Home

RAMSAY CROOKS

 

OF THE AMERICAN

FUR COMPANY

 

 

 

 

 

A BIOGRAPHY

Featuring: Ancestors, Children, Siblings

      Including: 

      The Ancestors of Emilie Pratte

 

by 

Robert E Huggard


RAMSAY CROOKS AND THE AMERICAN FUR COMPANY

 

PROLOGUE


There are biographies of Ramsay Crooks that give more detail and are more accurate on the John Jacob Astor expedition to the mouth of the Columbia River and the discovery of the “South Pass” on the Oregon Trail. This paper makes reference to that adventure, but concentrates on the family of Ramsay including his children, ancestors, and siblings. It also includes the ancestors of Ramsay’s wife Emilie Pratte.  A reference for the Columbia River story is Astoria by Peter Stark.

Although sometimes in this biography it is incorrectly referred to as “Ontario”, it was actually Upper Canada from 10 June 1791 to 9 February 1841, and Canada West from 10 February 1841 until the 1st of July 1867.


 Until 1751 in England, Wales, and the British Dominions, the new year started on March 25th (Lady Day) but it was then changed to the present January 1st.  Scotland changed in 1600.  In this biography all dates are presented as if the new year had started on January 1st.  A date recorded as actually February 1st 1740 would appear here as February 1st, 1741.

 

This biography is divided into six parts:

 

            Part 1 – Ramsay 

            Part 2 – Ancestors 

            Part 3 – Siblings 

            Part 4 – Grandchildren 

            Part 5 – Ancestors of Emilie Pratte 

            Part 6 – Addenda 

 

Compiled by:

Robert E (Bob) Huggard

66 Laurentide Drive

Toronto, Ontario

M3A 3C9

rehuggard@sympatico.ca

February, 2014

                     RAMSAY CROOKS AND THE AMERICAN FUR COMPANY


                                                             PART #1

Ramsay

                

 Ramsay Crooks


    Ramsay Crooks was born on the 2nd of January, 1787, at Greenock, Scotland.   He died on the 6th of June, 1859, in New York City, and is buried at Greenwood Cemetery in Brooklyn, New York.  He was the son of William Crooks and Margaret Ramsay.  After his father William died in 1796, his mother Margaret, with the remaining children, sailed for Canada from Greenock on April 25th, 1803, eventually ending up at Newark (now Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario, Canada) where her sons William and James and step-son Francis were already settled as merchants.  Margaret had 13 children and 2 step-children, two of her children had died young, and two sons plus her step-son preceded her to Niagara.  One son (Matthew) followed in 1805.  Her step-daughter remained in Scotland as well as her oldest daughter Margaret.  This left 7 children including Ramsay.  The other 6 all are recorded in the Niagara District soon after 1803, so it could be assumed that 7 children accompanied Margaret, these included; Jane, Anne, Helen, Elizabeth, Jennette, John, and Ramsay   See Addendum #1.  Many reports say there were only 4 children that travelled with Margaret, but do not name them.


Ramsay was 16 when he arrived in Montreal, Quebec, arriving there in 1803 with his family, and staying in Montreal while his mother and the rest of the family went on to Newark.  (It is not known if he stayed in Montreal or came back from Newark).  It is not absolutely clear how Ramsay spent the years 1803 to 1807, but it has been reported that he was a clerk with Maitland, Garden and Auldjo, a Montreal mercantile firm that supplied dry goods and hardware to the Indians. Later it was said that he was in Niagara with fur traders and then was a clerk for fur trader Robert Dickinson at Michilimackinac on Lake Huron.  Today it is known as Mackinaw Island or Mackinac in Michigan, and generally referred to in history books as Mackinac (but usually pronounced Mackinaw).  Robert Dickinson had a wealth of experience in the fur trade.  Ramsay was with George Gillespie (employed by Dickinson) in 1805 and was in St Louis, Louisiana, for him from 1805 to 1807 learning the fur trade. 

By 1807 Ramsay had enough funds, supplemented by the fur trading Choteau Family, to form a partnership with Robert McClellan with the aim of trading with the Indians on the Missouri River.  McClellan was described as “a man of many perilous exploits and hairbreadth escapes, a sure shot, and one of the most romantic characters in the annals of the Western fur trade”.  They formed an expedition of 40 men and went as far as South Dakota on the Missouri, but were forced back to Council Bluffs, Iowa, by about 600 Sioux.  They erected a trading post at Council Bluffs.  Ramsay and McClellan believed the Sioux were spurred on by Manuel Lisa, a Spanish trader of the Missouri Fur Company, and McClellan swore if he ever met Lisa he would kill him.  Later, with the Astor Expedition, he met Lisa on the Missouri, but, with difficulty, he was restrained from carrying out his threat.  In 1809 Ramsay and McClellan dissolved the partnership, and Ramsay went to Mackinac to work for the Northwest Company (fur traders) where William P Hunt, the organiser of the Astor expedition, signed Ramsey as a partner in the Astor group to take part in the expedition.

In January of 1810 in New York, John Jacob Astor, with 5 associates, provided the capital for the Pacific Fur Company, with the purpose of trading for furs on the Missouri and Platte rivers all the way to the Pacific.  They planned a two pronged thrust; one to go by sea and set up a fort and trading post at the mouth of the Columbia River in Oregon, and the other proceeding overland to choose trading sites on the way.  The company was formed in June of 1810.   Half the company stock was owned by Astor’s American Fur Company.  After a number of disasters to their ships the venture seemed less profitable and the fort (Astoria) on the Columbia was sold to the Montreal based Northwest Company in 1813 to avoid its capture by the British in the War of 1812.

In 1810 Ramsay traveled to St Louis from Mackinac where he joined the rest of the Astor overland party which also included McClellan.  On October 21st, 1810, the expedition of 60 men left for the trading post on the Pacific called Astoria in honour of John Jacob Astor.  Their intention was to take a more southerly route than Lewis and Clark the discoverers of the overland route to the Pacific.  The party’s transport consisted of two barges and a keel boat.  The keel boat carried two cannons and a swivel gun.

On June 10th, 1811, they left the Missouri and encamped at the Arikara villages where they traded for horses.  Finally on July 18th, leaving their boats behind, their pack train started west.  At first there were difficulties as few members of the group had experience with pack trains.  On September 27th, 1811, they reached the Snake River, and made some dugout canoes.  Ramsay fell ill and had to be carried on a litter.  Later, on October 18th, Ramsay’s canoe smashed into a rock and he almost drowned.  In 1933 a number of muskets and traps along with other trapping paraphernalia were found beside a rock in the Snake River, undoubtedly lost by Ramsay.  The Snake River had numerous rapids and often ran through high walled chasms and one of the party drowned.  During most of this part of the journey Ramsay was very sick, as were other members.  The weather turned nasty with torrential downpours of cold rain.

With an extreme lack of food it was decided to break the party into two groups.  Ramsay led a group of 19 along the south bank of the Snake River.  There was little game and they at one point existed on boiled moccasins.  They went past what is now known as Hell’s Canyon on the Snake, and it lived up to its name.  They made little progress on land but could not canoe the Snake because it consisted of a number of severe rapids that would smash any canoe or raft.  Hunts party of 19 did run into some Indians and they purchased horses, one of which was immediately slaughtered for food.  There was some of this meat left for Ramsay’s party when the two groups were reunited on December 6th, 1811.  Ramsay again became seriously ill.  While the two parties were on opposite banks of the Snake, many attempts were made to get food across to the starving group, and they were finally successful.  At this time one of the party became demented and pushed a canoe into the Snake and drowned.

Ramsay recovered but one of his group (John Day) became ill, and Ramsay offered to stay with the stricken man.  Hunt left, and later three voyageurs from the expedition who had decided to stay behind, informed Ramsay that Hunt had crossed the Blue Mountains to the Columbia River.  Meantime, Ramsay and John Day were fed by a couple of wandering Indians, found other food, and got to the Blue Mountains.  They became lost in the mountains but finally in April of 1812 they found the Columbia River.  An old Indian fed and sheltered them until they regained their strength.  Crooks and Day traveled about 70 miles down the Columbia River, to the mouth of what is now known as the John Day River when they encountered a band of unfriendly Indians who robbed them of everything.  Naked and subsisting on rotting fish they found along the bank, Crooks and Day hobbled back upriver to the old Indian who had sheltered them and he clothed them and provided dried meat.  Fearing the Indians downriver, and in a desperate mood, Crooks and Day decided to walk back to St. Louis.  They were preparing packs of food, when four canoes, paddled by whites came by on the river.  To the amazement of Crooks and Day, the canoes were paddled by members of the Astor group. So they continued westward.  In May of 1812 this group finally reached Astoria.   The route taken to Astoria became, with modifications, the Oregon Trail.

            Ramsay and McClellan joined Robert Stuart’s party for the return to St Louis, leaving Astoria on June 29th, 1812.  On the route Crow Indians stole their horses and they almost starved.  In November of 1812 they decided to spend the winter in what is now Wyoming.  In March of 1813 they continued their trip overland until they reached the Missouri River.  They arrived back in St Louis on April 30, 1813.   It was on this return trip that Ramsay’s group discovered the South Pass and they were the first white men to use it.  This greatly shortened the time on the Oregon Trail.  The others in the group that discovered the Pass where: Robert Stuart, Benjamin Jones, Francois LeClerk, Joseph Miller, Adré Valée, and Ramsay’s former partner Robert McClellan.  See Addendum #2.

In July of 1813 Ramsay went to New York to join John Jacob Astor.  Because of the War of 1812, the fur trade was in bad shape.  Ramsay rose to Number 2 in the American Fur Company, and was General Manager in 1817.  He was President from 1834 to 1839 after Astor sold out.  From New York Astor sent Ramsay back to Mackinac in 1813 to run the South West Fur Company, a joint ownership of Astor and the Northwest Fur Company.  The American Fur Company bought out Northwest’s share of the South West Fur Company in 1817, and Ramsay became chief agent. 

In 1834 John Jacob Astor got out of the fur trade and Ramsay with three other stockholders bought out the Northern section of the company and retained the use of the name American Fur Company with Ramsay as president.   In 1842 there was a glut of furs in Europe and this was the final blow to a failing American Fur Company.  Ramsay then opened a fur clearing house in New York until his death.

In 1835 Ramsay supervised the construction of the John Jacob Astor at Sault Ste. Marie, the first American vessel launched on Lake Superior.  The ship was wrecked at Copper Harbour on September the 19th, 1844.  In about 1844 a ship named Ramsey Crooks was launched and it sailed out of Detroit

Fort Astoria

.  

Ramsay Crooks Tombstone

[with Emilie Pratte]

[Greenwood Cemetery, Brooklyn]

 

John Jacob Astor

While working for the South West Fur Company in Mackinac Ramsay had a daughter Hester Crooks   Hester was the child of Ramsay and Abanokue who was the daughter of a Chippewa chieftain and a French mother.  Hester was born on Drummond’s Island, Michigan, in Lake Huron, on the 30th of May, 1817, and died in Stillwater, Minnesota, on October the 15th, 1853.   At the time of Hester’s birth Ramsay was the head trader for John Jacob Astor in the district, and the island was a meeting place for the Chippewa and Ottawa tribes (both members of the Ojibwa Nation) to receive gifts from the British, although a few of both tribes lived there permanently.  Hester’s mother probably died in the 1824 smallpox epidemic on the island, and her father (Ramsay) later married Marianne Pratte (see below).  Hester’s education was paid for by Ramsay, and in 1825 she started attendance at the Mission School in Mackinac (or Michilmackinack), Michigan, which was run by the Reverend and Mrs. Ferry.  Hester was described as: "a woman of tall and commanding figure, her black hair and eyes indicating her Indian origin. She was a fluent conversationalist, and careful and tidy in her personal appearance".

 After her schooling she became a teacher and taught at the mission.  In 1833 she went to the Chippewa Mission in Yellow Lake, Minnesota, in the St Croix Valley, and taught at the school there.  The school was founded by Reverend Fred and Elizabeth Ayres and was basically for Métis children.  Hester was the interpreter as well as teacher. See Addendum #3.  It was to this school that William Thurston Boutwell sent his proposal of marriage to Hester via a messenger.  Her reply took seven days to reach William.   Hester and William were married in Chippewa County, Michigan, on the 11th of September, 1834.  The newlyweds then traveled by canoe for 43 days to Leech Lake, Minnesota, where they set up a mission and a school station for the Ojibwa.  Some report the marriage as being at Fond Du Lac (now Duluth) on the 10th of September, 1834.  Hester was registered at Leech Lake on March the 28th, 1836, as being a Native Born.

            Reverend William T. Boutwell was born on February 3rd, 1803, in Lyndeborough, New Hampshire, and died on October 10th, 1890, at Stillwater, Minnesota.  He was the son of Nehemiah Boutwell and Elizabeth Cleaves Jones.  William was educated at Exeter, and then Dartmouth College, Hanover, New Hampshire.  He then trained as a minister at Andover Theological Seminary, and was ordained into the Presbyterian Church.  He became a missionary for the American Board in Boston (a combination of Congregational and Presbyterian denominations).  William was not only a Missionary to the Indians, but was a noted explorer who discovered the lake that was the source of the Mississippi River.  He named it Lake Itasca from the Latin ventas (true) caput (head).  In the early 1830’s he worked as a missionary on Mackinaw Island, and in the following years he established a mission at Leech Lake, Minnesota (as above), and was at Stillwater, Minnesota, by 1842.  He, along with Hester, wrote an Ojibwa grammar.  In 1847 William and family moved to the relative safety of Stillwater.  In 1850 he injured himself (rupture) while riding during icy conditions to preach.  This hampered him in physical labour.  Although fairly poor in his early missionary days, by 1870 he was quite well off.  For more details on this family see William’s diary that has been published.

After Hester died, William Thurston Boutwell married Mary Ann Bergin on September 26th, 1855, at Stillwater.  She was born on May 17th, 1809, in Maine, and died on February 5th, 1868, at Stillwater.  She is buried in the Boutwell Cemetery.  They had no children.

                                   

Hester (Crooks) Boutwell

[Boutwell Cemetery, Stillwater, Minnesota]

 

Mary Ann Bergin

[Boutwell Cemetery, Stillwater, Minnesota]

 

Boutwell Cemetery, Stillwater, Minnesota

In the Peabody Essex Museum in Salem, Massachusetts, there is a baby carrier that was given to Hester (Crooks) Boutwell on the birth of Elizabeth, the first of her nine children.  Elizabeth was born on August the 4th, 1835.  The cradleboard (tihkinakan) is decorated with beads, quills, and shells.  

Baby Carrier


William Thurston Boutwell


House where William Thurston Boutwell died

[Stillwater, Minnesota]

 

Tombstone of William Thurston Boutwell

[Boutwell Cemetery, Stillwater, Minnesota]

[Across the road from the house above]

Hester and William had nine children, although there may have been an additional child who was born in 1834 and died in 1835.  Their first daughter was Elizabeth “Lizzie” Asenath Boutwell (she used Antoinette as her middle name) who was born on August 4th, 1835, at La Pointe, Madeline Island, Michigan, and died on January 17th, 1900, at Sarasota Springs, Florida.  She was brought east by her parents to be raised by relatives.  On January 1st, 1860, in Wilton, New Hampshire, she married Rollins Parkhurst, who was born in Andover, Vermont, about 1829, and died on May 25th, 1879, at Hollis, Vermont.  He was the son of John Parkhurst and Hannah Johnson.  Lizzie and Rollins were originally buried at Pine Hill Cemetery in Hollis, New Hampshire, but in 1910 they were moved to Laurel Hill.

 

Elizabeth Boutwell and Rollins Parkhurst

[Laurel Hill Cemetery, Wilton, New Hampshire]

 Hester’s first son was Ramsay Crooks Boutwell who was born on May 16th, 1837, at Leech Lake, Minnesota, and baptized at La Pointe, Michigan.  He died on April 24th, 1898, in Nashua, New Hampshire.  At the age of 2 he was sent to New Hampshire to live with his uncle.  On November 20th, 1872, in Wilton, New Hampshire, he married Lucy Arabella Clark.  She was born on March 10th, 1848, in Lyndeborough, New Hampshire, and died on November 30th, 1872, in Nashua, New Hampshire.  She was the daughter of Peter Clark and Lucy Goodrich.  On October 18th, 1888, in Nashua, he married Julian C “Jennie” (Wallace) Woodward the widow of Edwin Woodward.  She was the daughter of George Wallace and Clara M Whitney and was born on June 18th, 1844, and died on July 17th, 1900, at Nashua.        

