23rd Annual ACM Symposium on Applied Computing (SAC-2008)
Fortaleza, Ceara, Brazil
March 16-20, 2008

Natural language processing and speech recognition (NLSP) track

Access to textual information available in electronic form has become widespread, with the potential of improving the lives of millions of people worldwide. Gradually, people with diverse background and interests become avid consumers as well as contributors of textual and speech data, as they communicate through email, share their experiences with others through blogs, try to keep up to date by following the most prominent recent news, or search for relevant information on a seemingly-infinite number of topics by using their preferred Web search engines. For the benefit of these and many other applications, accurate and scalable techniques are necessary to process large amounts of written and spoken text. The track welcomes submissions in the general area of natural language processing and speech recognition, whether oriented towards building tools, assembling and exploiting linguistic resources or pushing the state of the art in various applications; topics of interest include, but are not limited to:
- tagging
- parsing
- word sense disambiguation
- spoken language recognition
- knowledge acquisition
- text summarization
- information retrieval
- question answering
- machine translation
- natural language interfaces
- information extraction

Details regarding the submission requirements and procedure, as well as formatting templates, are available along with other relevant materials on the main symposium Web site at http://www.acm.org/conferences/sac/sac2008. In particular, initial submissions cannot exceed 5 pages and must be submitted through the symposium submission system at http://sac.cs.iupui.edu/SAC2008/SubmitAbstract.aspx. Papers submitted through any other means, or otherwise not following the submission guidelines, will be rejected without review.

Important dates:
- Paper submission: Sep 16, 2007
- Notification of acceptance: Oct 19, 2007
- Camera ready submission: Oct 30, 2007

Program committee:
- Vivi Nastase (EML Research)
- Vasile Rus (University of Memphis)
- Carlo Strapparava (ITC/IRST)
- Gideon Mann (University of Massachusetts at Amherst)
- Oana Frunza (University of Ottawa)
- Mihai Surdeanu (Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya)
- Diana Inkpen (University of Ottawa)
- Paul Morarescu (IBM Research)
- Matthew Magimai Doss (IDIAP)
- Cedric Chappelier (Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne)
- Romaric Besancon (CEA/LIST)
- Markus Zanker (University of Klagenfurt)
- Veton Kepuska (Florida Institute of Technology)
- Jithendra Vepa (Philips Research)

Track Chairs:
- Marius Pasca (Google)
- Marius Silaghi (Florida Institute of Technology)