Home‎ > ‎

The Duncan Bryant Award

When their Chairman, Dr Duncan Bryant, died in 2005 the committee of the RSC Molecular Spectroscopy Group decided that they would find an appropriate way of recording their gratitude to him and their affection for him. The result is the Duncan Bryant Award for early career research molecular spectroscopists working or studying in the pharmaceutical sector. 

The process for awarding the prize changes from award to award with the aim of providing diverse ways to ensure worthy recipient.  The inaugural award of the Duncan Bryant Award was made in May 2008 and has been awarded on three subsequent occasions to date.  A full list of winners is provided below. 

The Award itself is a print of a unique picture commissioned by Duncan’s former employers, GlaxoSmithKline, representing different aspects of Duncan’s professional and personal life.  The print will be supported by a certificate and a small cash award.

The most recent Duncan Bryant Award (2017) was made to the most outstanding paper by a young or early career researcher within UK industry or academia, in any field of molecular spectroscopy applied to pharmaceutical science published since 1st January 2016. The MSG committee selected the winner from the incredibly high quality nominations we received, and the winner was Pinelopi Moutzouri, studying for her PhD at the University of Manchester in the Manchester NMR Methodology Group, lead by Prof. Gareth Morris.

Prof Chris Sammon presenting our latest Duncan Bryant Award winner, Pinelopi Moutzouri with the Duncant Bryant Award at Spring SciX, 2018.

Past Winners

1.      Dr Paul T. Whiteside, Molecular Profiles Ltd, Topics in Pharmaceutical Analysis, 15 May 2008, GSK Stevenage, Best lecture, "Quantification of low levels of amorphous lactose using hydrogen/deuterium exchange and FT-Raman spectroscopy"

2.      Angelika Galezowska, University of Southampton, Structure, 24-25 Feb 2010, Hinckley, Leicestershire, Best poster "Fragmentation of Quinazolines using ESI-CID MS/MS: Unusual Formation of Radical Product Ions"

      3.      Rajni Milani, Institute of Pharmacy and Biomedical Sciences, University of Strathclyde, Advances in Raman Spectroscopy in Pharmaceutical Analysis, 17 May 2012, RSC London, Best poster "Solid Form Screening using High Throughput Crystallisation of Pharmaceuticals"

      4.     Pinelopi Moutzouri, University of Manchester. Best paper "Ultraclean Pure Shift NMR", Chemical Communications, 2017, 53, 10188 - 10191

The Molecular Spectroscopy Group would like to thank GlaxoSmithKline for commissioning and providing the prize.