Ramsay Crooks Boutwell

Ramsay was followed by Mary Louise Boutwell who was born on January 10th, 1840, in Stillwater, Minnesota, and died there on September 6th, 1841.  Next came William Thurston Boutwell Jr. who was born on February 6th, 1842, and died in Grand Forks County, North Dakota, on March 8th, 1924.  On December 6th, 1865, in West Lebenon, New Hampshire, he married Eliza Jane Cummings who was born in Norwich, Vermont, on June 16th, 1844, and died in New Hampshire on March 24th, 1884.  On April 5th, 1884, in Afton, Minnesota, he married Mary Elizabeth Haskell.  She was born on May 3rd, 1851, in Afton, and died on May 28th, 1895, at Oakland, California.  Mary was the daughter of Joseph Haskell and Olive Kingman Furber.  On November 12th, 1895, at Sacramento, California, he married Mary Welsh Quigley.

 

William T Boutwell Jr.

[Memorial Park Cemetery, Grand Forks]

 Sergeant Rodney Cleaves Boutwell was born on November 26th, 1844, in Minnesota, and died at Moorhead City, Becker County, Minnesota, on June 21st, 1934.   His first wife was Elisabeth about who little is known other than that she was born about 1855 in Minnesota.  On July 19th, 1887, at Superior, Wisconsin, he married Isabella “Lizzie” Porter.  She was born in 1854 in Pokegama, Minnesota, and died in 1936.  She was the daughter of Duane Porter and Mary LaPrairie.  Rodney was a Sergeant with the 7th, Regiment of the Wisconsin Cavalry. 

 

  

Rodney C Boutwel    Isabella Porter

[Ogema, Minnesota]

The next child of Hester and William was Katherine “Kate” Asenath Boutwell who was born on October 18th, 1846, at Pokegama, Minnesota, and died on May 4th, 1909, in Stillwater. On April 7th, 1864, in Greenfield, Minnesota, she married Edwin Rathbone Jones.  He was born on April 6th, 1839, in Hudson, Wisconsin, and died in Stillwater on June 14th, 1888.  He was the son of Sterling Jones and Elizabeth Sines.  They re-built the house on the family farm that is pictured above.

Edwin (Rathbone Jones) was raised on his father's farm near Hudson, Wisconsin. After his marriage he purchased a farm containing 200 acres in the township of Troy, St. Croix County, Wisconsin, and he was a thoroughly successful farmer. About the year 1878 he sold this farm and purchased the old Boutwell homestead of 240 acres situated in the outskirts of Stillwater, Minnesota, where his wife Katherine was reared. There he continued farming and raising fine stock. They were widely known, and for many years were called the musical family, both vocal and instrumental, and they combined an excellent orchestra in their own family. Edwin taught singing school, was chairman of board of supervisors of his town and always a staunch Republican. He died at his home on June 14th, 1888, at Stillwater. Katherine died May 4th, 1909, in the same house where she was reared from infancy, and where she and Edwin were married.

 

Katherine A Boutwell and Edwin Rathbone Jones

[Fairview Cemetery, Stillwater]

 

Edwin Rathbone Jones

Hester Elvira Boutwell was born January 2nd, 1848, at Stillwater, and died there on June 21st, 1891.  On July 1st, 1868, in Washington County, Minnesota, she married John R Green who was born in Huntsville, Alabama.  Although there is a registration for this marriage, it is difficult to find any other proof.  Her marriage is not mentioned on her tombstone.

Hester Elvita Boutwell

[Fairview Cemetery, Stillwater]

 Basil (Basie) Ernest Boutwell, the son of Hester and William, was born on November 16th, 1850, and died at Stillwater in 1851.  He was the first to be buried at the Boutwell Cemetery, Stillwater.

Basil Ernest Boutwell

 The last child of Hester and William was Cornelius Lyman Boutwell who was born on November 22nd, 1852, at Stillwater, and died there on March 28th, 1882.  He married Maria Quinn Smith who was born on September 17th, 1843, at Bath, New York, and died in Stillwater on October 26th, 1924.  She was the daughter of Andrew and Nancy Smith

 Cornelius Lyman Boutwell  Maria Quinn Smith

[Boutwell Cemetery – Fairview Cemetery, Stillwater]



CHILDREN OF HESTER CROOKS AND WILLIAM THURSTON BOUTWELL

 

Hester Crooks---William Thurston Boutwell

|

|-Elizabeth Antoinette Boutwell

|  Rollins Parkhurst

|

|-Ramsay Crooks Boutwell

|  Lucy Annabella Clark

|  Julian C (Wallace) Woodward

|

|-Mary Louise Boutwell

|

|-William Thurston Boutwell Jr.

|  Eliza Jane Cummings

|  Mary Elizabeth Haskell

|  Mary Welsh Quigley

|

|-Rodney Cleaves Boutwell

|  Elizabeth

|  Isabella Porter

|

|-Katherine Asanath Boutwell

|  Edwin Rathbone Jones

|

|-Hester Elvira Boutwell

|  John R Green

|

|-Basil Ernest Boutwell

|

|-Cornelius Lyman Boutwell

|  Maria Quinn Smith

                                                                                  

  

Ramsay Crooks


Emilie Pratte


Ramsay Crooks  
 


Emilie Pratt
 

On the 10th of March, 1825, Ramsay Crooks married Marianne Pelagie “Emilie” Pratte at St. Louis, Missouri.  Emilie was born on the 25th of December, 1806, in St Louis, Missouri, and died on September 20th, 1863, in New York City.  She was the daughter of General Bernard Pratte and Emilie Sauveur Labadie.   General Pratte was the head of Pratte, Chouteau and Company (furs) that was bought out by John Jacob Astor.

Ramsay and Emilie had nine children: the eldest was Emilie Crooks who was born on February the 8th, 1826, in New York City, and died in 1893.  She married Charles Nicholas Noel in New York City on June 2nd, 1844.  He was born about 1826 in New York City, and died on November 29th, 1853.  Her sister Marguerite (Margaret) Crooks was born on August the 31st, 1827, and died at Lowell, Massachusetts, on the 15th of February, 1895.  She married Eugene Plunkett who was born in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic, in 1830, and died in San Antonio, Texas, on December 7th, 1883.  He immigrated to New York City, where he worked as a translator and offered Congress in 1852 a translation of the Declaration of Independence, amongst other documents, into Spanish.  He wrote cheap literature referred to as “Penny Bloods”.  Two of his titles were: The Black Mendicant and The Watchmaker.  The family moved to South Orange, New Jersey

Virginie Crooks was born in New York City on the 15th of December, 1828, and died in Lyon, France, on the 27th of January, 1912.  She is buried at Ecully (near Lyon), France.  On the 14th of January, 1847, she married Johannes (John S.) Gourd at St. Vincent de Paul Church in New York City.  His full name appears to have been Jean Babtiste Francois Johannes Gourd, the son of Gerard Etienne Gourd and Pierrette Sophie Gavinet.  He was born in Lyon, France, on June 17th, 1816, and died in Ecully, France, on the 25th of September, 1898.  They lived in Lyon and he was one of the largest silk manufactures in that city.

   

Ramsay J Crooks Jr.

  A son, Ramsay J Crooks Jr., was born on January the 5th, 1830, and died on the 29th of January, 1889.  He was a member of the American Geographical and Statistical Society.  His brother, Captain Bernard Crooks, was born on February 22nd, 1831, and died on the 6th of October, 1856, at Puerto Cabello, Venezuela, of yellow fever.  He was a sailor on New Bedford whalers.  The American Consul at the Navigator Islands placed him in control of a whaler from Sag Harbor due to the illness of the captain.  The captain died in Rio Janeiro and Bernard brought the vessel safely home.  He was later made master of the brig Putnam.  On a voyage on the Vepasian to Puerto Cabello his carpenter contracted yellow fever, and while tending to him Bernard also got the disease

Colonel William Crooks was the most famous of Ramsay’s children.  He was born on the 20th of June, 1832, in New York City, and died in Portland, Oregon, on December the 17th, 1907.  He is buried in St Paul. Minnesota   He was the engineer who was responsible for bringing the railroad through Minnesota’s Red River Valley.  He became the first superintendent of the St Paul and Pacific Railway.  Throughout his career he was involved with various railways.  The town of Crookston in Minnesota was named after him.  On the 20th of November, 1855, in Toledo, Ohio, he married Arabella Hertzler who was born in October of 1835 in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, the daughter of Christopher Hertzler and Miss Snyder.  On November 23rd, 1881, he married Harriet Marie Shiels who was born in New York City in September of 1859, and died on October 13th, 1900.  She was the daughter of Thomas Shiels and Elizabeth Clark.  William was a Colonel in the 6th Regiment of the Minnesota Volunteers Infantry (August 1862 to October 1864), and saw action in the Civil War and in the Indian Wars (Dakota tribe).

 

                                 Colonel William Crooks       

 

        The Steam Locomotive William Crooks

 

Julia Crooks

 There were three more children of Ramsay and Emilie: Sylvester Crooks was born on October 6th, 1833, and died on the 6th of October, 1900, at St Vincent’s Hospital, New York City.  He was a stockbroker on Wall Street, New York.  Charles Crooks was born on the 4th of April, 1836, and died at birth.  Julia Crooks was born September the 22nd, 1838, and died May 4th, 1924.  Her occupation was listed as “Chocolate Éclair”.

 

Children of Ramsay Crooks

 

Ramsay Crooks

1787 | 1859

            ______________________________|_________________

            |                                                                       |

   Children with                                                  Children with

      Abanuke                                                     Emilie Platte

            |                                                              1806 | 1859

            |-Hester Crooks -  William Boutwell                     |

            |  1817 - 1853         1803 – 1890                       |-Emilie Crooks – Charles Noel                                                                                                                            |   1826 – 1893             – 1853

                                                                                    |

                                                                                    |-Margaret Crooks – Eugene Plunkett

                                                                                    |   1827 – 1895            1830 – 1883

                                                                                    |

                                                                                    |-Virginie Crooks – John Gourd

                                                                                    |   1828 – 1912      1816 – 1898

                                                                                    |

                                                                                    |-Ramsay Crooks Jr.

                                                                                    |   1830 – 1889

                                                                                    |

                                                                                    |-Bernard Crooks

                                                                                    |   1831 – 1856

                                                                                    |

                                                                                    |-William Crooks – Arabella Hertzler

                                                                                    |   1832 – 1907        2-Harriet Shields

                                                        |

                                                                                    |-Sylvester Crooks

                                                                                    |   1833 – 1900

                                                                                    |

                                                                                    |-Charles Crooks

                                                                                    |   1836 – 1836

                                                                                    |

                                                                        |-Julia Crooks

                                                                          1838 - 1924

 

 

                                                              PART #2

ANCESTORS

 

  Ancestors

 

The first identified Crooks ancestor of Ramsay Crooks was William Crooks who was born in 1629, followed by his son Alexander Crooks who was born in 1649.  Other than their approximate birth years, there is little else that is known about these two.  The name was also spelt “Cruix”, or “Crukes”.

William Crooks, a shoemaker, was the son of Alexander, and was born in 1675 at Kilmarnock, Ayrshire, Scotland.  On the 25th of November, 1703, he married Margaret Dickie.  She was born in about 1678 in Scotland, the daughter of Adam Dickie and Janet Findlay. They had five children all born at Kilmarnock:  The eldest son was Francis Crooks as described below.  Then came Margaret Crooks who was born on the 31st of December, 1707.  The second son was Hugh Crooks, a shoemaker, who was born on December the 12th, 1709.  Hugh married Janet Harper on the 7th of July, 1731, at Kilmarnock.  She was born in 1712 and died on September the 28th, 1756.  The fourth child was Jean Crooks who was born on the 29th of August, 1712, and died on January 12th, 1732, of a fever.  Finally came Mary Crooks who was born on January the 27th, 1715.

Francis Crooks, the son of William and Margaret (Dickie), was born on October the 24th, 1704, at Tounend (Kilmarnock), Ayrshire, Scotland, and married Mary (or Marion) Armour, at Kilmarnock on the 6th of November, 1727.  She was the daughter of Alexander Armour (see below).  Mary was born on March the 18th, 1707, in Kilmarnock, and died there in 1785.  Francis Crooks was a shoemaker in Tounend, Scotland.

The children of Francis Crooks and Mary Armour, all born at Kilmarnock, were: Jean Crooks who was born on the 27th of February, 1728, and died on May 31st, 1733, of “Pox”.  Hugh Crooks who was born on the 4th of March, 1731, and died young.  Francis Crooks Jr. was born on February the 8th, 1733, and died on the 7th of December, 1749, at Kilmarnock.  The second Hugh Crooks was born on the 30th of June, 1735, and died on the 13th of June, 1745.  Margaret Crooks was born on January the 24th, 1738, and died at Kilmarnock on the 5th of April, 1739.  Jean Crooks II was born on the 8th of April, 1740.  William Crooks, the father of Ramsay, is described below.  John Crooks was born on February 20th, 1748.  Mary Crooks was born on July 18th, 1750,

     Alexander Armour, the father of Mary (Armour) Crooks, was born about 1687, and died on May 19th, 1746, at Kilmarnock.  He married Jean Littlejohn on the 11th of June, 1706, in Kilmarnock.  He was a maltman by trade.  Jean Littlejohn was born about 1688, and died at Kilmarnock on July the 25th, 1742. They had five children born in Kilmarnock: Mary Armour as described above.  Next was Robert Armour who was born on November 19th, 1710, and died on August 21st, 1802.  On June 14th, 1738, Robert married Marion Wilson who was born in Kilmarnock in 1720, the daughter of Mathew Wilson and Janet Hue.  Robert was followed by three siblings: John Armour who was born in 1713, Jean Armour who was born in 1717, and Janet Armour who was born in 1722.

            Alexander’s father was Robert Armour who was born in 1675 in Kilmarnock.  There was a brother to Alexander, Robert Armour Jr., born about 1695 (this date from the Logie study is approximate), and was married to Elizabeth Maxwell and they had seven children; Anna (1735), Elizabeth (1737), Janet (1739), Hugh (1741), Jean (1743), Robert III (1745), and Robert IV (1746).

William Crooks Sr., the son of Francis Crooks and Mary Armour and the father of Ramsay, was born on July 18th, 1741, at Kilmarnock, Scotland, and died on February 20th, 1796, in Paisley, Scotland.  He is buried there in the High Church Yard.  He married Elizabeth McFade in 1765.  She was born about 1746 in Kilmarnock, and died on the 21st of November, 1768, soon after the birth of her daughter.  They had two children (see siblings below).  On the 14th of December, 1772, at Kilmarnock, Scotland, William married Margaret Ramsay who was born at Saracens’ Close, Cowgate, Edinburgh, Scotland, on the 23rd of April, 1753, and died at the home of her son Matthew Crooks in Ancaster, Upper Canada, on the 2nd of October, 1827.  She is buried at St. John’s Episcopalian Church in Ancaster.  Margaret was the daughter of James Ramsay who was born on the 2nd of November, 1720, in the parish of Crosshill Dalmenie, West Lothian, Scotland, and his wife Margaret Broun who was born about 1720.  The family bible says that after William Crooks died Margaret (Ramsay) Crooks hired a vessel (which was about the same price as the total for the individual fares) and with 10 of her children went to Niagara, but there is another notation there that she had changed her mind.  William Crooks, whose father was a shoe-maker, owned a large hand-made shoe company in Kilmarnock.  In 1769 he was reported in Newtown, Sussex County, New Jersey, after the death of his first wife, but returned to Scotland.  He met his second wife Margaret Ramsay in Edinburgh.  William Crooks and Margaret Ramsay had 13 children – see siblings.

The ancestors of Margaret Ramsay’s father James Ramsay were his father Robert Ramsay who was born in 1694 and died on October 20th, 1778.  On June 21st, 1711, Robert married Elizabeth Gray who died on January 12th, 1778.  He was a mason in Crosshill, Ayrshire. Scotland.  Robert was the son of James Ramsay a tenant (spelt tenent on the tombstone) farmer at Mount Hill, Scotland.  James was the son of Robert Ramsay who was also a tenant farmer.

 

Photo of possible painting of William Crooks Sr.

 

 


Margaret (Ramsay) Crooks – Altar Tomb

[Helen Crooks – her daughter, has the

dark stone to left of the altar tomb]

 

INSCRIPTION ON THE ALTER TOMB OF MARGARET (RAMSAY) CROOKS

AT

ST. JOHN’S EPISCOPAL CHURCH, GRIMSBY, ONTARIO

 

My aged friend to me attend

And wipe your weeping eyes,

No longer mourn your daughter

gone to reign above on high.
Beneath this stone lieth the remains of

Margaret Crooks, late of the kingdom of Scotland,

who was born in Edinburgh, 23rd April, A. D. 1753,

died at Ancaster, in the province of U. C.

2nd October, 1826, aged 74 years.

