI .410 slug loads function perfectly, but I have not yet tried their buckshot loads. The American Tactical slug shell has a 115 grain Foster type slug, and should be very effective at close range, yet has almost no felt recoil when fired from the AR carbine.

Shooting the ATI .410 was a real pleasure. Recoil is almost unnoticeable, and it is easy to keep the target in the sight picture, a very important thing in a fight.  The shotgun functions smoothly, and the ammo fed perfectly from the thirteen-shot magazine.  I mounted a Trijicon Reflex sight atop the receiver. The Reflex uses a tritium-illuminated dot. It is always on, and never needs batteries. It is a very rugged and reliable optical sight, works perfectly in all lighting conditions, and allows the user to keep both eyes open and focused upon the target.  At across-the-room distances, the Federal number four shot loads do a wonderful job, and the group size can be covered with my hand. The American Tactical slug loads are plenty accurate for social work at ranges from a few feet out to fifty yards, and hits upon the target are easy.

The American Tactical T-14 shotgun is a very reliable, efficient, and effective weapon for close-quarters combat, and would serve well for harvesting small game at short distances if needed.  It can throw a lot of shot rapidly for defensive purposes, or fire the rifled slugs as the situation warrants. It works well on the AR-15 platform, and is available as the upper receiver unit shown here, or as a complete rifle.

Jeff Quinn


ATI AT14 IS MADE BY SAFIR

posted Mar 14, 2012, 11:13 AM by AYHAN AYDIN

Review of ATI AT-14 Upper Receiver - Classic

I bought one several months ago from ATI and have put a few thousand rounds through it; bird shot mainly but slugs as well. I am in no way a gun expert but
I would guess that I have put more rounds through this particular upper than most. Here is what I know:

Safir Arms manufacturer: can get complete gun Safir T-14 A2 look alike, or designated upper in either classic (rifle length hand guards) and the compact(carbine hand guards).
The only difference is the hand guard length and where the front sight is placed. ATI uppers come complete with flat top with rail and bird cage type flash hider 




Upper: Good quality, not great but good. I am comparing this to mil spec AR uppers and want to say that they are not junk. Like I said, I have put thousands of rounds through this thing and have had little problems with it which I will get to below. The front sight is plastic and has a metal sight adjustment and secures with an allen screw to the barrel and will come loose after a while, just re-tighten. When tightening be very careful not to strip screw because I learned the hard way once. Front sight also has typical sling ring. The spring/piston system is similar to that of a Browning A-5 or the like. The hand guards are not able to be replaced with normal AR ones due to the spring/piston system. Might be able to make a custom fit but the hand guards that come with it are fine, although they do not have a heat shield; never has it gotten too hot to hold. The barrel is a normal smooth bore and shoots both rifled slugs and bird shot. Barrel is about 17 1/2 inches with a flash hider that is 2 inches but only adds an inch once screwed on. Full upper is just shy of 27 inches. The rest of the upper looks just like a M4 with some modifications to the BCG. There is one extra part that I personally do not like and have removed without any problems. There is a flange on the bottom of the upper near the rear that needs to be lifted (when upside down) in order to push in the BCG. I found that it was scratching my lower and didn't feel it was necessary so I removed it. BTW, I first put this on a Bushy E2S lower but then bought a DPMS off a buddy because I got tired up switching it out. The fit to my 4 lowers, RR, DPMS, Bushy and Colt is like any other upper; solid, no complaints. The flash hider is removable but can not be replaced with any other that I know of.



Function: This upper works great when the right ammo is used and it is kept well lubricated. I keep the BCG and the chamber well lubricated, re-applying oil every 50 rounds or so. I run a oiled patch through the barrel without running a dry one before taking it out and run a bore snake through it once every 50 rounds as well. One problem, if you can call it that, I kind of like it, is that it "bump" fires often. I think this might have to do with the spring/piston system combined with the buffer in the lower. I have used an H buffer and a Spikes ST-T2 and have had the same results. Thought it might be do to the fact that I bird hunt and shoot clay pigeons with it and you guys that do this know that occasionally the butt will come off your shoulder a bit when swinging the gun around after birds, but I ruled this out after putting it in a sighting clamp and finding the same results. So I am not sure why this happens.





