About Me

                                                       
My family

       


About me: I grew up in five different states, and traveled nationally and internationally in my years
                 between my undergraduate and graduate education. I decided to live out west after falling 
                 in love with the wilderness of Washington and Montana. In my spare time, I love hiking, 
                 backpacking, biking, running, and canoeing. I am my happiest outside exploring the world     
                 with my family. My husband is also a high school science teacher. I have a 10 year old son, 
                 Rowan, in forth grade this year and a 6 year old daughter, Sage, in first grade this year. 



Education:


I earned my Bachelor of Science Degree from the University of Wisconsin- Madison with a double major in Biological Aspects of Conservation and Zoology.  A few years later, I began my graduate work studying whirling disease in Bozeman, MT at Montana State University.  I compared the amount of the myxobolus cerebralis parasite infected fish, infected aquatic worms, and physical features of the environment in side channels of the Madison River.  While earning my masters degree in ecology and teaching freshmen biology labs, I fell in love with classroom teaching and decided to go back to school yet again for my high school teaching certificate.  I earned my teaching certificate two years later from Western Washington University, and have been teaching ever since.





Teaching Experience:
Mount Vernon High School - 2004 - 2015. Courses taught: Biology, Biology Support, COE Biology, AP Environmental Science, Marine Biology, and Physical Science
Squalicum High School 2015- present. Courses taught: Chemistry, Biology, Environmental Science, COE Biology