 Note: Death year is wrong, should be 1827

Margaret Ramsay Crooks – Altar Tomb

 

Tombstone of Robert Ramsay

[Mason in Crosshill]

[Son of James Ramsay and grandson of Robert Ramsay]


ANCESTORS OF RAMSAY CROOKS

 

William Cruix

               1629 |

                        |

         Alexander Crooks

               1649 |                                                        Robert Armour

                        |                                                     1675 |

            William Crooks---Margaret Dickie                               |

               1674  |                       1678                       Alexander Armour---Jean Littlejohn

                        |                                                        1687 | 1746         1688 | 1742

                        |                              _____________________|

                        |                              |

                        |                              |                             Robert Ramsay               

                        |                              |                                        |

                        |                              |                              James Ramsay

                        |                              |                                        |

    |                              |                             Robert Ramsay---Elizabeth Gray

    |                              |                                1694 | 1778

                Francis Crooks---Mary Armour                                        |

                   1704 |                        1707                      J    ames Ramsay---Margaret Broun

                        |                                                                1720 |              

                        |                  __________________________________|

                        |                  |                                              

            William Crooks---Margaret Ramsay    

                 1741 | 1796     1753 | 1827            

                        |

            Ramsay Crooks---Marianne Pratte

                1787 | 1859    1806 | 1863

 

 

PART #3

SIBLINGS

  Siblings


William Crooks, the father of Ramsay, was married twice.  His first wife was Elizabeth McFade and they had two children.  Their second child, a daughter Mary Crooks, was born on October 21st, 1768, at Kilmarnock, but apparently never left Scotland.  Her mother died soon after her birth.  Their first child a son, Francis Crooks, was born on May 18th, 1766, in Kilmarnock, Scotland, and died on February 8th, 1797, in the Antilles.  He was in Newark (now Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario) by at least 1791 since he joined the local Agricultural Society in that year.  He reportedly arrived in 1788 and established a public house in Newark in 1792, and a store at Fort Niagara, New York.  He was in partnership with Robert Hamilton but left to join his half-brother James when he arrived in 1791.  In 1792 another half-brother William joined him.  Fort Niagara was at the mouth of the Niagara River across from Newark.  When their store was expropriated to extend Fort Niagara, Francis and his half-brother James, with William, moved across the river to Newark.

In about 1790 Francis married Elizabeth “Eliza” Clark who was born in England and died in 1805, the daughter of James Clark and Jemima Mason, and they had two daughters.   Later, in 1800, Elizabeth married John Symington

 

    The eldest daughter of Francis and Elizabeth was Jane Crooks who was baptised on May 19th, 1793, and died in 1812, probably in giving birth to her son.  She took over her father’s membership in the Niagara Agricultural Society.  On July 30th, 1809, in Niagara District, Ontario, she married Lieutenant-Colonel William Charles Shortt of the 41st Regiment of Foot (British Army).  He was born in about 1764 in Trichinopoly, India, and died in the battle at Fort Stephenson, Sandusky, Ohio, on August 2nd, 1813.  He was the son of Major John Shortt and Jane Taylor.   Jane and William had a son Captain James Symington Shortt (4th Foot) who was baptised in Niagara, Ontario, on May 27th, 1812, and died on June 20th, 1865, of dysentery, at sea, and was buried at sea, probably off the coast of Africa.  He was returning to England from India on the Sir John Lawrence with his motherless children.  His daughter Mary remained in India.  On May 28th, 1839, at Sholden, Kent, England, he married Mary Harvey the daughter of Vice-Admiral Sir Thomas Harvey of Sholden Lodge, Kent, England, and his wife Sarah.  Mary died of dropsy two years later on September 30th, 1841, in Kent, and then James lived with her sister Annie (under British law they could not marry).  Annie was born in England in about 1819 and died in June of 1861 in India.   James and Annie had eight children, but only four daughters survived infancy.  In 1847 James left the army. He had a court martial for being drunk at a fellow officer’s funeral, but was only moved down in the promotion list.  He had various jobs in India, and then he returned to England in 1865, but died on the way.

William Charles Shortt had also married Jean Margaret Stuart who died in 1805 and Sally Bluejacket (1778-1823) a Shawnee Indian.  James and Sally possibly had an “Indian Marriage” because they split without a divorce.

The second daughter of Francis and Elizabeth was Mary Crooks who was born in 1798, in Ontario.  On July 10th, 1815, in Niagara, she married Thomas Arnold who was born in 1799 in Ireland, and died on June 10th, 1872, in Richmond, Australia.  Their children were: John Symington Arnold who was baptised on June 28th, 1818, in Niagara, Ontario, and died on September 6th, 1875, at Black Snake, Queensland, Australia.  Next was Frances “Fannie” Arnold (1823-1850).  She married Bernard Hamilton Foley who was born in 1818 in Ireland and died on December 25th, 1854, in St Catherines, Ontario.  Bernard was a lawyer, a judge, and the first mayor of St Catherines.  He was the son of Reverend Terence Foley and Margaret Hamilton who emigrated to St Catherines from Galway, Ireland.  The third child of Mary and Thomas was Charles Morgan Arnold who was born in Ontario in 1825 and died on September 18th, 1913, at St Catherines.  On September 14th, 1858, at St Catherines, he married Elizabeth Anne Mittleberger (1836-1869), and then he married Martha Catherine Graveley who was born in Ontario in 1850, and died in Lincoln County, Ontario, on December 28th, 1937.  The youngest daughter was Evadney (Evalina) Louise H Arnold who was born on December 1st, 1828, in St Catherines, and died there on April 6th, 1910.  She never married and lived with her brother Charles.  Lastly came Claude Grant Arnold who was born in 1821 and died on August 1st, 1894, in Glebe, Australia.  He married Sarah Polack the daughter of Abraham and Hannah Polack.  She had been married to George Barron Goodman who died in Paris, France, in 1851.  Thomas and two sons, John and Claude, immigrated to Australia where Thomas became Assistant Commissary General and possibly manager of Standard Brewery in Castlemaine. 

The second wife of William Crooks was Margaret Ramsay the mother of Ramsay   William and Margaret had 14 children the first of whom, Margaret Crooks, was born on the 27th of December, 1773, at Kilmarnock, Ayrshire, Scotland, and died on the 7th of April, 1857, at Paisley, Scotland.  She married Robert Notman who was the treasurer of Hurlet Friendly Society in 1811 and a clerk at John Wilson & Sons.  They had six children all born in Renfrewshire, Scotland.  The eldest was George Notman who was christened on December 25th, 1800, and died in Dundas, Ontario, on March 21st, 1878.  He was postmaster of Nelson, Ontario.  The eldest daughter was Mary Notman who was born on May 10th, 1803.  The next child of Margaret and Robert was William Notman Q.C. who was born on February 24th, 1805, in, and died on September 19th, 1865, in Ontario.  He was a lawyer and political figure in Canada West.  He studied at Glasgow University and came to Dundas in Upper Canada in 1821. He studied law with George Ridout in Toronto, Ontario, and was called to the bar in 1827.  He set up practice in Ancaster, Ontario. His first wife and children died of diphtheria in 1832, she on December 15th, 1832.  In 1835 he moved to Dundas where he married Janet Wilson.  He represented Middlesex County in the Legislative Assembly of the Province of Canada from 1848 to 1851 and the North riding of Wentworth County from 1858 to 1865. He also served as a lieutenant-colonel in the local militia.   When he first came to Canada he worked for James Crooks at Crooks Hollow (see below).

The fourth child of Margaret and Robert Notman was Janet Notman who was born on October 23rd, 1811, and on September 11th, 1838 she married John Barbour.  Janet’s sister Jean (or Jane) Notman was born on January 3rd, 1814.  She married William Anderson.  The youngest child was James Ramsay Notman who was born on April 6th, 1817.  On April 17th, 1847, in Lochwinnoch, Scotland he married Janet Barbour..  She was the eldest daughter of John Barbour and Mary Arthur.  James Ramsay was a colliery manager for John Wilson & Sons in Hurlet, Scotland, where his father worked

           The next child of William and Margaret Ramsay was William Crooks Jr., who was born at Kilmarnock on the 21st of June, 1775, and died there on October 27th, 1775

 

Tomb of William Crooks 1776 – 1836

[Grimsby, Ontario]

 The second William Crooks of William and Margaret was born on August the 6th, 1776, at Kilmarnock, and died on December the 31st, 1836, at Niagara, Ontario.  He is buried at St. Andrew’s Church in Grimsby, Ontario.  He left Scotland for Niagara on the Neptune on the 3rd of April, 1792, to join his step-brother Francis and brother James in their business Crooks & Company at Fort Niagara, at the mouth of the Niagara River.  In 1795 both he and James applied for land as new settlers and were granted sites at Newark (now Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario).  In 1800 he was named Justice of the Peace for Niagara District, and in 1833 for Gore District.  Later he and James were each granted 400 acres near Grimsby, Ontario.  William, along with his brother James, was a part owner of the ship Lord Nelson (see below).  William was a Captain in the 4th Lincoln Regiment, under General Sheaffe, during the War of 1812, and commanded a company of infantry at the Battle of Lundy’s Lane, and at the Battle of Queenston Heights when General Brock was killed.  The battle of May 27, 1813, was fought on the farm at Newark owned by William, and his brother James’ house was used as a hospital during the battle.  The area became known as Cookston, and later was a popular summer resort.  In 1830 William was elected to the Legislative Assembly of Upper Canada for Lincoln Riding.  He purchased various town lots in York (Toronto) but never lived there.   He owned 7000 acres when he died.

On December the 1st, 1808, in Newark, William married Mary Butler, the daughter of John H Butler and Ann Clement, and granddaughter of Colonel John Butler an ardent Loyalist in the Revolutionary War and leader of Butler’s Rangers.  Mary was born in May of 1781 at Butlerbury, New York, and, after William died, she moved the family to St. Ann’s, Nelson Township, Halton County, Canada West, where she died on the 30th of December, 1851, aged 70.  She is also buried at St. Andrew’s.  Mary’s grandmother was part Native American.  Soon after their marriage the couple moved to Grimsby where William bought the “Green Mill” and also opened a general store.  He was a Justice of the Peace, and was elected as Postmaster of Grimsby in the year 1816.

 In the Gazette and Oracle (of York – now Toronto) of October 11th, 1797, there appeared this advertisement, which did not look strange for the time: “Wanted to purchase a Negro girl from seven to twelve years of age, of good disposition.  For further particulars apply to the subscribers W. and J. Crooks, West Niagara”.

 In St Andrew’s Church, Grimsby, there is a section of tombs and flat plates that are described as “Altar tombs in the William Crooks lot, William Crooks (Altar Tomb) Mary Butler Crooks his Wife (Altar Tomb). Ann Crooks, Daughter (Slab) 1817-1823. Thomas Butler Crooks (Altar) 1816-1838. Mary Elizabeth (Altar) 1828-1847. James Ramsay

William and Mary (Butler) Crooks had thirteen children, all born in Grimsby:  The eldest was William Crooks Jr. who was born in 1810, was baptized on May 20th, 1810, and died in 1864.  He is buried at St. Andrews, Grimsby.  Next was Johnson Crooks who was born in 1811 and died in 1812.  He is buried at St. Andrews.  James Ramsay Crooks was born on July 6th, 1812, in Grimsby, and was baptised on August the 9th, 1812, in Newark.  He died on October 4th, 1863, in Buffalo, New York.  He is buried at St. Andrews.  Walter Crooks was baptized on the 13th of July, 1815, and apparently died in infancy.

Thomas Butler Crooks was born on the 3rd of February, 1816, baptized on August the 20th, 1816, and died on the 8th of July, 1838.  He is buried at St. Andrews.  The first daughter of William and Mary was Ann Crooks who was born on May the 26th, 1817, baptized May 24th, 1817, and died on the 18th of August, 1823.  She is buried at St. Andrews.  She was followed by George Garden Crooks who was born on the 21st, of October, 1818, at St. Ann’s, Nelson Township, Halton County, and baptized on the 31st of January, 1819.  He died at Benton Harbour, (Berrien), Michigan, on the 14th of March, 1898.  On February the 13th, 1850, he married Margaret Mahala Smith who was born on the 12th of June, 1827, in Palermo, Trafalgar Township, Halton County, Ontario, and died on the 30th of October, 1908.  She was the daughter of Absalom Smith and Ann Mary “Polly” Beamer.

Francis Crooks was born on March the 28th, 1820, baptized on the 23rd of April, 1820, and died at Oakville, Ontario, on the 10th of September, 1883.  In about 1847 he married Margaret Campbell who was born about 1825.  He was a mariner.  The 1857 Ships Listing shows a Captain Crooks as master of the schooner Canadian that was built in Oakville in 1856.

The second daughter of William and Mary (Butler) was Margaret Crooks who was baptized on April 1st, 1823, and died on August the 27th, 1896, at Brantford, Ontario.  She married William Servos on the 1st of June, 1843, in the Gore District, York County, Ontario.  He was born on the 21st of October, 1821, in Barton Township, Wentworth County, Ontario, and died on June the 11th, 1897.  He was the son of Colonel Daniel Kerr Servos and Catherine Rousseau.  William was a bailiff and they had a boarding house in Hamilton, Ontario.

Andrew Matthew Crooks was christened on the 27th of September, 1824, in Grimsby, and died in Buffalo, New York, in 1895.  He married Mary Euretta Servos on January 7th, 1857.  Mary was born on September 5th, 1828, in Barton Township, Wentworth County, and died in Hamilton, Ontario, on February the 8th, 1906.  She was the daughter of Colonel Daniel Kerr Servos and Catherine Rousseau, and a brother to William above.

By the death of Andrew M. Crooks, whose funeral takes place today from his late home 123 Vermont Street, a man long familiar to many of the older residents of Buffalo has passed away. For 40 years he faithfully held his post in the hosiery department of the well known dry goods house of Flint & Kent, having entered first the service of Howard & Whitcomb, their predecessors. etc. He was the son of the Hon. William Crooks of Lincoln Co, Canada. In the year 1846 he came to Buffalo, where he has since resided. He married the daughter of Colonel Servos of Barton, ON in 1857.

 William and Mary (Butler) Crooks’ son Allen McCauley Crooks was born on the 25th of October, 1826, christened on December 26th, 1826, and died in Owen Sound, Ontario, on the 16th of April, 1883.  He married Jane Johnson on the 23rd of January, 1851, at St Ann’s, Nelson Township, Halton County, Ontario.  She was born on October the 6th, 1829, in Nelson Township, and died on May the 16th, 1887, at Rapid City, Manitoba.  Jane is buried at the Brandon (Manitoba) Cemetery.  She was the daughter of Neil Johnson and Jane Sinclair. 

Mary Elizabeth Crooks was born on August the 28th, 1827, in Grimsby, and died on the 6th of February, 1847, at St. Ann’s.  She is buried at St. Andrews Cemetery.  The youngest child of William and Mary was Johnson Alexander Crooks who was baptised on April 1st, 1830, and died on the 9th of April, 1832.

 The grandfather of Mary Butler was John Butler who was born in New London, Connecticut, in 1728, the son of Lieutenant Walter Butler and Deborah Dennis. His father was an officer in the British Army who had come to North America to participate in the expedition against Quebec in 1711. At the end of the campaign, his father was placed on half-pay, and settled in New London. His mother's ancestors had been in Connecticut for at least three generations.  At the outbreak of the Revolution, John moved to Montreal with the Indian Department and was dispatched to Niagara in November of 1775 to manage the department there. His eldest son, Walter, accompanied him, but his wife and the remaining children were held prisoners by the rebels.  John Butler led a strong detachment of Indians from Niagara at the Battle of Oriskany in August of 1777. His success during the battle led to the authorization to raise a Corps of Rangers to serve with the Indians on the frontiers. The Corps informally came to be known as Butler's Rangers.

James Crooks        Jane Cummings

 

The fourth child of William Crooks and Margaret Ramsay was the Honourable James Crooks who was born on the 14th of April, 1778, at Kilmarnock, and died on March 2nd, 1860, in Flamborough Township, Wentworth County, Canada West, of a “stroke of paralysis”.  He was buried in the family plot on a hill above Crooks’ Hollow (see below) along with his wife, son James, and daughter Frances, but in 1895 these graves were removed to the St. Andrew’s Cemetery in Grimsby to be under the Crooks monument that had been established by Jane Crooks. 

James left Greenock, Scotland, on the Neptune on the 19th of April, 1791, for Niagara.  When James arrived in the Niagara area he was in his early teens, and he joined his half-brother Francis who was operating a store in Fort Niagara.  By 1807 James had established his own store.  Brother William joined James and Francis and together they purchased several parcels of land along Spencer Creek in Flamborough Township, Wentworth County, Ontario, with the intention of building a grist-mill.  They began construction of the mill in 1811 but the War of 1812 broke out and James returned to Niagara where he became Captain in charge of the 1st Lincoln Regiment.  He was commended for his action at Queenston Heights where his brother William also served.  For his role with the Militia he was promoted to Colonel.  James was captured by the U. S. Navy but escaped back to Newark where he found his house had been destroyed. 

