Arrow of Light TrailArrow of Light Badge

The highest rank in Cub Scouting is the Arrow of Light. Earning this rank prepares a Webelos Scout to join a Scouts BSA Troop, New Cub Scouts in the Fifth Grade first earn their Bobcat Badge, then hit the trail to earn their Arrow of Light badge.  

The Arrow of Light badge is the only Cub Scout badge that can be worn on the Boy Scouts uniform when a Scout joins a troop. Adult leaders who earned the Arrow of Light rank when they were young may also show their achievement by wearing a special square knot on their adult uniform.


To Earn the Arrow of Light Bagde:

  1. Be active in your Webelos den for at least six months since completing the fourth grade or for at least six months since becoming 10 years old. (Being active means having good attendance, paying your den dues, and working on den projects.)
  2. Complete each of the following Arrow of Light required adventures with your den or family:

Ø  Option A (including a campout)

Ø  OR Option B (including an outdoor activity)

  1. Complete three Arrow Of Light/Webelos elective adventures of your den or family's choosing.
  2. With your parent or guardian, complete the exercises in the pamphlet How to Protect Your Children From Child Abuse: A Parent's Guide
  3. Earn the Cyber Chip award for your age.

Specific requirements for Arrow of Light Cub Scout rank adventures can be found at the BSA website here:

Outlines of all Cub Scout Adventures can be viewed on the BSA website here: