About St. John "Sadler's"

Sadler's is a place where all people may experience God's love. We are people called and empowered by the Holy Spirit. We gather for worship and learning each Sunday at 9:00 am. Our teachings are from the Bible which we use as the basis of our life together. Sunday morning service follows the traditional Lutheran liturgy, utilizing the "Green" Lutheran Book of Worship, with variations throughout the seasons of the church year, including liturgy from "With One Voice."

Pastor Ed preaches with energy and passion about the Good News of God's Love in words we can easily understand. The services are filled with scripture reading, prayer and reflection, and joyous singing. Special music is featured during the summer months. A service of Holy Communion is observed on the first Sunday of each month and on major festival Sundays throughout the church year. Special services are held on Christmas Eve, Ash Wednesday, Maundy Thursday, Good Friday, Easter Sunday, and Thanksgiving Eve.

A fellowship time with light refreshments follows the service on the second and fourth Sundays of each month.

Confirmation class as well as classes for Prospective Members are offered.

Numerous fellowship activities are offered throughout the year, including fellowship breakfasts, congregation picnic, covered dish supper, etc.

Cemetery plots are available. Contact any member of the Cemetery Association listed below.

A history book of St. John (Sadler's) Lutheran Church, written by the late Elmer Orwig, is available at the church office. A $15 donation is suggested.

A cookbook of Sadler's favorite recipes is available. A $5 donation is suggested.


Rev. Ed Robbins

Administrative Secretary:

Helen Hoeflich

Church Council:

President: Nancy DeSesa

Vice President: Linda Trout

Secretary: Donna Tomek

Randy Blevins

Mark Paules

Bonnie Streett

Mary Lou Smelgus

Pastor Robbins, exofficio

Treasurer: Debbie Seipp

Worship and Music, and Altar Guild:

Brenda Smith, Chairperson

Pastor Robbins

Susan McLaughlin

Altar Guild:

Linda Trout

Jean Vaught

Rosie Horton

Debbie Seipp

Mary Lou Smelgus

Christian Education:

Brenda Smith

Social Ministry:

Linda Trout, Chairperson


Jerry McLaughlin, Chairperson

Donald Walker

Bonnie Walker

Jimmy Tomek

All willing workers in God's Kingdom


Jerry McLaughlin, Fin. Sec.

Nancy DeSesa, Offering Teller

Randy Blevins, Offering Teller

Mark Paules, Signator

Debbie Seipp - Treasurer


Rosie Horton


Randy Blevins


Phillip Orwig

Susan Jacobs

Child Protection

Pastor Ed Robbins

Nancy DeSesa

Jerry McLaughlin


Linda Trout, Chairperson

Sherrill Trimpey

Visitation Ministry:

Jean Kahler

Sue McLaughlin

Lynn Pomraning

Bonnie Walker

Joanie Orwig


Susan McLaughlin, Conductor and Accompanist

Brenda Smith, Music Director

Bonnie Walker

Alice Haven

Judy Jones

Bonnie Streett

Beverly Roloff

Lynn Pomraning

Jerry McLaughlin

Donald Walker


Susan McLaughlin


Jodie Myers

Cemetery Association Trustees:

President: Jerry McLaughlin

Vice President: Wade Winemiller

Treasurer: Philip Orwig

Secretary: Mark Paules

Trustee: Donald Walker

Groundskeeper: Jake Myers

Thrivent Coordinator:

Brenda Smith

COVID Task Force

Nancy DeSesa, Chairperson

Linda Trout

Jerry McLaughlin

Pastor Robbins

Golf Team:

Jerry McLaughlin

Ed Absher

Jim Schwertzler

Gary Pomraning


Jerry McLaughlin