With nothing to keep him at Niagara he returned to Flamborough and completed his mill in 1813, which he named Darnley Mill after his Scottish hero Lord Darnley (Mary Queen of Scots’ 2nd husband, and reportedly an ancestor).  This site became known as “Crooks’ Hollow”.  He built his new house on the Galt Highway overlooking the Hollow.  The area had its industrial beginning when Jonathon Morden built a sawmill on Spencer Creek in 1801.  James built a new dam and sluice for his mill, and began to add other industrial facilities.  By 1829 the site had become very large (over 6000 acres) and included a distillery, linseed oil mill, cooperage, tannery, woollen mill, card clothing factory, foundry, agricultural machinery factory, paper mill (the first in Upper Canada), log cabins for the workers, a general store, and an inn.  At its peak over 100 men were working at the site, and 2700 head of cattle were feeding on the waste mash from the distillery.  Even by today’s standards it was an astounding industrial complex.  The mill operated until 1934 when it was gutted by fire.  The other industries had gradually shut down after the railways bypassed the village in the mid 19th century.  Although little remains of the original buildings, the site has been under the protection of the Hamilton Region Conservation Authority, and tours are conducted.  The first all-Canadian book was published in 1830 on paper from the Crooks paper mill.

 


The Darnley Mill


    James Crooks was also responsible for the founding of the town of Hastings on the Trent River in Northumberland East, (an electoral district in Ontario).  He built a grist-mill and a sawmill in 1827 on the Trent at a rapids.  The area became known as “Crook’s Rapids”, but after James sold it in 1851 it was renamed Hastings.  He surveyed the town in 1839 and laid out lots, but very few had been occupied when he sold the property

James became a member of the Legislative Assembly of Upper Canada in 1821, and held that position until 1831 when he was appointed Legislative Councillor for the United Canadas.  At one time he owned the land that is the site of Fort Mississauga, and he was traded other land for it, which consisted of four city blocks in what is now Niagara-on-the-Lake, and where St. Mark’s Church, St. Vincent DePaul Church, and the Town Park are located.

On the 8th of December, 1808, James married Jane Cummings who was born at Chippawa, Stamford Township, Welland County, Upper Canada, on the 24th of July, 1791, and who died on May the 12th, 1861, in Flamborough Township.  She was the daughter of Thomas Cummings a former member of Butler’s rangers.  She received a land grant of 400 acres as the daughter of a United Empire Loyalist on March 3rd, 1809.

 

James and Jane (Cummings) had twelve children.  Their first born was Jane Eliza Crooks who was born on December 12th, 1809, at Flamborough, and died in July of 1861.  She married the Right Reverend Alexander Neil Bethune on the 17th of April, 1827, in Flamborough Township.  He was born on August 20th, 1800, at Williamstown, Ontario, and died on February 3rd, 1879, in Toronto, Ontario.  He was the son of Reverend John Bethune and Veronica Wadden, and was the second Anglican Bishop of Toronto.


Alexander Neil Bethune

    “The Right Reverend Alexander Neil Bethune, D.D., D.C.L., second Bishop of Toronto, was the fifth son of the Rev. John Bethune, the first Presbyterian minister in Canada. The family was a large one, consisting of six sons and three daughters. The family was of Scottish origin, and settled in Canada with the devoted band of U. E. Loyalists in 1783. The late Bishop was born at Williamstown, in the County of Glengarry, Ontario, towards the end of August, 1800, and survived all his brothers and sisters. Educated at the Cornwall Grammar School there, he studied under Dr. Strachan. He was the youngest and, for some years before he died, the only surviving pupil of the rev. doctor. The war of 1812 broke up the school, and young Bethune left Cornwall to join his family in Montreal, where his early training was continued.

At the invitation of General Brock, Dr. Strachan had removed to York (Toronto), and, as soon as peace was restored, Mr. Bethune joined him, acting as classical tutor in the school, and also studying divinity under his old master. In 1823, he was admitted to deacon’s orders, and in 1824 ordained priest by Bishop Mountain, of Quebec. After a few years spent at Grimsby, Mr. Bethune was appointed rector of Cobourg, then called Hamilton, the chief town of the Newcastle District. At that time the neighbourhood was in course of settlement, and the young rector’s work was by no means confined within the limits of St. Peter’s parish. Every minister of the Church was then a missionary also, with a wide sphere of labour. Mr. Bethune threw all his energies into the work, and toiled on for forty years there with great zeal and devotion. In 1847, the rector was appointed Archdeacon of York, still holding his Cobourg charge. It may be remarked that the right of succession at Dr. Strachan’s death was secured to him on his appointment. He died at Toronto early in February, 1879. Those who only saw Bishop Bethune during his declining years can form little conception of his earlier labors.

Dr. Bethune was connected by marriage with another Scottish family, having married a daughter of the Hon. James Crooks, by whom he had ten children, three of whom died young. Of the rest, the best known is the Rev. Charles James Stewart Bethune, M.A., Head Master of Trinity College School, Port Hope, who has gained a high reputation in America and Great Britain as a practical entomologist.  The others were: John James Bethune who graduated form Trinity College, Toronto, Frederick Alexander Bethune who also graduated from Trinity College and was an Assistant Master Trinity College School (he died at Cannes, France January 20, 1877), Veronica Frances Bethune the wife of Canon Stennet, Rector of St. Peter’s Church, Coburgh, Ontario, and Robert H Bethune a cashier at the Dominion Bank in Toronto.”

Jane Eliza was followed by James Crooks Jr. who was born on the 24th of March, 1811, and died on April the 16th, 1841.  He married Eleanor “Ellen” Dickie on the 13th of June, 1836, in Flamborough Township.  She was born on July 13th, 1816, in West Flamborough, and died there on December 21st, 1884.  She was the daughter of John Dickie.  James was buried in the Crooks’ family cemetery overlooking Crooks Hollow, but was later moved to the Crooks’ monument at St. Andrew’s in Grimsby.

Thomas Crooks, the third child of James and Jane, was born on the 12th of July, 1813, and died on February the 29th, 1888.  He married Emma Holmwood on the 7th of June, 1836, at Ancaster, Ontario.  She was born about 1813 in Sussex, England, the daughter of John Stephens Holmwood and Leah Hopkins.  She died on December 18th, 1877, in Ontario.  She immigrated to Canada with her family in 1832.

 

                                 Mary Margaret (Crooks) Ewart

 Then came Mary Margaret Crooks who was born on the 20th of October, 1814, and baptised on the 28th of October, 1814.  She died on October 23rd,1876.  She married James Bell Ewart on May the 23rd, 1832, in Flamborough Township.  He was born on September 13th, 1801, in Dulwich, Surrey, England, and died on December 17th, 1853, in Dundas, Ontario.  He was buried at Crooks Hollow.  James arrived in Niagara-on-the-Lake in 1817 and was employed in a mercantile company.  In 1820 he opened a general store in Dundas, Ontario, but did not move there until 1825 when he bought the Dundas Mills.  He continued to buy or build mills, a cooperage, a foundry, a distillery, and he formed a bank.  He became president of the Commercial Bank of Midland District.  A major land development of his was the formation of the village of Bell Ewart.  He was a Justice of the Peace, and involved in Dundas politics.  By 1845 he was worth ₤100,000, but at his death he had lost much due to fires in two mills and the foundry, as well as the collapse of the wheat market.  His estate was besieged by creditors.

The fifth child was Robert Pilkington Crooks who was born on August the 3rd, 1817, in Flamborough West Township, Wentworth County, and died in 1866.  He married Louisa Fisher on July 20th, 1843.  She was born in 1821 in Quebec, and died on June 10th, 1908, in Toronto, Ontario.  He also is said to have married Harriet Cooper, but her dates do not fit. The sixth child was Ellen Crooks who was born on the 22nd of August, 1819, at Flamborough, and died on September the 24th, 1824.

 

                  Frances Crooks


    The seventh child of James Crooks was Frances Crooks who was born on the 11th of September, 1821, and died in Toronto on the 28th of January, 1895.  She was buried in Flamborough at the Crooks’ cemetery but was moved to St. Andrew’s in Grimsby.  Next was Alexander Burns Crooks who was born September 23rd, 1823, in Flamborough, and died on the 27th of November, 1859

David William Crooks was born in West Flamborough Township on September 9th, 1825, and died on August 21st, 1870.  On September 27th, 1860, he married Grace Weir who was born about 1840.

                  

 Adam Crooks

                

    The most famous of the children of James and Jane (Cummings) Crooks was Adam Crooks who was born in Flamborough County on December the 11th, 1827.  At the age of 12 he attended Upper Canada College, then went to King’s College (now the University of Toronto) receiving a BA in 1845, and then he studied law.  He was called to the bar in 1851, was Senior Partner of Crooks, Kingsmill and Cattanach, and became Queens Counsel in 1863.  Adam was Vice-Chancellor of the University of Toronto from 1864 to 1873.  He was elected as a Liberal member of the Legislative Assembly of   Ontario representing Toronto West from 1871 to 1875, becoming Attorney-General in 1871, and Provincial Treasurer 1872-1877.  Adam was elected as Member of the Legislative Assembly for Oxford South from 1875 to 1883.  In 1876 he was Minister of Education and was involved in a serious controversy over his concessions to the Catholic hierarchy in removing passages from Collier’s school history of England and discarding one of Sir Walter Scott’s poems that the hierarchy found obnoxious.  He took all the pressure for these actions even though he was only following party policy.  Adam resigned as Minister of Education in 1883 after being judicially declared insane, and died on the 28th of December, 1885, at a private asylum in Hartford, Connecticut.  On December the 4th, 1856, he married Emily Anne Crookshank Evans the youngest daughter of General Thomas Evans of Montreal (of Lundy’s Lane fame) and Harriet Lawrence Ogden.  Emily was born on March 19th, 1827, in Tipperary, Ireland, and died at Toronto in 1868.

    There were three more children of James and Jane but little is known about any of them. Charles Crooks was born May 31st, 1830, at Flamborough, and died on the 4th of May, 1851.  Archibald Crooks born February the 25th, 1835, at Flamborough, and died on December 17th, 1886, in York County, Ontario. There was possibly another child that died at age 5.

The Homestead circa 1880
The West Flamborough Home of James Crooks


Commemorative Stamp
The Lord Nelson as Scourge

James Crooks was a partner with his brother William in the ownership of the Lord Nelson.  This ship was 110 tons, and was launched on May the 1st, 1811 (started in October of 1810) having been built by John McFarlane at Newark (Niagara-on-the-Lake).  The shipwright was Asa Stanard.  The Lord Nelson was purchased by the brothers to ship wheat and the flour from their mill in Upper Canada to Montreal, and they were the first to do this.  The ship (captained by John Johnson of Jefferson County, New York) was captured by the Americans on June 5th, 1812, two weeks before the War of 1812 was declared, (on the pretext that it was breaking an embargo of carrying U.S. goods to Canada).  The ship was then fitted out with guns and entered the U. S. Navy as the “Scourge”.  It sank in a storm near Hamilton, Upper Canada, in August of 1813 along with a sister ship the Hamilton.  The wrecks were discovered in 1972, and ownership was passed to the Canadian Government who declared it a protected site in 1976.  It was later the subject of many articles (National Geographic of March, 1983, Canadian Geographic Feb/Mar 1983, etc.).  In 1817 the U. S. courts awarded the Crooks $2999.25 (the US Navy evaluation) compensation for illegal seizure, but the court clerk absconded with the money.  In 1928 the true value of the ship was placed at $5000.00 and the Crooks were finally paid $24,000.00 ($5000 plus 4% annual interest), but if properly compounded the value would have been close to a million dollars.  After expenses there was about $15,000 to be split amongst 25 descendants.  

Painting by C H J Snyder of the Lord Nelson being captured by the American

brig Oneida on June 5 1812, two weeks before the war of 1812 was declared.


Jane Crooks, a daughter of William and Margaret (Ramsay) Crooks, was born on the 27th of December, 1779, in Kilmarnock, and died on July the 19th, 1843, in Barton Township, Wentworth County, Canada West.  She married Lieutenant William Bruce Proctor (of the New Brunswick Fencibles) on the 11th of December, 1807, at St. Mark’s Church in Newark, Upper Canada.  He was born on December the 29th, 1777, in Old Ship, New York, and died on June 26th, 1854, in Wentworth County, Ontario.  He was the son of Richard Proctor and Anne Gregory, and the brother of General Henry Proctor who was with General Brock    They had three children: Ramsay Stewart Proctor was born on the 15th of August, 1818, and died on April 7th, 1883, in Wentworth County.  He is buried at St. Peter’s, Barton Township.  He married Isabelle Rousseau on the 11th of July, 1844.  She was born in Upper Canada on November the 19th, 1824, the daughter of Major Joseph Brant Rousseau and Margaret Davis.  William Henry Proctor was born in Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island on October 22nd, 1809, and died on May 1st, 1887, in Wentworth County, Ontario.  On October 29th, 1874, as a second marriage, he married the widow Mary (Tremblay) Fink who was born about 1826, the daughter of Joseph and Mary Tremblay.  A Henry Proctor is mentioned as having been born in Charlottetown on March 14th, 1814. 

The next child of William Crooks and Margaret Ramsay was Anne Crooks who was born on the 30th of September, 1781, in Kilmarnock, and died on August the 17th, 1823, in Grimsby, Ontario.  The seventh child was Helen Crooks who was born on January the 14th, 1784, in Kilmarnock, and died in Grimsby on April 23rd, 1813.  She is buried at St. Andrew’s Cemetery in Grimsby, Ontario. 

 

Helen Crooks

 Francis Crooks was born in 1782 in Scotland and died on May 13th, 1845. in Ontario.  He married Mary Stagg (daughter of Richard Stagg) on April the 6th, 1806, in the Niagara District.  She was born in 1786 in Niagara, Ontario, and died in Beamsville, Ontario, on February 24th, 1845.  In 1807 Francis and Mary moved to Grimsby, Upper Canada, and opened the first general store in Grimsby.  Francis is credited with building the first “merchant” ship on the Great Lakes.  It was named the York (66 tons, built in 1792) and in 1799 it was wrecked at the mouth of the Genesee River near the present city of Rochester, New York.  Their home in Grimsby was on the site of what later became the Village Inn.  Francis died at his daughter Mary Sumner’s home in Beamsville, and his funeral was on May 13th, 1845.  Francis was a member of the Masonic Lodge.  He is buried in the family plot at St. Andrew’s Church in Grimsby.  Francis was with the Upper Canada Militia in the War of 1812, but it is not known if he saw any action.

The first child of Francis and Mary (Stagg) Crooks was Francis Crooks Jr. who was born and died in 1808, and is buried at St. Andrew’s.  His sister Mary Catherine Crooks, was born in about 1810, and died in Lincoln County, Ontario, in 1844.  She married Vernal Sumner on September 5th, 1835.  He was born in Beamsville, Upper Canada, in July of 1806, and died in 1839, probably in Grimsby.  Vernal was the son of Dr. Cyrus (Cyrenus) Sumner (born October 20, 1772, New London, Connecticut) and Mary Bell (born Roxbury, Morris County, New Jersey, in 1784).  The third child was Francis Crooks III who was born in 1812, and died in 1813.  He also is buried at St. Andrews.

            The fourth child of Francis and Mary was Elizabeth “Eliza” Ann Crooks who was born on the 18th of August, 1814, and was living at Port Robinson (Thorold), Ontario, in February of 1875.  She married Alfred Arthur Moneypenny Garfield on the 13th of October, 1833, at Grimsby.  Alfred was born in New York City in June of 1807, and was killed in a railway accident at Niagara Falls on the 14th of July, 1861.  He was the son of John Garfield and Martha Whitney.  It should be noted that others say that Eliza married George Adam Darby on October 10th, 1833.

    Little is known about the next child Richard Crooks, and the only thing known about his brother William Crooks is that he married Miss Morrison.               

    Margaret Crooks married Dugald MacLauchlan who was a cashier at the New York stock exchange.  Charles Crooks was born on the 6th of June, 1830, in Brantford, and married Allison White of Woodstock, Upper Canada, on the 25th of May, 1865.  She was born in 1840 at Woodstock, and died there in January of 1871.  She was the daughter of David White and Margaret Vetch.  Lastly was Vernal Sumner Crooks who was born in 1833, and died on October the 29th, 1896.  On March 9th, 1858, he married Mary Jane Oliver who was born in Guelph, Upper Canada, in 1837, and died on May 19th, 1905.  She was the daughter of James and Sarah Oliver.  Vernal was a cabinet maker,

The ninth child of William and Margaret was John Crooks who was born at Kilmarnock on May the 3rd, 1785, and died on the 5th of June, 1786. The tent child was Ramsay as above.

Elizabeth Crooks, the 11th child, was born on April the 29th, 1789, at Greenock, and died at Yarmouth Township, Elgin County, Upper Canada, in May, of 1818.  On March 13th, 1800, in Ontario, she married Captain Joseph Smith who was born about 1779 and died on the 1st of February, 1840, at Port Stanley, Elgin County, Ontario.  Joseph was a foreman for the road builder Colonel Thomas Talbot and through Talbot’s influence with Upper Canada Lieutenant-Governor Francis Gore, Joseph was given several hundreds of acres of Crown Land in Yarmouth Township.   Elizabeth and Joseph are both buried in the Wintermute Cemetery which was part of his farm, and was donated by Joseph to be a cemetery.   Elizabeth was the first person to be buried in the Wintermute Cemetery.  The cemetery is on Highway #4 just north of Port Stanley, Ontario, which is on Lake Erie.

