About Us

National Audubon Society serving members in Central Missouri "
In the Missouri River Valley on the Ozarks Border " 

 The River Bluffs Audubon Society (founded in 1975) is a chapter of the National Audubon Society serving approximately 300 Audubon members in the central Missouri counties of Callaway, Cole, Maries, Moniteau and southern Boone County. The River Bluffs chapter meets in Missouri's capital city, Jefferson City. There are over 9,000 members of the National Audubon Society in Missouri. Most members belong to one of the 14 local Audubon chapters in Missouri. These chapters send representatives to the Missouri Audubon Council which sets state Audubon policy and legislative positions. There is a state affiliate, the Audubon Society of Missouri, which is the premiere bird watching organization in the state. Supported by 550,000 members in 518 chapters throughout North America, the mission of the National Audubon Society is to conserve and restore natural ecosystems, focusing on birds and other wildlife for the benefit of humanity and the earth's biological diversity. Founded in 1905, the National Audubon Society is named for John James Audubon (1785-1851), famed ornithologist, explorer, and wildlife artist.