Home‎ > ‎

About Us

The Rockingham District of Ruritan National became the 9th District in Ruritan National, in 1947, when it broke away from the former "District" N, that also housed what was to become the Natural Bridge District(7th) and Woodrow Wilson District (8th). Our District's geographic boundaries encompass the counties of Page, Rockingham, and Shenandoah. Our very 1st Rockingham District Governor was Joseph Keagy of the Dayton Club. Over the years, Rockingham has become well-known and respected throughout Ruritan National, as we have been the Home District for many National Officers and Directors to the Ruritan National Boardand Ruritan National Foundation (all thru election)....such, as............:
                       National Directors   
                                                          J Newton Liskey   (W Rockingham) 
                                                          Oliver Peer           (Hamburg)
                                                          John Martin          (W Rockingham)
                                                          Mensel Dean        (Keezletown)
                                                          Elmer Armentrout   (Tenth Leg-Mtn Valley)
                                                          Dan Brubaker       (Clover Hill)
                                                          Larry Huffman       (Singers Glen)
                                                          Cecil Wampler      (Mt Crawford)
                                                          Greg Trobaugh     (Cross Keys-Mill Creek)
                                                          JoAnne Wenger    (Broadway-Timberville)
                       National Treasurers             Bruce Thompson (Linville-Edom)
                                                                Dan Brubaker (Clover Hill Club)
                                                                Dennis Miller (Cross Keys-Mill Creek Club)
                       National Secretary             JoAnne Wenger (Broadway-Timberville Club)
                       National Presidents             John Ralston           (West Rockingham Club)
                                                                Howard Spangler     (West Rockingham Club)
                                                                Howard Zigler          (Broadway-Timberville Club)
                                                                Fred K Betts, III      (Keezletown Club) 
                       Nat. Foundation Trustee        Stephen Funkhouser    (Fulks Run Club) 
                       Nat. Foundation Trustee        Milton Wolfe          (Maur-Booke-Olive Club)
                       Nat. Foundation President     Stephen Funkhouser   (Fulks Run Club)
                       Nat. Foundation President     Milton Wolfe          (Maur-Booke-Olive Club)
We began our 2010 year with  33 Chartered Clubs, and the Turner Ashby Ruriteen Club. Our Membership stands @ 1,302 Members with 84 of those being Members of our TAHS Ruriteen Club.  Our Bridgewater Club, under ther work of Glen Thomas, presented Charter Papers to Ruritan National @ its National Convention in January, for the establishment of a College Club @ Bridgewater College---23 Members have signed the Charter, which should be granted in February. This will be Ruritan National's 2nd College Club, with the very first being @ William and Mary College in Virginia, also. Our district is also engaged in talks with Wilbur Pence Intermediate School in Dayton, as well as early/preliminary discussions about the feasibility of starting a Ruriteen Club @ John Wayland Elementary School in Bridgewater.  
In 2008 we had 14 of our Clubs achieve the Blue Ribbon" Club status, as well as 14 of our Club Presidents being honored as "Outstanding Club Presdients" in 2008. We led Ruritan National in Membership retention in both 2007 and 2008, as well as " % of Membership Growth" in the Largest District size category in 2008. Each of our 5 Zones held their respective "annual" Conventions/Banquet, and our 2009 District Convention @ Broadway High School fed over 280 meals.
Our 33 Clubs' "Community Service Reports" for 2009 indicated the Clubs had provided in excess of 71,310 recorded Hours of Community Service, with over $383,000 contributed to various needs within our communities. We have yet to realize our real potential due to the diversities and qualities of our Leadership throughout our Clubs. "We have truly just began" as they say !!!!