Their children were: William Smith was the first son of Elizabeth and Joseph, but. little is known about him.  Their second son Charles Joseph Smith, who predeceased his father, married Louisa Zavitz the daughter of Jesse Zavitz, and Hannah Harriet Haun on February 11th, 1857, in Yarmouth Township, Elgin County, Ontario.  Louisa was born in 1838, and died on the 16th of September, 1876, in Yarmouth Township.  She is buried in the Union Cemetery, Elgin County.  After Charles died Louisa married James Fawcett. Charles and Louisa had two children; Charles Joseph Smith, and Mary Josephine Smith.  . 

The second daughter of Elizabeth and Captain Smith was Jane Smith who was born in 1814 and died on the 13th of December, 1851.  She married James Begg in the Church of Scotland, Middlesex County, Ontario, on April the 18th, 1839.  He was born on September 12th, 1816, in Aberdeenshire, Scotland, and died on March the 5th, 1890, in Yarmouth Township, Elgin County, Ontario.  He is buried in the Wintermute Cemetery.  He was the son of George Begg and Isabel Smith.  Sarah Smith, the younger sister of Jane, was born on August the 30th, 1810, and died on January the 10th, 1881.  She is buried in the Union Cemetery, Yarmouth Township. She married John William Wintermute, the son of Benjamin Wintermute and Hannah Smith, on May 25th, 1830.  John was born about 1798 in Bertie Township, Welland County, Ontario, and died on September the 7th, 1879, at Fort Erie, Ontario.  The fifth child Mary Smith was born in April of 1817 and died on 27th of February, 1870. She married Bryce J Thompson who was born in September of 1803 and died on May 30th, 1872.  Both are buried in Wlntermute Cemetery.  Only one source for this information on Elizabeth Crooks has been found.

 The 12th child of William Crooks and Margaret Ramsay was Jennet Addison Crooks who was born in Greenock on June 2nd, 1791, and died on the 10th of May, 1843, in Ancaster, Canada West.  She married Captain John C. Secord of Niagara (a brother of Laura Secord the Canadian heroine of the War of 1812) on the 3rd of May, 1808, in Newark, Upper Canada.  He was born on the 6th of November, 1786, in Niagara Township, Lincoln County, Ontario, and died in Kensington, Canada West, on March the 7th, 1857.  He was the son of John Secord and Susannah Wartman.  Captain John was in the militia and served in the War of 1812. 

Jennet and John had ten children.   Margaret Brock Secord was born on the 2nd of August, 1808, and died on June the 28th, 1828, at Albion Mills, Barton Township, Wentworth County, Ontario.  Her brother John Ramsey Secord was born on September the 25th, 1810, and died on April 10th, 1826.  Mary Secord was born on the 26th of October, 1812, and died on the 29th of October 1812.  The fourth child Matthew Brock Secord was born on February the 19th. 1814, and died in Wentworth County on November 3rd, 1892.  On July 3rd, 1836, he married Margaret Ann Servos the daughter of Colonel Daniel Kerr Servos and Catherine Rousseau, and a sister of William above.  Margaret Ann was born on February 23rd, 1819, and died on November 25th, 1877.

The fifth child William Crooks Secord was born on the 22nd of March, 1816, and died on April 12th, 1860.  On October 29th, 1856, he married Mary Jane Parish who was born about 1838 in New Brunswick, the daughter of Solomon and Elizabeth Parish.  His brother Elijah Wartman Secord was born on February the 17th, 1818, and died on February 25th, 1891, in Middlesex County, Ontario.  He married Sarah Augusta Culloden at Oakville, Canada West, (at the home of her father) on February the 1st, 1843.  Sarah was born on March 13th, 1821, in Blessington, County Wicklow, Ireland, and died on May 7th, 1906, in Acton, Ontario.  She was the daughter of Captain Laurence P Culloden and Anna Eliza Eager.  After their marriage they lived in Hamilton, Ontario, but after Elijah died, Sarah moved to Acton, where she opened a general store.  The first store was destroyed by fire, but she rebuilt.  She was very religious and held the first Church of England services in her home.  Eventually this led to the building of St Alban’s Church in Acton.

             Jennet (Secord) Hatt Thomas Collyer Hatt

 The seventh child of Jennet and John was Jennet Secord who was born on the 1st of January, 1820, in Wentworth County, and died there on the 3rd of August, 1881.  She married Thomas Collyer Hatt on November the 26th, 1845.  He was born on the 12th of April, 1816, at Dundas, Upper Canada, and died there on June 26th, 1885.  He was the son of Richard Hatt and Mary Cooley.  Jennet and Thomas are buried at St. John’s Cemetery in Ancaster, Ontario.


Jennet (Secord) Hatt

    

    George Small Secord was born on March the 21st, 1822, and died in Middlesex County, Ontario, on March 8th, 1860.  On June 6th, 1854, he married Jessie Grant who was born in Inverness, Scotland in 1837, and died on November 20th, 1897, in Middlesex County.  George was a member of the first Ontario Parliament from 1867 to 1871, representing the electoral district of Monck in Lincoln County.  The next child Nathan Secord was born and died in 1824. Arabella Ramsay Secord was born on the 5th of February, 1828, and died on July 16th, 1891.  On February 2nd, 1854, she married John William Brennan.  He was born on June 3rd, 1826, and died on October 18th, 1895.

 The 13th child of William Crooks and Margaret Ramsay was Matthew (Mathew) Hale Crooks who was born on the 8th of March, 1793, in Middle (or New) Parish, Greenock, Scotland, and died in Ancaster Township, Wentworth County, Canada West, on the 10th of May, 1856.  He was baptized on the 10th of March, 1793, at the Presbyterian Church in Greenock.  He was buried in Ancaster Township but later was moved to the Crooks plot in Grimsby.  Matthew left Scotland on the 26th of June, 1805, on the Neptune and joined his brothers Francis, William, and James in Niagara Township, but he later moved to Ancaster Township where he was the first Township Clerk, and where he owned “The Red Mill”.  His land grant was dated January 24, 1821.  He went into bankruptcy and lost all his possessions.  He sold 4000 acres and the mill on March the 10th, 1827, and had a second sale at the Court House in Hamilton, Ontario, on the 12th of July, 1827.  He was a Lieutenant in the 4th Regiment of the Lincoln Militia in 1814, and in 1828 he was a Captain in the 1st Regiment of the Gore Militia.  Matthew had a schooner the Britannia of 120 tons built by Roberts.   On the 3rd of May, 1815, he married Margaret Augusta Thompson Butler, the daughter of Andrew Butler (born at Butlerbury, a son of Colonel John Butler and Mary Ann Clement).  Margaret was born on the 30th of July, 1800, in Niagara Township, Lincoln County, Ontario, and was baptised at St. Andrew’s Church, Niagara, on the 17th of August, 1800.  She died in Toronto, Ontario, on the 12th of January, 1875.  She was given a land grant as a Loyalist on the 24th of January, 1821.

Matthew and Margaret had twelve children.  Anne Crooks was born on the 23rd of December, 1816, in Ancaster Township, Wentworth County.  On February the 3rd, 1836, in Ancaster Township, she married John Holmwood who was born about 1816 in West Flamborough.  Her sister Helen Crooks was born on September 14th, 1821, and died in 1863. She married George Rousseau Newton on the 25th, of October, 1848, at her parent’s home in Ancaster Township.  Elizabeth Crooks was born in Ancaster Township in 1818, and died on the 29th of May, 1872.  She married James Abraham Cooley on the 24th of December, 1839.  He was born in 1815 in Ancaster Township, and died in 1871.  He was the son of Preserved Cooley and Catherine Applegarth.  Their children were: James Cooley (1848), and Gennett M Cooley. (1850).

The fourth child of Matthew and Margaret was Robert Notman Crooks who was born in Ancaster Township in 1823, and died on the 30th of June, 1898, in Hamilton, Ontario.  He later lived in Parry Sound, Ontario.  He married Margaret Victoria Urquhart about 1858 at Ancaster.  Victoria was the daughter of John Robertson Urquhart and Mary Falconer (Faulkner), and was born on the 10th of February, 1838, in Chippawa, Niagara District, and died on December the 1st, 1915, in Dundas, Wentworth County.  Robert and Margaret had four children all of whom were born in Ancaster:  Alexander “Alex” Crooks was born on October 16th, 1859, and died on March the 7th, 1922, in Dundas, Wentworth County.  He married Martha Lawrence on the 8th of February, 1888, in Ancaster Township.  She was born on May the 10th, 1870 in Collingwood, Ontario, and died murdered by thieves in her Parkdale, Toronto, boarding house (See press clippings) on the 25th of January, 1924. She was the daughter of James and Elizabeth Lawrence. 

 The Recorder, Gore Bay, Thursday, January 31, 1924

Maniac Murders Toronto Woman
Toronto, Jan. 26th-(By Canadian Press)-Mrs. Martha Crooks, age 52 a widow, was beaten to death in her home yesterday, it is believed by a maniac who is still at large. Mrs. Crooks was struck on the head with two hammers until her skull was battered in. Her body was then rolled in a sheet and a blanket thrown over it. The murderer then set in to loot the house, ransacking every room and stealing a purse of money before he fled. The police are working on the theory that Mrs. Crooks was slain by an insane man, believed to be the same criminal who entered another Parkdale home recently and hammered a woman over the head with a wrench.

 Sudbury Star

The news of the death of Mrs. Martha Crooks of Parkdale, which came to hand on Friday was a shock to many people in this vicinity.  Mrs. Crooks, with her late husband Mr. Alexander Crooks, of Dundas, Ontario, was in the habit of spending their summers on Western Manitoulin, the latter being a full cousin of Messrs. John, William, Charles and A. I. Kemp of Silverwater. Mr. Crooks predeceasd the late Mrs. Crooks about two years ago. Mrs. Crooks, who kept a rooming house on Jamieson Ave., Parkdale, apparently was alone in her home, when in some manner the murderer gained entrance and supposedly while Mrs. Crooks was engaged at the telephone struck her on the head with a hammer, and belaboured her with the weapon until life was extinct.


The other three children of Robert and Margaret (Urquhart) Crooks were Mary Frances Crooks who was born in 1862 in Ancaster, and on May 26th, 1889, at Dundas, Ontario, married Jerome O’Neil.  He was the son of Harry O’Neil and Hanna Teresa Wall.  John William Crooks who was born in 1866, and died in Hamilton. Wentworth County, on May 24th, 1907.  On November 4th, 1891, in Wentworth County, he married Jennie Reay who was born in July of 1872, in Benlick Township, Grey County, Ontario.  She was the daughter of Thomas and Isabella Reay.  Lastly, James Crooks who was born in 1869 in Ancaster.  On September 4th, 1908, in Dundas, James married Agnes Lena May Jackson who was born in October of 1887, in England.  In 1906 she arrived in Canada with her parents William Jackson and Emma Webb.

 The fifth child of Matthew and Margaret (Butler) Crooks was Catalina (Catelyna) Crooks who was born on the 27th of October, 1827, in Ancaster Township, and died on May the 24th, 1848, in Beverly Township, Wentworth County, Ontario, on the birth of her daughter.  She married, in Ancaster Township, David Cooley the son of Preserved Cooley and Catherine Applegarth.  He was a brother of James Alexander Cooley who married Elizabeth Crooks above.  David was born on April the 11th, 1823, in Ancaster Township, and died at Omemee, Victoria County, Ontario, on May the 12th, 1892, and is buried in Emilie Cemetery, Emilie Township, Victoria County.  On February 25th, 1855, David married Ann Lowes.  Catalina and David had one child Margaret Jennetta Cooley who was born on May 24th, 1848 in Beverly Township, Wentworth County, Ontario, and died on October the 9th, 1892, in Winnipeg, Manitoba, and is buried at Carberry, Manitoba.  She married Michael Lowes.  He was born on the 16th of October, 1841 in Victoria County, moved to Carberry, Manitoba, where he was a farmer, and died on May the 7th, 1920, at Portage La Prairie, Manitoba.   There is also a registration of a marriage of Catalina Crooks being married to Thomas Falconer in Ancaster Township on October the 28th, 1846, with Matthew Crooks as a witness along with John Holmwood.  In the obituary (Minto  Journal,  Minto,  North Dakota)  of Thomas Falconer his wife is referred to as Catalina Crooks.  Probably a different person, but some researchers think this is the daughter of Matthew Crooks and Mary Butler.  There is also a record of Catelyna Crooks being born in Ancaster Township on October the 27th, 1827, and dying in Kinloss Township, Bruce County, Ontario on the 19th of October, 1871.  This is the same person as Catalina Crooks who married Thomas Falconer.  It is difficult to decide which scenario is correct.

The sixth child, Arthur Crooks, was born on the 14th of January, 1829, in Ancaster Township, and died of Bright’s Disease in Detroit, Michigan, on the 6th of September, 1883.  He is buried at the Woodmere Cemetery in Detroit.  In Ancaster he was a Bailiff.    On the 24th of October, 1853, in Ancaster Township, he married Mary Margaret Urquhart, the daughter of John Urquhart and Mary Faulkner, and sister of Margaret Victoria who married Robert Notman Crooks above.  Mary was born on August the 11th, 1824, in Inverness, Scotland, and died on the 29th of January, 1912, in Detroit.  She is also buried in the Woodmere Cemetery.  The children of Arthur and Mary (Urquhart) were: Mary Margaret Crooks who was born on the 22nd of September, 1854, in Brantford, Ontario, and died in Detroit on November 30, 1923.  On December 20th, 1875, in Hamilton, Ontario, she married William Charles Baxter who was born on August 10, 1849, in Bertie Township, Welland County, Ontario, and died on the 31st of July, 1926, in Detroit.  He was the son of James Newton Baxter and Lydia Sherk.

 

         Ellen Crooks   Thomas Alfred Galloway

 

The next child of Arthur and Mary (Urquhart) was Ellen Crooks who was born in Ancaster on February the 9th, 1856, and died at Harrison, Michigan, on December 14, 1893.  She married Thomas Alfred Galloway at St. John’s Anglican Church in Ancaster on the 26th of November, 1873.  She reportedly had been previously married, but she was 17 when she married Thomas.  Thomas was born in 1852 and died on July 22nd, 1914, at Plymouth, Michigan.  He was the son of James and Sarah Jane Galloway.  Ellen’s sister Anna Crooks was born about 1858 in Ancaster, and married William Wetherell on the 9th of February, 1881, at her father’s home in Detroit, Michigan.  William was born about 1854 in Ontario, the son of James Solomon Wetherell and Sarah Jane Hilts.  The next child George Notman Crooks was born on the 28th of February, 1860, in Ancaster Village, and died in Hazel Park, Michigan, in January of 1941.  He married Louise Girth, on the 9th of January, 1884, in Detroit.  She was born in May of 1866 in Canada.  Rachael Crooks, a daughter of Arthur and Mary, was born about 1861 and married a dentist, William John Burrows, at Windsor, Ontario, on the 30th of May, 1888.  He was born on April 22nd, 1866, in Houghton, Michigan, and died in Detroit on September 4th, 1926.  He was the son of Cornelius W Burrows and Mary Anne Williams.  Arthur Crooks Jr. was born April 12th, 1861, at Ancaster, and died on September the 9th, 1870, in Ancaster Township.  Catalina Crooks was born on March 26, 1866, at Ancaster, and died there on September 8, 1869, of tuberculosis.  Mellisa (Mallisa) Crooks was born on the 9th of January, 1869, and died on October 10, 1869 of tuberculosis.

 

Coleana Elizabeth (Crooks) Jeffery

 Coleana “Clara” Elizabeth Crooks, a child of Arthur and Mary (Urquhart), was born on the 12th of October, 1875, in Ancaster Township, and died about 1930 in Roselawn, Indiana.  She married Pervis Roland Jeffery in Detroit on June 1st, 1892. He was born on the 19th of March, 1872, in Leamington, Ontario.

 


  Walter Henry Crooks   Emma Birdie Graffa


Walter Henry “Harry” Crooks, the youngest son of Arthur and Mary (Urquhart) was born in June of 1871, and died on April 23rd, 1935, in Detroit, Michigan.  On December 24th, 1903, in Detroit, he married Emma Birdie Graffa who was born on October the 15th, 1881, in Berlin, Germany, and died in Detroit on January 2nd, 1933.  Harry was a deputy sheriff of Wayne County, Michigan.  

