Home‎ > ‎2018 National Conference‎ > ‎

Conference Schedule

Run Sheet

Inaugural Conference of Ratepayers NZ Inc

Saturday 10 & Sunday 11 November 2018

Ocean Lodge, 20 Muritai Street, Tahunanui, Nelson

Contact Name:

John Walker


0274 432 525



Run Plan –




6pm – 8pm

Early bird registration @ Ocean Lodge


8am – 9am


9am – 9.30am

Welcome: John Walker

Housekeeping; procedure, objectives and format of conference: Bruce Rogan

9.30am – 10.30am

Dr Catherine Strong – Guest Speaker introduced by Kerry Neal; The effect of Council Codes of Conduct on freedom of speech. Q&A to follow

Morning Tea

11.00am –


Jarrod Coburn – on the purpose, intent and structure of residents’ groups in NZ followed by Q&A

12.00pm – 1.00pm


1.00pm – 2.00pm

Jordan Williams – is a Director and Co-Founder of the Taxpayers Union with plenty of stories to share. Q&A follows

2.00pm – 3.15pm

Five reasons why we need Ratepayers NZ:

Council Workshops – what they mean: Steve Cross

The Kaipara District Council vs the Mangawhai Residents & Residents Assn over the sewerage system – and why the rates increases forced on them was illegal: Bruce Rogan

Drinking Water in Havelock North and the impact the 51 recommendations from the Inquiry has on your council:

Horowhenua Council – where the Mayor and his Deputy are ousted and the “loophole” that allows it

Transparency at Council meetings – why living streaming of meetings is so important: Graeme O’Brien

Alan Preston - on the need for a protocol on setting up e-mail addresses etc to ensure enduring contactability for members of a network.

3.15pm – 3.30pm

Afternoon tea

3.30pm – 4.30pm

The aspirations and purpose of Ratepayers NZ


Close for the Day

4.30pm – 5.30pm

Bar Open

6pm onwards

Dinner @ Ocean Lodge. Entertainment:

Barbara Arnott QSO, Mayor of Napier for 12 years, she’ll give an insiders perspective to proceedings and how councils should relate to their communities.

The Comedy Hour – Time to share your anecdotes of the greatest/craziest/stupidest things you’ve seen happen at a council near you! There will be a cup for the worst council so put your nomination in on the night.

Raffles drawn, Auction


9am –


Adoption of Constitution

10.30am -11am

Morning Tea

11am – 11.30

Election of Office-bearers

11.30am – 12.30pm

Where to from here: the objectives, action plan and specific outcomes required from the new Executive Committee


Official Close of Conference by the new Chair

12.35pm –



1.30pm –


Opportunity for a debrief, planning and hand over to the next conference team