FitzGerald Stadium

Interested? Phone us on +353(0)86-1245186 or E-mail us at   

FitzGerald Stadium

FitzGerald Stadium
Staidiam Mhic Gearailt


Area: Killarney
County: Kerry
Country: Republic of Ireland

Facility Statistics

Broke Ground: 1930
Opened 1936
Renovated 1970
Surface : Grass
Owner: Kerry GAA
Original Construction Cost: £3,000
Reconstruction Cost: €450,000
Architect: Michael Reidy

Seating Capacity

Capacity: 39,120



FitzGerald Stadium (Staidiam Mhic Gearailt in Gaelic) is the principal Gaelic Athletic Association stadium in Killarney, Ireland, and is the home venue for the Kerry senior football team.

Named after one of the first great players of the Gaelic Athletic Association, Dick FitzGerald, FitzGerald Stadium was officially opened on May 31, 1936 by Dr. O’Brien the then Bishop of Kerry and J.M Harty Archbishop of Cashel. The attendance at its first match was at least 20,000 but this is refuted to have been 28,000. Within 1 year the new Killarney stadium was to hold its first All-Ireland Hurling Final between Tipperary and Kilkenny.

Further developments took place at the Stadium in the 1970’s with the erection of the Dr. O’Sullivan stand and a pavilion. All of this raised the capacity to 39,120. This Stadium is regarded as one of the finest outside of Croke Park, situated under the gaze of the picturesque Kerry mountains.

The Stadium Committee has plans to redevelop both ends of the ground to the standard of the Michael O’Connor Terrace incorporating new dressing rooms and covered areas, to eventually increase the capacity of the ground to 50,000.

External links

GAA Stadiums with capacity greater than 25,000


Ger Power 

Mikey Sheehy 

John O'Keeffe 

Jack O'Shea 

Mick O'Connell 

Pat Spillane 

Maurice Fitzgerald 

Denis 'Ogie' Moran 

Joe Keohane (footballer) 

Mick O'Dwyer 

John Egan 

Austin Stacks 

Where to eat in Killarney 

Kerry GAA 

Killarney Transport 

Páidí Ó Sé 

Pat O'Shea 

Killarney Town 

What to do in Killarney 

Weather in Killarney 

Visitors Attractions in Killarney 

Killarney National Park 

Declan O'Sullivan 

Kieran Donaghy 

Paul Galvin 

Mike Frank Russell 

Seán O'Sullivan 

Jack O'Connor 

Killarney National Park 

Colm "the Gooch" Cooper 

Diarmuid Murphy 

Eoin Brosnan 

Marc Ó Sé 

Michael McCarthy 

Aidan O'Mahony 

Darragh Ó Sé 

Diarmuid Murphy 

Eoin Brosnan 

Marc Ó Sé 

Michael McCarthy 

Seamus Moynihan 

Tommy Griffin 

Tom O'Sullivan 

Tomás Ó Sé 

Gaelic Football 

Dr. Crokes Killarney 

Gaelic Football 

Rathfarnham Tours  


Innisfallen Island 

Muckross Abbey 

Ross Castle 

St. Mary's Killarney 

Rathfarnham Roads 

What to do in Dublin 

Tour 1  

Tour 2 

Tour 3 

Tour 4 

Bray- Greystones walk 

Glencullen Mountain Walk