Janet Ramsay Crooks, a daughter of Matthew and Margaret (Butler), was born in 1830, and died on June the 23rd, 1846.  Her brother Peter H. T. Crooks was born about 1832 and died on November 4th, 1912, in Brant County, Ontario.  He married Welthy Ann Crooks who was born in 1838 in Nova Scotia, and died in Brant County on February 4th, 1899.   The 11th child of Arthur and Margaret (Butler) was Matthew A Crooks Jr. who was born on July the 1st, 1836, in Ancaster Township, and died on the 30th of March, 1908, in Saranac, Michigan.  He was a shoemaker, and a Captain in the Salvation Army in Owosso, Michigan.  He married Sarah Amelia Meyers in 1849 in the village of Lancaster, Ontario.  She was born on August 11, 1837, in Hamilton, Ontario, and died on the 23rd, of January, 1923, in Lansing, Michigan.  They were living in Saranac, Ionia County, Michigan in 1880.  Mathew Jr and Sarah Amelia had nine children:


Mary Margaret Crooks    Levi Alexander Whitham

 

The first child of Matthew Jr and Sarah (Meyers) was Mary Margaret “Maggie” Crooks who was born on the 9th of October, 1857, in Lancaster, Ontario, and died on the 28th of December, 1926, in Muskegon, Michigan.  On the 18th of August, 1875, at Saranac, Michigan, she married Levi Alexander Whitham.  He was born on July 14th, 1856, in Clair County, Michigan, and died at Muskegon, Michigan, on the 5th of November, 1941.  He was the son of Joseph G and Elizabeth Whitham.

 

Helen Angeline (Crooks) Havens   Andrew J Havens

 The second child was Helen Angeline Crooks who was born on the 12th of October, 1859, in Lancaster, and died in Jackson County, Michigan, in 1950.  She married Andrew J Havens in Ionia County, Michigan, on September 19th, 1877.  He was born December 13th, 1856, in Ohio, and died on May 20th, 1939, in Jackson, Jackson County, Michigan.  He was the son of George B Havens and Sylvia Bailey.

   David Matthew Crooks        Clarissa Hull


Thirdly came David Mathew Crooks who was born in Lancaster on September 5, 1861, and died in Muskegon, Michigan, on the 16th of November, 1920.  In 1886 he married Clarissa Hull who was born in England on December 25th, 1861, and died at Muskegon on the 15th of October, 1952.  She was adopted in Canada by John Hull and Catherine Niles.  Others say she was born in Ireland and adopted in Michigan having arrived on an “orphan train”.


David Matthew Crooks and Family

 

            Matthew Junior’s fourth child was William George Crooks who was born on November 5, 1863, in Mount Vernon, Michigan, and died on the 12th of November, 1889, at Lowell, Michigan, by drowning while skating on thin ice.  His sister Alice Eleanor Crooks was born on the 12th of May, 1866, in West Flamborough, and on the 18th of October, 1882, she married William H. Kaltenback, in Saranac, Michigan.  He was born about 1866 and died in Owasso, Michigan, in 1957.  Then came Elizabeth Crooks who was born in Brantford, Ontario, on October 17th, 1868, and died on the 6th of November, 1889.  On February 24th, 1889, at Lowell, Michigan, she married William Young.  He was born in 1866 in Tuscola County, Michigan.  The next child, Belle Crooks, was born on the 17th of August, 1870, in Ionia, Michigan, and married Conrad Mehlenbacker Jr. on December 23rd, 1893.  He was born on December 21st, 1852, in Wayland, New York, and died on February 19th, 1939, in Catlin, Illinois.  He was the son of Conrad Mehlenbacker Sr. and Catherine Smith.  Another son of Matthew Jr. and Sarah (Meyers) was Edwin Darling Crooks who was born August the 16th, 1873, in Ionia County, Michigan, and died on August 3rd, 1916, at Balfour, North Dakota, in a tornado when he ran into the barn instead of the shelter.  On July 3rd, 1895, in Michigan, he married Mary Marilla Cords, who was born in Michigan in October of 1876.  The youngest daughter of Matthew Crooks Jr. and Sarah Meyers was Ella (Lulu) May Crooks who was born on March the 13th, 1876, in Ionia County, and died on the 13th of March, 1918, at Owosso, Michigan.  She married Charles Hollinworth on December 22nd, 1892, in Detroit, Michigan.  He was born about 1870 in Canada, the son of Peter Hollinworth and Jane Stewart.  On November 22nd, 1902, in Windsor, Ontario, Lulu married Herbert James Dixon who was born in 1874 in Ontario, the son of James Dixon and Maria Baynton.   On April 27th, 1909, in Owosso she married Mikelo “Mike” Angelo, a shoemaker, who was born about 1874 the son of Nicholas Angelo and Mary Firegale. 

Lulu May (Crooks) Angelo

 

The last three children of Matthew Sr. and Margaret (Butler) Crooks were: Harriet Margaret Crooks who was born on July 7, 1838, and possibly died in 1843.  David James Crooks who was born on the 26th of October, 1840.  Adam Armstrong Crooks who was born on September the 14th, 1843, in Brantford, Ontario, and married Elizabeth Coleman on the 27th of November, 1868, in Brantford, Ontario.  She was born in Ottawa, Ontario, in about 1845, the daughter of William and Ann Coleman.

 In a letter to Major-General William Alexander Logie (below), Margaret Plunkett (a Crooks researcher from Boston) says that her research has shown that Matthew and Margaret Crooks had raised a boy named Cameron, and in appreciation he named one of his sons “Matthew Crooks Cameron”.  This boy would appear to be John McAlpine Cameron of Inverness-shire who came to Canada in 1819, and married Charlotte Ross Webb on December the 1st, 1851.  He became deputy clerk of the Crown for Gore District.  John and Charlotte had three daughters and three sons; the youngest was named Matthew Crooks Cameron (later Sir Matthew).

 


Sir Matthew Crooks Cameron

From Wikipedia:

Sir Matthew Crooks Cameron, QC (2 October 1822 – 25 June 1887) was a lawyer, judge and politician in the Canadian province of Ontario.  He was born in Dundas in Upper Canada, during his studies at Upper Canada College, he lost one leg after a shooting accident. Cameron later articled in law, was called to the bar in 1849 and entered practice with William Henry Boulton in Toronto. In 1861, he was elected to the Legislative Assembly of the Province of Canada for North Ontario; he was defeated in 1863 but was elected in an 1864 by-election when the incumbent, William McDougall, was forced to run for reelection after he was named to the executive council. Cameron was opposed to Confederation, preferring a legislative union. In 1867, he ran unsuccessfully in Ontario North in the federal election but was elected for Toronto East to the provincial legislature.  He was created a QC on 27 March 1863, and elected a bencher of the Law Society of Upper Canada in April 1871.

Cameron entered the Cabinet of Premier John Sandfield Macdonald in 1867 as Provincial Secretary and Registrar of Ontario.  In 1871, he became Commissioner of Crown Lands. With the defeat of the Macdonald government in the provincial election that December, Cameron became leader of the Ontario Conservative Party, but stepped down in 1878 to became a judge. In 1887, he was created a Knight Bachelor shortly before his death.

     The youngest son of William Crooks and Margaret Ramsay was John Crooks who was born on the 21st of December, 1794, in Greenock, Inverclyde, Scotland, and died of scarlet fever on March 31st, 1833, at Newark (now Niagara-on-the-Lake), Upper Canada.  He is buried there in St. Andrew’s Church Cemetery, the first burial in that kirkyard.  He came to the Niagara District in 1803 with his widowed mother Margaret (Ramsay) Crooks.  He was postmaster at Newark, a merchant, a magistrate, and part-owner and publisher of the Niagara Herald.  John was left in charge of his brother James’ property when James fought in the War of 1812, and on June the 19th, 1813, during the burning of Newark, although an under-aged non-combatant, he was arrested by Major-General Dearborn of the American Army and was in the forced march to Albany, New York (350 miles in 57 days).  He was released on the 11th of December of that year and allowed to go home.  His house, which he built later, was originally on Johnson Street in Niagara-on-the-Lake, but it was moved to the corner of Queen and Simcoe Streets, and then to the corner of Queen and Victoria.  The house was finally moved to a site on Dorchester Street.  Family history reports that John Crooks would escort his family to St. Mark’s Episcopalian Church, and then he would proceed to St. Andrew’s Presbyterian Church where he was a presenter, and very involved in the running of the church.  His daughters erected a tablet to him in St. Andrew’s.  He married Mary Gumsby Lawrason on February the 9th, 1824, in London, Upper Canada; the minister was The Reverent Ralph Leeming of Ancaster Township, Wentworth County, Ontario.  Mary was born on October 6th, 1796, in Grimsby Township, Lincoln County, Ontario, and died at Hamilton, Ontario, on May 21st. 1862.  She was the daughter of Lawrence Lawrason and Rachael Petit, loyalists who immigrated to Canada from New Jersey.  John’s tombstone inscription reads “Sacred to the memory of John Crooks, died March 31, 1833, aged 36.  A native of Greenock, Scotland”.

 

Mary (Lawrason) Crooks

 

 

John Crooks – Monument

St. Andrew’s Church

Niagara-on-the-Lake

 

John Crooks’ Home – Niagara-on-the-Lake


John and Mary (Lawrason) Crooks had five children:

 


Hector and Margaret Ramsay (Crooks) Munro

 

The first child of John and Mary (Lawrason) was Margaret Ramsay Crooks who was born on the 31st of January, 1825, at Newark, and died at Hamilton, Ontario, on March the 28th, 1880.  She had a school in Niagara-on-the-Lake, and later in Hamilton.  She married Captain Hector Munro (R.C.R.) on the 2nd of April, 1846 (third wife).  Hector was born in Ross & Cromarty, Scotland, on November 23rd, 1796.  He came from an army family in that his father and two of his brothers were in the British Army.  In 1811, when he was 16 years old, he joined the British Army and was gazetted as an Ensign in the 89th Regiment.  He came with his regiment to Canada in 1813, and as a lieutenant in the 49th, Regiment he was at the Battle of Crysler’s Farm where he was wounded, cited for bravery and given a medal.  He was also at Plattsburgh and Lundy’s Lane.  He was a captain in the Southerland Militia.  He retired from the British Army and died in Galt, Ontario, on the 16th of July, 1867.  In Galt he was Surveyor of Customs.  He was previously married to Marjory Geddes and Janet Love Rae.  Hector was a prime mover in getting the monument for General Brock at Queenston, Ontario, and his name is on the monument.  In the scrapbook of Anna Barbara Logie there is a newspaper clipping recording the death in Maritzburgh, South Africa, on the 4th of December, 1889, of Annabella (Munro) Gem, the daughter of Hector Munro. 

 

Alexander and Mary Ritchie (Crooks) Logie

The second child of John Crooks and Mary Lawrason was Mary Ritchie Crooks who was born on the 21st of January, 1827, at Newark (now Niagara-on-the-Lake), Upper Canada, and died at Hamilton, Ontario, on the 8th of April, 1900.  She was named after Mary Ritchie, a friend of her mother and who later moved to Philadelphia.  Mary Ritchie Crooks was married to Alexander Logie by the Reverend D. McNee at West Flamborough, Canada West, on October the 27th, 1852.  Alexander Logie, the son of Major William Logie and Anne Smith, was born on the 16th of December, 1823, at Rosefield, Nairnshire, Scotland, and died on the 10th of December, 1873, at “Templands” (77 Markland Street) in Hamilton, Ontario.  Alexander immigrated to Kingston, Ontario, in 1823, with his parents, his sister Barbara, and half-sister Mary Logie.  He attended Upper Canada College and then Aberdeen University in Scotland.  He was called to the bar in 1847, and started his law career in the office of Sir John A. MacDonald in Kingston.  He moved to Hamilton, Ontario, where, in October of 1854, he was appointed Judge of Wentworth County.  He was an elder, trustee, and Sunday School teacher at St. Paul’s Presbyterian Church in Hamilton, and a city councillor from 1857 to 1860.

 

                              Mary Richie Crooks     Alexander Logie

 

The children of Alexander and Mary Ritchie (Crooks) Logie were:

 

Anna Barbara Logie

 

Anna Barbara Logie was born on the 18th of November, 1856, at Hamilton, and died on October the 12th, 1908.  The 1881 census shows her visiting Jane Hewitt Logie in Edinburgh, Scotland, with her aunt Mary Logie.  She kept a scrapbook of family affairs.

 

                            Thomas William Reynolds  Mary Lawrason Logie

 

The second daughter of Alexander and Mary was Mary Lawrason Logie who was born on July the 23rd, 1858, at Hamilton, and died on the 26th of May, 1938, in Brockville, Ontario.  She married Dr. Thomas William Reynolds on the 22nd of October, 1890, at “Templands”, Hamilton, Ontario.  Thomas William “Willy” Reynolds was born on the 6th of June, 1858, in Brockville, and died at Baltimore, Maryland, on June 9th, 1902.  He graduated in medicine from McGill University, Montreal, Quebec, in 1881.  At McGill he became a friend of Sir William Osler, and, some of his papers have been given to McGill’s Osler Library.  In the 1881 Canadian census, when William was 22, his occupation was listed as doctor. He started practicing in Hamilton, and in 1885 he was appointed to the Hamilton Asylum.  He moved to the Mimico Asylum (Ontario) in January of 1890, and then returned to the Hamilton Asylum as assistant supervisor.  He helped to design the Brockville Asylum (Ontario).  He stated that there should be no more stigmas attached to mental illness than to physical problems, and would not use the term “lunatic”.  Willy and his family lived at the Hamilton Asylum for the Insane where they had a private suite, but shared meals, carriages, etc. with all staff.  In the winter of 1902 a patient developed the plague and was quarantined in the curling club.  Dr Reynolds stayed with him, while his wife Mary and daughter Eleanor were sent to Mary’s sister “Zanda” Wylie in Almonte, Ontario.  Eleanor was 6 years old.  Dr. Reynolds developed a cold, which turned into “Galloping Consumption” (TB).  He, with his wife and daughter, went to Southern Pines, North Carolina, then to John Hopkins Hospital in Baltimore, where Sir William Osler was chief of staff.  He died there.  They had one daughter; Eleanor Mary Reynolds who married James Lancelot James.

 

       Eleanor Mary Reynolds   James Lancelot James

 

The third daughter of Alexander and Mary was Margaret Beatrice Logie who was born on March the 4th, 1860, at Hamilton, and died on the 5th of January, 1862, in Hamilton.  Next was Alice Logie who was born at Hamilton on December the 26th, 1861, and died there on the 10th of January, 1862.

 

Alexandra Helena Logie

 

The fifth daughter of Alexander and Mary Ritchie (Crooks) was Alexandra “Zanda” Helena Logie who was born on the 23rd of August, 1863, at Hamilton, and died on July the 27th, 1908.  She married James Watson Wylie of Almonte, Ontario, on June 2nd, 1886, at “Templands”, Hamilton, Ontario.  He was born on March 10th, 1861, and died in February of 1916 in Lambton County, Ontario.  He was the son of James Hamilton Wylie and Rebecca Lauderdale Maitland.  Watson was a bookkeeper for his father’s mill, James H Wylie & Son.  They had two sons; Kenneth Logie Wylie who was born on June the 20th, 1892, in Almonte, and died at Memorial Hospital in St. Thomas, Ontario, on the 4th of December, 1927   He attended the Boy’s College at Brockville, Ontario.  He was employed by the Sterling Bank, and later moved to Michigan.  His U. S. draft registration of May 29th, 1917, at Detroit, shows that he was working as an automotive salesman at the Olympian Motor Company, in Pontiac, Michigan, and living at 110 Henry Street in Detroit.  In the 1920 U. S. census he is listed as a real estate salesman and in 1930 as a jeweler. On April 30th, 1913, in Elgin County, Ontario, Kenneth married Jean Audrey Ross who was born on March 4th, 1892, in Elgin County, Ontario, the daughter of Walter Ross of St Thomas and Mary Ann McGaw.  Kenneth and Jean had one daughter Betty L Wylie.  The second son was James Archibald “Archie” Wylie.  Archie was born in Almonte on March 23rd, 1894.  He was an accountant with the Bank of Montreal in Edmonton, Alberta, but in 1915 he went to the Niagara Camp (Niagara Falls, Ontario) and enlisted.  On completion of his training he was appointed Lieutenant in the 92nd Highlanders.  In 1916 he was made orderly officer for his uncle Major-General William Alexander Logie (see below) at Toronto and at Camp Borden, Ontario.  He then went to England and was posted to the 173rd Battalion, Canadian Infantry, Central Ontario Regiment, but he requested a transfer, went to France in July of 1917, and was killed at Hill 70, Lens, a month later on the 16th of August, 1917.  He is buried at Vimy Ridge Memorial Cemetery at Pas de Calais, France.

James Archibald Wylie

 

 

 William Alexander Logie  Mary Hamilton Wylie

 

A son of Alexander and Mary was William Alexander Logie who was born on the 26th of April, 1866, in Hamilton, Ontario, and died at Toronto, Ontario, on the 6th of June, 1933.  On September 14th, 1892, in Lanark County, Ontario, he married Mary Hamilton. “Mamie” Wylie whose brother James Watson Wylie married William’s sister Alexandra Helena “Zanda” Logie, as above.  Mamie was born on March 1st, 1864, and died on July 13th, 1933, in Toronto.  She was the daughter of James Hamilton Wylie and Rebecca Lauderdale Maitland.  