Magazine: It comes with a 4 round magazine that resembles a P-Mag and holds 2 1/2 inch shells, but not all 2 1/2 inch shells fit (see below). If you bird hunt with this make sure you abide with Fed rules. Migratory bird laws dictate that you can not be able to have more than 3 rounds in the gun, so I put a wooden block under the mag follower. Talked to a Texas Game Warden and she said that it was fine as long as I had to take apart the mag to get the block out. Quick funny story. There is a female game warden here in TX that I got to know while doing wildlife management and years later she rolled up on me out at the dove lease. Ever since then we mess with each other a bit. She glassed me from across the field shooting an "AR" into the air and hauled ass over to me and jumped out of the truck and said, "What the hell do you think your doing?" I saw her over there, glassing her as well, and moved over where she could see me and started firing like crazy into the air to get her attention. After letting her see the gun and telling her about it she calmed down, but still acted mad and threatened to take all my beer just to give me a hard time. Moving on. There are extra mags now available in 4 and 14 rounds here:
http://www.gunztuff.com
http://www.littlebeargunshop.com/product.cfm?pi=EE6561D6-F1D1-4D53-A9DCDC89F0A998C9





Magazine: It comes with a 4 round magazine that resembles a P-Mag and holds 2 1/2 inch shells, but not all 2 1/2 inch shells fit (see below). If you bird hunt with this make sure you abide with Fed rules. Migratory bird laws dictate that you can not be able to have more than 3 rounds in the gun, so I put a wooden block under the mag follower. Talked to a Texas Game Warden and she said that it was fine as long as I had to take apart the mag to get the block out. Quick funny story. There is a female game warden here in TX that I got to know while doing wildlife management and years later she rolled up on me out at the dove lease. Ever since then we mess with each other a bit. She glassed me from across the field shooting an "AR" into the air and hauled ass over to me and jumped out of the truck and said, "What the hell do you think your doing?" I saw her over there, glassing her as well, and moved over where she could see me and started firing like crazy into the air to get her attention. After letting her see the gun and telling her about it she calmed down, but still acted mad and threatened to take all my beer just to give me a hard time. Moving on. There are extra mags now available in 4 and 14 rounds here:
http://www.gunztuff.com
http://www.littlebeargunshop.com/product.cfm?pi=EE6561D6-F1D1-4D53-A9DCDC89F0A998C9



Ok, so now to the important part. AMMO: This upper is chambered for 2 1/2 inch shells but I have found that different manufacturers' 2 1/2 inch shells are not the same size. Actually most 2 1/2 inch shells are between 2 5/16 and 2 3/8 inches. Some fit with no problems, some rub a bit but work and others are just too big.(that didn't sound right). The following ammo works:
Federal high brass, Remington Game loads(black shell, 20 per box), Remington Nitros(gold), and Winchester Super SPEED. Of these, Federal works best.
Winchester Super SPORT will fit and run but they are a tight fit and some fail to load and get stuck in the magazine.
Winchester Super X Rifled Slugs X41RS5 work great too.
RIO does not fit, bought a case for my other .410 and these don't fit. Anything under 2.3 inches should fit.
I have found that it patterns really well with bird shot. I limited out several times this year. Shot slugs at the range and got 10 inch MOA at 50 yards with iron sights.




Sights: I put a Bushy carry handle sight on the upper and shot doves with it for opening day. I then mounted an Aimpoint M3 and that added a lot of fun to bird shooting. Also shot with an Eotech XPS 2 but have to say that the iron sights are the most fun.

Problems: Front sight coming loose, FTL when not lubed up or when using tight fitting ammo, cleaning out pieces of plastic from my lower from the shells, bump firing, flange for BCG.

Over all I love this thing. Some of my friends ask me why I bought it and what is the use of a .410 on an AR or that the .410 is obsolete these days and I reply, "Just because. It's an AR that shoots .410, that's why." Keep it well lubed and use the maroon high brass Federal #6 shot and you will have a blast.

Available here:
http://www.americantactical.us/at14.html

 


David Kasper

posted Oct 17, 2009, 7:44 PM by AYHAN AYDIN   [ updated Feb 3, 2012, 9:30 AM ]

I want to purchase Safir

 I want to purchase a Safir T-14 upper. I need to know from other members on its working with AR-15 lowers. Has any one used them, if so on what brand of upper and how does it fit and perform?

Dawood Qureshi

posted Oct 17, 2009, 7:43 PM by AYHAN AYDIN   [ updated Feb 3, 2012, 9:33 AM ]

"All USA customers can call us"

This message is to inform everyone that Safir Arms LLC has acquired all the licenses required to manufacturer and Import. We have initiated the import process of the T-14 guns. Partial manufacturing will begin soon. We will fulfill orders on fist come first serve basis. T-14 classic and T-14 Compact with a very limited quantity of Uppers will be available in our factory/Distribution center in New Jersey in approximately one week’s time. All sales will be made through the licensed dealers. Dealers pricing is available upon request. You ca contact with me. Please look at my details from the Contact US Section
Thanks.

1-4 of 4