InfoBuddy & Carebear

The Infobuddy is an award system that has been created by the SABC Media Libraries in June 2005. It is awarded on a quarterly basis, based on votes by the Media Libraries personnel.
Who can participate?
At the moment only Johannesburg Media Library Staff. 
 Criteria to be used when nominating someone for this award:

"Nominations should be clear, specific, above and beyond the call and in support of the ML objectives"


Remember : our main objective is to create a Service Experience (mind-set change with regards to our service delivery). In other words changing from 'Service Excellence' to 'Service Experience'. 


This will go hand-in-hand with the following:-

  • what has a person done to create awareness for the Media Library Identity;
  • what contribution has an individual  made  to create revenue or to curb expenses;
  • communication skills of a person - this is a definite link with service delivery;
  • any special contributions a person has made to link the Regions with us;
  • any contribution from a person to establish a combined electronic catalogue for all sections within the Media Library.
In a nutshell : Who has contributed in any way in making Media Library a place where everybody wants to be.
The idea of a quarterly Carebear originated in 2008, and was implemented for the first time in 2009.  The idea behind a Carebear is to acknowledge personnel who exeled in helpfulness, approachability, friendliness, inspiring others and sociability, and serves as a motivational tool to promote teamwork.

New InfoBuddy reward system announced

posted 29 May 2012, 03:01 by Sabc Media Libraries

The Manager of the SABC Media Libraries, Ilse Assmann, announced a new InfoBuddy internal reward system for the Media Libraries. An internal reward system is used to recognise excellence in the Media Libraries when it is not possible to recognise it by monetary means.

Final InfoBuddy & Care Bear

posted 6 Feb 2012, 02:19 by Sabc Media Libraries

The final InfoBuddy & Care Bear awards was announced on Friday 3 February 2012.
The InfoBuddy & Care Bear awards will change again this year. 

Congratulations to Thersia Francis who won the InfoBuddy of the last quater of 2011, and Peter Raseroka who won the Care Bear!

Info Buddy & Care Bear of the Year 2010-2011

posted 20 Apr 2011, 06:06 by Sabc Media Libraries   [ updated 20 Apr 2011, 06:09 ]

Info Buddy & Care Bear Apr 2011

posted 5 Apr 2011, 00:11 by Sabc Media Libraries   [ updated 5 Apr 2011, 00:17 ]

InfoBuddy and Carebear 2009 - 2010

posted 16 Jul 2010, 06:15 by Sabc Media Libraries   [ updated 23 Jul 2010, 05:31 ]

Thank you to our sponsors:

InfoBuddy and Carebear Apr 2010

posted 16 Jul 2010, 05:38 by Sabc Media Libraries

InfoBuddy & Carebear Feb 2010

posted 16 Jul 2010, 05:25 by Sabc Media Libraries   [ updated 23 Jul 2010, 06:00 ]

InfoBuddy & Carebear Feb 2010

InfoBuddy 2005-2006

posted 16 Jul 2010, 02:48 by Sabc Media Libraries

Marinda Wolmarans was the first InfoBuddy

1-8 of 8