William graduated from Queen’s University, Kingston, Ontario, with a BA in 1887 (with honours and the Gold Prize in Latin and Greek), an MA in 1888, and a L.L.B. in 1892.  He later attended Osgoode Hall (Law) in Toronto.  He was an outstanding athlete and was the captain of the Queen’s football team, played for the Osgoode Hall team, and was with the Hamilton Tigers after he resettled there. He was called to the bar and returned to Hamilton where he was in partnership with Thomas McQueston and Alexander Chisholm.  Along with Alex Chisholm he was a main founder of the 71st Argyle and Sutherland Highlanders of Canada.  Since he was not the eldest son of an eldest son etc., he had no right to use the Logie crest, so he petitioned for, and was granted, a crest for his branch of the Logie family.  The main feature of this crest was a leopard, and he had this leopard incorporated into the new Argyle and Sutherland badge. 

While at Queen’s he enlisted in the 14th Prince of Wales Rifles (October 11th, 1883), and after his move to Hamilton he joined the 13th of the Royal Regiment in D Company as a private.  In 1903 he was promoted to captain of the 13th, and in September of that year he was made Lieutenant-Colonel in command of the 91st Regiment of the Canadian Highlanders that he had organized.  In January 1909 he was raised to full Colonel in command of the 15th of the Infantry Brigade of Western Ontario. In 1914 he organized the training camps at Niagara Falls and Borden in Ontario.  In 1915 he assumed command of Military District #2 (Toronto) as major-general, which he continued for the duration of the war, although he had one trip to the front in France.  Until 1914 his military service was part-time.  In 1919 William was appointed to the Supreme Court of Ontario as Chief Justice.  He had been elected as a trustee of Queen’s University in 1910.

       Logie Family Crest    Canadian Argyle and Sutherland

                          As designed by Major-General William Alexander Logie

  

The youngest son of Alexander and Mary was John Lawrence Logie who was born on the 23rd of March, 1872, at Hamilton, and died there on March the 20th, 1873. There was also a first son who was stillborn on the 5th of February, 1854, at Hamilton.

 


Mary Ritchie (Crooks) Logie with Children at Templands

                        Alexandra  Anna  Mary  William  Mary

Henry Hamilton and daughters Catherine Sophia and Mary Crooks

 

The third child of John and Mary (Lawrason) Crooks was Susan Leeming Crooks (named for the wife of The Reverend Ralph Leeming).  She was born at Newark on the 20th of November, 1828, and died in Hamilton, Ontario, on December the 10th, 1884.  She married Henry Hamilton at London, Canada West, on December 2nd, 1852.  Henry was born about 1828, and died on the 8th of March, 1863, at St. Thomas, Ontario.

Susan and Henry Hamilton had three children: the eldest was Catherine Sophia Hamilton who was born on the 1st of April, 1857, at St. Thomas, Canada West, and died at Toronto Island, Toronto, Ontario on July 21, 1886. 

 

Cecil Samuel Ellis “Boyo” Horrocks

 

Their second daughter Mary Crooks Hamilton was born on the 5th, of March, 1859, at St. Thomas, and married Cecil Samuel Ellis "Boyo" Horrocks on the 26th of May, 1890, at St. James’ Anglican Church, Toronto.  He was born August 5th, 1866, at Toronto, Ontario, the son of Joseph Horrocks and Sarah Jane Ellis.  Their children were: Marjorie “Mab” Hamilton Horrocks who was born on March 10th, 1891, in Toronto, and married Thomas Ince Anderson on October 9th, 1915, in Toronto.  He was an insurance salesman and arrived in New York with his family in 1892 from Ryde, Hampshire, England, where he was born on September 23rd, 1884.  He died in 1975.  He was the son of Captain John Weir Anderson and Alice Ellen Maud Ince.


Marjorie Hamilton Horrocks – Thomas Ince Anderson

[with his parents]

 

A child of Mary and Boyo was Naomi Hamilton Horrocks who was born in Toronto on the 8th of February, 1893, and died on February 28th, 1984. 

 

Audrey Hamilton Horrocks

 

The youngest child of Mary and Boyo was Audrey “Ducky” Hamilton Horrocks who was born at Toronto on the 9th of January, 1896, and died in Victoria, British Columbia, on September the 12th, 1974.  Audrey and Naomi lived together at Newcastle, Ontario.  Later they were in England and then moved to Victoria, British Columbia.

 

James Daniel MacKay and Augusta Anna (Crooks) MacKay

John and Mary (Lawrason) Crooks’ daughter Augusta Anna Crooks was born on February 17th, 1831, at Newark, and died at Hamilton on December the 10th, 1884.  She married James Daniel MacKay (born about 1830 and died in 1870) on the 23rd of June, 1853, at the home of her sister Margaret Ramsay (Crooks) Munro in Hamilton, Canada West.  Some say he was James David MacKay.

Augusta and James had seven children.  The first, Donald Crooks MacKay, was born on July the 5th, 1854, and died on the 22nd of June, 1858, in Hamilton.  Mary Rachael MacKay was born on the 6th of May, 1856, and died on September the 25th, 1857, at St. Thomas, Western Canada.  James Daniel MacKay Jr. was born on the 4th of November, 1858, in Hamilton, and died on the 3rd of June, 1862.

There were four more children: Augusta Anna MacKay was born on November the 11th, 1860, and died in Hamilton.  John Hector Edward MacKay was born in March of 1863.  Jane Emily Blanche MacKay was born on the 5th of September, 1865, in Hamilton and died on November 7th, 1935, in Hamilton.  She was a civil servant in Ottawa, Ontario.  Margaret Ernestine “Maddie” MacKay was born on the 4th of November, 1867, at Hamilton, and died on November 9th, 1932, in Hamilton, Ontario.

 

William Lynn and Catherine McGill (Crooks) Smart

 

The fifth child of John and Mary (Lawrason) Crooks was Catherine McGill Crooks who was born at Newark on the 13th of February, 1833, and died on March 23rd, 1871, at Toronto.  On the 3rd of July, 1865, at Hamilton, Ontario, she married William Lynn Smart who was a Justice of the Peace in Hamilton, and who was born on September 16th, 1824, at St Albana, England, and died on the 31st of May, 1890, at Hamilton.  He was the soin of John Newton McKay and Mary Ann Gregory.  In Hamilton he was a Deputy Judge.  In 1870 to 1871 he was a councillor for Yorkville, Ontario (now part of Toronto).  He travelled extensively in the Americas, Europe, and Africa.

 

“William Lyon Smart was born on the 16th of September, 1824 at St Albana, Middlesex, and died May the 31st, 1890 at Hamilton, Ontario.  He was the son of John Newton Smart of Trewhitt House, Rothbury, Northumberland, and Mary Ann Gregory, the daughter of the Reverend Thomas Gregory, the Vicar of Henlow, Bedfordshire.. He graduated from King’s College, London, and joined a law firm in 1842.  He visited Canada in 1853 and stayed on, and was accepted at the Bar of Upper Canada in 1868.  In 1873 he moved to Hamilton and was a Deputy Judge under Alexander Logie”.

 

William and Catherine had three children.  Eleanor Herbert Mary Charlotte Smart was born on the 15th of October, 1866, at Yorkville.  On June 11th, 1888, at Lucknow, Ontario, she married John L Beith the son of Charles and Beth Beith.  John was born about 1866 in Sarnia, Ontario.  Her brother John Alder Newton Smart was born on September the 11th, 1868, and attended the Royal Military College in Kingston, Ontario. William Cathariaus Gregory Smart was born on the 15th of March, 1871, in York County, Ontario, and died on April 17th, 1938, in Wentworth County, Ontario.  On October 5th, 1895, in Toronto, York County, he married Florence Irene Bailey.  She was born on April 23rd, 1870, in Ingersoll, Ontario, the daughter of George Bailey and Sydney Sabina.

 

In the journals of Reverend R. McGill of St. Andrew’s Church, Newark, there is a notation that Catherine McGill, daughter of John Crooks and Mary Lawrason, was born on February 3, and christened April 3, 1832.  These dates do not agree with those above.  There is also an entry that states that Amy Ann a daughter of John Crooks and Mary “Lawrence” was born on February 17 and baptised June 25, 1830.  One would suspect that the “Lawrence” is a mistake and should be Lawrason.  The birthday shown fits in well with the birth dates of the other children, and this could be a child who died in infancy.  This entry also states that this was the “John Crooks who conducted the first Sunday School in Niagara, which was held in St. Andrew’s Church”.

 

 Children of William Crooks


William Crooks

                                                               1747 | 1796

            ______________________________|______________

            |                                                                       |

   Children with                                                  Children with

Elizabeth McFade                                          Margaret Ramsay

   1746 | 1768                                                     1753 |1827

            |                                                                       |

            |-Francis Crooks – Mary Stagg                                |-Margaret Crooks – Robert Notman

            |   1766 – 1845    1786 - 1845                                |     1773 – 1857

            |                                                                       |

            |-Mary Crooks                                                     |-William Crooks Jr. 1775 – 1775

                  1768                                                            |

                                                                                    |-William Crooks III – Mary Butler

                                                                                    |  1776 – 1836         !781 – 1851

                                                                                    |

                                                                                    |-James Crooks – Jane Cummings

                                                                                    |   1778 – 1860       1791 – 1861

                                                                                    |

                                                                                    |-Jane Crooks – William Proctor

                                                                                    |  1779 – 1843   1777 – 1854

                                                                                    |

                                                                                    |-Anne Crooks 1781 – 1823

                                                                                    |

                                                                                    |-Francis Crooks - Mary Stagg

                                                                                    |    1782 - 1845     1785 - 1845

                                                                                    |

                                                                                    |-Helen Crooks 1784 – 1813

                                                                                    |

                                                                                    |-John Crooks 1785 – 1786

                                                                                    |

                                                                                    |-Ramsay Crooks – Emilie Pratte

                                                                                    |    1787 – 1859        1806 – 1863

                                                                                    |

                                                                                    |-Elizabeth Crooks – Joseph Smith

                                                                                    |    1789 – 1818        1779 – 1840

                                                                                    |

                                                                                    |-Jennet Crooks – John Secord

                                                                                    |   1791 – 1843     1786 – 1857

                                                                                    |

                                                                                    |-Matthew Crooks – Margaret Butler

                                                                                    |    1793 – 1856         1800 – 1875

                                                                                    |

                                                                                    |-John Crooks – Mary Lawrason

                                                                                       1794 – 1833     1796 - 1862

 

 

PART #4

GRANDCHILDREN

 

    Grandchildren

 

            The children of Hester Crooks and William Thurston Boutwell (Ramsay’s grandchildren) are given above..  Of his 9 children with Emilie Platte only 4 seem to have been married.

 

            1---Emilie Crooks married Charles Nicholas Noel and they had four children, all born in New York City.  Little is known for two of their daughters Annette Noel, and Virginie Noel (born in 1850).  They may have died young.  Marie Celestine Noel was born on August 30th, 1849, and died on March 29th, 1923, in New York City.  On January 18th, 1871, in New York City, she married Robert Joseph Hoguet the son of Henri Louis Hoguet and Susanne Marie Atkinson.  Robert was born on August 2nd, 1839, in New York City, and died there on October 8th, 1909.  The only son of Emilie and Charles was Charles Emile Noel who married Josephine Ridder on July 27th, 1874, in New York City.  Josephine was the daughter of Thomas B Ridder and Charlotte M Hyatt.


2---Margurite Crooks married Eugene Plunkett and they had 6 children.  Louis Ramsay Plunkett was born about 1858 in New York City.  Margurite Sophie Plunkett was born on September 11th, 1863, in New York City.  Sylvie Virginie Plunkett was born on September 21st, 1860, in New York City and died in Atlanta, Georgia, on November 14th, 1911.  Sylvie married Charles Michael Gailmard in San Antonio, Florida.  Charles was born on May 10th, 1857, in Lookout Mountain, Tennessee, and died in Macon, Georgia, on May 8th, 1930.  Charles was the son of Charles Francois Gailmard and Mary de Leon.  John Ramsay Plunkett was born on June 24th, 1852, in New York City, and died in February of 1899 in Pueblo, Colorado.  On November 28th, 1877, in New York he married Louise Adele Bruguiere who was born on December 11th, 1854, in New York City, and died on September 13th, 1920, in Ross, California.  She was the daughter of Emile A Bruguiere and Antonia Sachez Y Dolce.  Marie Emilie Plunkett was born on November 21st, 1854, in New York City, and died on May 12th, 1903.  On September 10th, 1873, in South Orange, New Jersey, she married Dr. Joseph Felix Corrigan.  He was born on November 19th, 1846, in Newark, New Jersey, and died at St Leo, Florida, on November 28th, 1918.  He graduated from St Mary’s College with an MD in 1865, and an AM in 1867.  He received a PhD in 1883.  Jules Johannes Plunkett was born on May 5th, 1860, and died on May 10th, 1918, in Boston, Massachusetts.  On January 23rd, 1893, in Lowell, Massachusetts, he married Mary A Plunkett the daughter of Patrick and Catherine Plunkett.  On January 17th, 1900, in Boston, Massachusetts, Jules married Margaret F Odea who was born in Stoughton, Massachusetts, on April 7th, 1865.  She was the daughter of John Odea and Annie M Ford.

 

According to his obituary, Dr. Corrigan was born in Newark, N. J., and for a time was the head physician of Bellevue Hospital in New York City.  In 1884 Dr. Corrigan came to Dade City and began the development of his estate which contained one of the best citrus groves in the section and was one of the noted places of the county.  Dr. Joseph Felix Corrigan was elected the first mayor of St. Leo (and his home served as the town hall), and was the attending physician of Saint Leo College.  

 

Dr. Joseph Felix Corrigan Home, ca. 1890.

 

            3---Virginie Crooks and Johannes Gourd had five children.  Henriette Sophie Gourd was born on October 24th, 1847, in Lyon, France, and died there, unmarried, on October 14th, 1931.  Alphonse Ramsay Gourd was born on September 7th, 1850, in New York City, and died in Lyon, France, on December 23rd, 1925.  He was a lawyer, Member of the Rhone, vice president of the General Council of the Rhone, and Chevalier of the Legion of Honour.  Gerard Gourd was born on January 29th, 1853, in New York City, and died on April 25th, 1854.  Frances “Fanny” Caroline Emilie Gourd was born on February 4th, 1855, in New York City, and died on October 3rd 1938, in Paris, France.  On May 13th, 1878, she married Michel Constant Charles Leonce Michal.  He was born on October 23rd, 1845, at Grenoble, France, and died in Paris on October 6th, 1916.  He was Staff Officer (Major-General), Commander of the 14th and then the 20th Army Corps, Member of the Board of War, and Grand Officer of the Legion of Honour.  Henri (Henry) Eugene Gourd was born on June 13th, 1856, in New York City, and died there on March 19th, 1925.  On April 18th, 1887, in New York City he married Emilie Noel.  She was born about 1865 in New York City the daughter of Auguste and Emilie Noel.  Henri was a merchant, Officer of the Legion of Honor, and President of the French Chamber of Commerce in New York  

 

            4---Colonel William Crooks, the oldest son of Ramsay Crooks and Emilie Platte, was married twice; to Arabella Hertzler and to Harriet Shiels.  His children with Arabella were: Ramsay Crooks who was born on May 23rd, 1859 and died in St Paul, Minnesota, on May 22nd, 1911.  Ramsay married Jennie M Bonell who was born about 1870 in Maine.  William Crooks was born on September 22nd, 1862, and died on November 3rd, 1878.  George Canning Crooks was born on September 24th, 1863.  Arabella Hertzler Crooks was born on September 18th, 1865, and died on September 1st, 1866.  Charles Crooks was born on November 9th, 1866.  Emilie Celeste Crooks was born on October 3rd, 1867, and died on May 16th, 1898.  On February 8th, 1882, she married Richard Adam Carrington.  He was born on February 10th, 1853, in Virginia, and died on December 4th, 1931, in St Paul.  He was the son of Theodore Carrington and Anna Elizabeth Whitehall.  Julia Mary Crooks was born on February 14th, 1868, in St Paul, and died there on December 19th, 1918.  She was not married.  John Sylvester Crooks was born about 1870 and married Amora “Nora” M Cosgrove on August 4th, 1889, at St Croix, Minnesota.  She was the daughter of Robert L Cosgrove.  He also married Olivia Ireland. 

