Internet rudraksha sellers use the term “Energise” in respect to the use of rudraksha for the first time and despatch to the buyer. The term seems to come into being as a result of high competition to indicate that “their” rudraksha has more efficacies than their competitors. This so called “energisation” is performed by a priest in a temple in India by performing a special ritual and chanting mantras. Though this may be of importance, rudraksha can also be worn only by chanting “Om Namah Shivaya”. Lord Shiva is not going to ask you why the mantras where not chanted by the priests. What if one can’t afford a priest or can’t get hold of one. Think about it. One can even wear a rudraksha by touching it with a Shiva Linga in a temple and chanting the OM NAMAH SHIVAYA 3 times. As long the rudraksha are worn with devotion and faith, it has the strength to bring about the desired effects.

As Rudraksha bead ranges from one face to a 14 mukhis only 14 faces or mukhis are mentioned in the holy Purans, each one of them have a specific seed/Beej mantras. If one wants one can follow these basic rituals before wearing rudrakshas.

Any early morning preferably Monday, after bath, place the rudraksha on a plate and light an incense and/or dhoop, facing east. Sprinkle water on the rudraksha using a flower, offer flowers to the rudraksha, chandan (sandalwood paste) and chant the common mantra OM NAMAH SHIVYA at least 27 times. Also chant the beej/seed mantras in the rudraksha mala/necklace for each face of rudraksha. You can start wearing the rudraksha from then onwards. The mantras can be chanted at least 3 times every day.

Beej/Seed Mantras

1 mukhi Rudraksha : Om Hreem Namah

2 mukhi Rudraksha : Om Namah

3 mukhi Rudraksha : Om Kleem Namah

4 mukhi Rudraksha : Om Hreem Namah

5 mukhi Rudraksha : Om Hreem Namah

6 mukhi Rudraksha : Om Hreem Hum Namah

7 mukhi Rudraksha : Om Hum Namah

8 mukhi Rudraksha : Om Hum Namah

9 mukhi Rudraksha : Om Hreem Hum Namah

10 mukhi Rudraksha : Om Hreem Namah

11 mukhi Rudraksha : Om Hreem Hum Namah

12 mukhi Rudraksha : Om KrOm SrOm ROm Namah

13 mukhi Rudraksha : Om Hreem Namah

14 mukhi Rudraksha : Om Namah

Maha Mrityunjaya Mantra is a good mantra to chant every day displayed at the top.

Om Tryamlakam Yajamahe, Sugandhim Pusti - vardhanam

Urva - rukamiva Bandhanan, Mrtyor - muksheeya Ma - amritat