The Bobcat Trail

The first rank that every new Scout earns when entering the Cub Scouting Program is the Bobcat rank.

To earn the Bobcat rank the new Cub Scout does the following: Learn and say the Scout Oath, with help if needed.

  1. Learn and say the Scout Oath, with help if needed.
  2. Learn and say the Scout Law, with help if needed.
  3. Show the Cub Scout sign. Tell what it means.
  4. Show the Cub Scout handshake. Tell what it means.
  5. Say the Cub Scout Motto. Tell what it means.
  6. Show the Cub Scout Salute. Tell what it means.
  7. With your parent or guardian, complete the exercises in the pamphlet How to Protect Your Children From Child Abuse: A Parent’s Guide—Bobcat Requirements.

The above items are the basic information that ALL Cub Scouts learn, which is why EVERY new Cub Scout first earns their Bobcat Badge.  They only need to achieve the Bobcat Badge once in their Cub Scout career.