Kruger National Park is the largest game reserve in South Africa. It is roughly the same size and shape as Israel or Wales. It covers about 20,000 square kilometres and extends 350 km from north to south and 60 km from east to west.
To the west and south of the Kruger National Park are the two South African provinces of Mpumalanga and Limpopo. In the north is Zimbabwe, and to the east is Mozambique. It is now part of the Great Limpopo Transfrontier Park, a peace park that links Kruger National Park with the Gonarezhou National Park in Zimbabwe, and with the Limpopo National Park in Mozambique.

The Kruger National Park is divided into 6 eco-systems: Baobab sandveld, Mopane scrub, Lebombo knobthorn-marula bushveld, mixed acacia thicket, Combretum-silver clusterleaf woodland on granite and riverine forest. Altogether it has 1,982 species of plants.

Out of the 517 species of birds found at Kruger, 253 are residents, 117 non-breeding migrants, and 147 nomads.

All the Big Five game animals are found at Kruger National Park, which protects over 147 species of mammals. As of 2004, the park has counted approximately:
25,150 African Buffalo
200 African Hunting Dogs
350 Black Rhinoceros
32,000 Burchell's Zebras
500 Bushbucks
200 Cheetahs
300 Common Eland
9,000 Giraffes
5,000 Greater Kudus
3,000 Hippopotamus
over 170,000 Impalas.
1,000 Leopards
2,000 Lions
150 Mountain Reedbucks
300 Nyalas
300 Reedbucks
60 Roan Antelopes
550 Sable Antelopes
11,670 Savannah Elephants
2,000 Spotted Hyenas
200 Tsessebes
3,800 Warthogs
5,000 Waterbucks
5,000 White Rhinoceros
17,000 Blue Wildebeest

Good Sites