Julia Mary Crooks

[Oakland Cemetery – St Paul]

 

Emilie Celeste (Crooks) Carrington

[Oakland Cemetery – St Paul]

 

Richard Adam Carrigton

[Oakland Cemetery – St Paul]

 

William’s children with Harriet Shiels were: Bernard Shiels Crooks who was born on September 5th, 1885, at St Paul, and died on January 4th, 1964, in Ramsey County, Minnesota.  On January 2nd, 1914, in Preston, Minnesota, he married Bernice Viola Thompson who was born on March 14th, 1891, at Preston, Minnesota, and died at St Paul on April 4th, 1985.  She was the daughter of Andrew William Thompson and Hannah Emelia Josephine Hatlestad.  Harriet Marie Crooks was born on July 5th, 1883, at St Paul, and died on November 30, 1985, in Wauwatosa, Wisconsin.  On July 4th, 1909, at St Paul, she married Walter Ferdinand Just.  He was born on March 16th, 1883, at Rapidan, Minnesota, and died on June 6th, 1959, in Wisconsin.  He was the son of Walter Theodore Just and Dorothea Mann.  Paul Louis Crooks was born on July 11th, 1887, and died on January 18th, 1961, in Multnomah, Oregon.  On October 20th, 1914, in Princeton, British Columbia, he married Effie Maud Wooler who was born on December 12th, 1893, in Colorado, and died in April of 1979 in West Linn, Oregon.  She was the daughter of Francis Wooler and Viola Arilla Campbell.

 

Effie Maud Wooler (centre)

[with sister Jessie and Uncle Charles]


Children of Emilie Crooks and Charles Nicholas Noel

 

Emilie Crooks---Charles Nicholas Noel

   1826 | 1893                  1853-

            |

            |-Annette Noel

            |

            |-Marie Celeste Noel---Robert Joseph Hoguet

            |     1849-1923                    1839-1909

            |

            |-Virginie Noel

            |      1850

            |

            |Charles Emile Noel---Josephine Ridder

 

Children of Margaret Crooks and Eugene Plunkett

 

Margaret Crooks---Eugene Plunkett

   1827 | 1895              1830-1883

            |

            |-Louis Ramsay Plunkett

            |              1858-

            |

            |-Sylvie Virginie Plunkett---Charles Michael Gailmard

            |         1860-1911                          1857-1930

            |

            |-Marguerite Sophia Plunkett

            |                  1863-

            |

            |-John Ramsay Plunkett---Louise Adele Bruguiere

            |           1852-1899                     1854-1920

            |

            |-Marie Emilie Plunkett---Joseph Felix Corrigan

            |            1854-1903                  1846-1918

            |

            |-Jules Johannes Plunkett---Mary M Plunkett

                          1860-1918        ---Margaret F Odea

                                                           1865-      


Children of Virginie Crooks and John Gourd


Virginie Crooks---Johannes Gourd

   1828 | 1912            1816-1898

            |

            |-Henriette Sophie Gourd

            |      1847-1931

            |

            |-Alphonse Ramsay Gourd

            |         1850-1925

            |

            |-Gerard Gourd

            |   1853-1854

            |

            |-Frances Caroline Emilie Gourd---Michel Constant C Leonce Michal

            |                 1855-1938                            1845-1916

            |

            |-Henri Eugene Gourd---Emilie Noel

                  1856-1925                       1865-


Children of William Crooks and Arabella Hertzler


William Crooks---Arabella Hertzler

   1832 | 1907         1835-

            |

            |-Ramsay Crooks---Jennie Bonell

            |    1859-1911            1870-

            |

            |-William Crooks

    |    1862-1878 

            |

            |-George Canning Crooks 1863-         

            |

            |-Arabella Hertzler Crooks

            |        1865-1866

            |

            |-Charles Crooks 1866-

            |

            |-Emilie Celeste Crooks---Richard Adam Carrington

            |          1867-1898                        1853-1931

            |

            |-Julia Mary Crooks

            |      1868-1918

            |

            |-John Sylvester Crooks---Amora M Cosgrove

                         1870-                  ---Olivia Ireland


Children of William Crooks and Harriet Shiels

 

William Crooks---Harriet Shiels

   1832 | 1907      1859-1900

            |

            |-Harriet Marie Crooks---Walter Ferdinand Just

            |          1883-1909                1883-1959

            |

            |-Bernard Shiels Crooks---Bernice Viola Thompson

            |           1885-1964                   1891-1985

            |

            |-Paul Louis Crooks---Effie Maud Wooler

                    1887-1961           1893-1979


PART #5

ANCESTORS OF EMILIE PRATTE

 

THE FAMILY OF MARIANNE PELAGIE EMILIE PRATTE

[The wife of Ramsay Crooks]

 

On the 10th of March, 1825, Ramsay Crooks married Marianne Pelagie “Emilie” Pratte at St. Louis, Missouri.  Emilie was born on the 25th of December, 1806, in St Louis, Missouri, and died on September 20th, 1863, in New York City.  She was the daughter of General Bernard Abadie Pratte and Emilie Sauveur Labadie.   General Pratte was the head of the Pratte, Chouteau and Company (furs) that was bought out by John Jacob Astor.

 

General Bernard Abadie Pratte

 

            Emilie’s father, General Bernard Abadie Pratte, was born on July 12th, 1771, in Ste Genevieve, Missouri, and died on April 2nd, 1836, in St Louis, Missouri.  He was educated in Quebec at Sulsipitian College, Montreal.  He really never earned the title “General” but he was known as Mon General by friends and family.  He was a Captain in the War of 1812.  On May 13th, 1794, at St Louis, he married Emilie Sauveur Labadie.  She was born on January 18th, 1778, in St Louis, and died there on November 23rd, 1844.  She was the daughter of Sylvester Labadie of Bearne, France, and Pelagie Chouteau of New Orleans, Louisiana.  Bernard entered the fur trade in 1816 as a partner in the fur company Cabanne and Company which later became Berthold, Chouteau and Pratte.  He retired from the fur trade in 1830.  He was a Territorial Judge, and led an expedition to Fort Madison during the War of 1812.  During President Monroe’s administration he was Receiver of Public Monies (Treasurer) in the St Louis District.

General Bernard and Emilie had seven children.  The first son of Bernard and Emilie was Sylvester Sebastien Pratte who was born on September 22nd, 1799, in St Louis, and died on September 1st, 1827, at the headwaters of the Platte River.  On June 5th, 1822, in Ste Genevieve, Missouri, he married Odile DeLassus who was born on October 5th, 1804, at Ste Genevieve, and died in Missouri on June 5th, 1842.  She was the daughter of Phillipe Francois Camille Delassus and Mathilda Valle Villars.  There were no children, and Odile joined the Sisters of Loretto in Kentucky, and then opened the first Convent and School for Girls in Ste. Genevieve in 1837.  The other children were: Marianne Pelagie Emilie as shown above. Emilie’s sister Marie Therese Archange Pratte was born in St Louis in 1805 and died on February 22nd, 1894, in Hyeres, France.  On the 21st of March, 1824, in St Louis, she married Walter Bell Alexander.  He was born in Virginia about 1804, and died in St Louis on July 15th, 1826.  He was the son of Louis Alexander and Lucy Bell.  On February 1st, 1830, in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, she married Colonel the Baron Louis Desire Peugnet who was born on March 21st, 1793, in Vaulx, France, and died on August 31st, 1877, in Suisse, France.  He was the son of Jean Chislain Peugnet and Nathalie Founder, and won honours as a soldier under Napoleon, including the Crosse d’Honneur awarded personally by Napoleon, and the St Helena Medal (Médaille de Sainte-Hélène).

.  Marie and Louis Peugnet had five children.  Louise Peugnet was born in 1832 in New York, and died on March 12th, 1912.  On September 10th, 1855, she married Pratte Abadie Nidelet who was born in 1831 in Pennsylvania, and died in 1864.  He was the son of Emille Celeste Pratte (Louise’s aunt) and Stephen Francis Nidelet.  Marie Octavie Peugnet was born in 1816 and died on March 9th, 1925, in Paris, France.


                                 Armand Bernard Peugnet   Virginia Sarpy

[Calvary Cemetery, St Louis]

 

Marie and Louis’s son Armand Bernard Peugnet was born on April 2nd, 1833, at Cape Vincent, New York, and died on April 26th, 1834, at St Louis.  On April 2nd, 1870, in Rome, Italy, he married Virginia Sarpy.  She was born on July 4th, 1827, and died on August 11th, 1917, in St Louis.  She was the daughter of Jean Baptiste Sarpy and Adele Carbanne and had been married to Frederick Berthold who died in 1868.

 


Virginia Sarpy

Captain Ernest Hyacinthe Peugnet

 

Ernest Hyacinthe Peugnet was born on October 13th, 1838, in New York City, and died at Bellefontaine, Missouri, on June 27th, 1910.  He was educated at Heidelberg, Germany.   He was heavily involved in the Civil War.  He moved to St Louis in 1866 and became involved in various businesses in the insurance and banking fields as director or vice-president.  On June 15th, 1865, in Kentucky, he married Ella Blanche Thompson who was born in 1845 in Louisville, Kentucky, and died in 1896 at St Louis.  In 1901 he married Alexina Louise Greenleaf.  She was born on June 22nd, 1872, the daughter of William Eugene Greenleaf and Kate A Henry.

Georgina Elodia Peugnet was born in 1846 in New York, and died in Montreux, Switzerland, in September of 1871.  She married Carl W A Ellerbrick (Ellerbrock) who was born in Hanover, Germany, in 1829, and died in 1863.

 

The third daughter of General Bernard and Emilie was Marie Madeline Aimee Pratte who was born in St Louis in 1811, and died in San Francisco, California.  She married Joseph Blaine who was born in England in 1813 and died in San Francisco. 

 

Bernard Abadie Pratte Jr.

The next son of General Bernard was Bernard Abadie Pratte Jr who was born on December 17th, 1803, in St Louis, and died on August 10th, 1886, at Jonesburg, Missouri.  On July 20th, 1824, at the Cathedral in St Louis, he married Marie Louise Chenier who was born on October 24th, 1806, in St Louis.  She was the daughter of Antoine Chenier and Marie Therese Papin.   Bernard was the mayor of St Louis from 1844 to 1846, the first native-born St. Louisianan to become Mayor of the City.  He was also the first child born in St Louis after the ratification of the Louisiana Purchase treaty with France.  He graduated from Georgetown Academy in Kentucky.  After graduation he worked in his father’s fur company.  He owned and captained a steamboat "St Peters" that handled trade on the Missouri River.  He was infamous as the captain of “The Deadliest Boat Run in American History”.   The St Peters left St Louis on April 17th, 1837, to travel up the Missouri.  It was found that a deckhand had the plague but Captain Pratte refused to put him ashore.  Many on the boat became infected and, as they left the ship at various points they infected many others.  In June the boat arrived at Fort Union, North Dakota, where a number of the Upper Missouri Tribes were gathered, and the plague was quickly spread.  Many died (mostly Native Americans) and many others were horribly disfigured.  The St Peters was destroyed in a fire at the St Louis docks on May 17th, 1849. Bernard was President of the Bank of Missouri, and was elected to the Missouri Legislature in 1838.  He had his own fur company called Bernard Pratte and Company.  In 1850 he retired from business and politics and purchased a farm in Montgomery County, Missouri.

            Fort Bernard was a small trading post in Wyoming along the North Platte River on the Oregon Trail.  It was established in 1845, by Bernard Abadie Pratte Jr, on the site of an older fort established in the late 1830’s.  The owners were the Bernard Pratte and Company.  It was located about 8 miles southeast of Fort Laramie, and had been operated by the American Fur CompanyBernard Pratte and his partner had previously owned Fort Platte on the west side of Fort Laramie but abandoned it in 1845 and enlisted Joseph Bissonette to move the operation to the east to attract travelers on the Oregon Trail before they arrived at Fort Laramie.  The new fort was either named for Pratte or his father, General Bernard Pratte, who had been a fur trader in his own time.  In December of 1845 the fort was sold to the American Fur Company and was put under the control of Bissonette and trader John Richards.  The fort did excellent business in 1866, enough to cause concern with the owners of nearby Fort Laramie.  Unfortunately, the fort burned down sometime during the summer of 1866 while Richards was acquiring new supplies in New Mexico and was never rebuilt.

            Bernard Jr and Marie Louise had ten children.  They had a child that died young and who was born in 1823 and died on September 18th, 1838, in St Louis.  Their son Bernard Antoine Pratte was born on August 25th, 1825, a Ste Genevieve, Missouri, and died on February 1st, 1897, in Decatur, Texas.  At the age of 10 he was sent for education at the Peugnet Brothers in New York City (a military school formed by Peugnets who were former Napoleon officers), and he then attended Yale.  Back in St Louis he studied law.  He was asked to translate the Spanish and French portions of the Missouri Legislature into English.  After the Civil War he moved to Atlanta, Georgia, and then to Texas to try to improve his health.   He married Elizabeth “Bettie” Julia (Gibson) Edwards who was born in about 1835 in Jefferson County, Kentucky, and died on April 19th, 1910, in Brazos, Texas.  She was the daughter of Frederick Geiger Edwards and Ann Pendlton Taylor.

Marie Odile Pratte, a daughter of Bernard Jr and Marie Louise, was born on March 6th, 1829, in St Louis, and died on November 12th, 1829.  Her sister Marie Lois Gonzagne Pratte was born in 1830 and died on February 23rd, 1831, in St Louis

 

Colonel Clay Taylor

 

Marie Louisa Pratte, a daughter of Bernard Jr, was born on April 17th, 1837, in St Louis, and died on February 26th, 1871.  On November 16th, 1853, in St Louis, she married Colonel Clay Taylor who was born on May 2nd, 1826, in Kentucky, and died in St Louis, Missouri, on November 16th, 1906.  He was the son of Colonel Nathaniel Pendelton Taylor and Ellen Hart Clay.  Colonel Taylor served in the Mexican War and was a member of Captain Weightman's company of Missouri light artillery, in which he served for about a year. He was on Kearney's expedition to New Mexico, and was with Colonel Doniphan on the latter's march to join General Zachary Taylor at Buena Vista (New Mexico).  Colonel Clay Taylor served in the Civil War in the Confederate army. He wrote out the "cartel" for the exchange of prisoners between the Confederate States of America and the United States on March 15 1862.

 

Celeste (Pratte) Tracy

 

Marie Louisa’s sister Celeste Pratte was born on April 11th, 1834, in St Louis, and died there on September 27th, 1867.  She married Augustus Early Tracy on November 16th, 1853, in St Louis.  Augustus was born on December 9th, 1831, in St Louis, Missouri, and died on July 11th, 1877, in St Louis.  He was the son of Edward Tracy and Mary Ann Nelson.

Bernard Jr’s daughter, Julia Amentine Pratte, was born on March 6th, 1836, in St Louis, and died there in December of 1912.  On March 27th, 1860, in St Louis she married Colonel John M Dickerson of the United States Army.  He was born in 1821 in Ohio, and died on March 2nd, 1872, at Cincinnati, Ohio.  Julia’s sister, Laura Emilie Pratte, was born on July 30th, 1841, and died there on July 20th, 1859.  She never married.

 

Lina Pratte and Paul Gervais Robinson

 

Lina Pratte was born in 1884 in St Louis, and died on January 2nd, 1881.  In June of 1869, in St Louis, she married Paul Gervais Robinson who was born in Charleston, South Carolina, on August 22nd, 1834, and died in St Louis in 1913.  He was the son of Steven Thomas Robinson and Margaret Gervais.  Paul was a distinguished physician having studied at the South Carolina Medical College and then in Paris, France.  In 1858 he returned to Charleston and began his practice. He was the first medical officer to join the Confederate Army, and was at Fort Sumter, the first battle of the Civil War.  In 1867 he moved to St Louis to the Missouri Medical College where he was a professor and then Dean.  In 1858 he married Elizabeth Dickinson and then he married Lina

Lina’s brother Sylvester Louis Pratte was born on April 21st, 1838, in St Louis and died there in 1889.  He married Mary S Sloan. Who was born in May of 1850 in St Louis, the daughter of Edwin C Sloan and Mary Smith Morton.

 

 Emilie Celeste Pratte  Stephen Francis Nidelet

 

Emilie Celeste (Pratte) Nidelet

 

The next child of General Bernard and Emilie was Emilie Celeste Pratte who was born on March 5th, 1810, in St Louis, and died there on December 23rd, 1897.  On August 12th, 1826, in St Louis, she married Stephen Francis Nidelet who was born on June 27th, 1789, in Port De Paix, San Domingo, West Indies, and died at St Louis on December 22nd, 1856.  He was the son of Etienne Nidelet and Elizabeth Forge.  

They had nine children.  The eldest was Stephen R Nidelet who was born about 1827.  Next was Sylvestre Louis Nidelet MD who was born on December 2nd, 1829, in Easton, Pennsylvania, and died on October 30th, 1906, in St Louis.  Then his brother Pratte Abadie Nidelet who married Louise Peugnet (page 78).

 

Dr James Charles Nidlet

 

The fourth son of Emile and Stephen was James Charles Nidelet MD who was born on January 15th, 1834, in Philadelphia, and died on November 16th, 1910, in St Louis.  He attended various medical schools including St Louis Medical and Missouri Medical.  He joined the Confederate Army as Chief Surgeon in 1861 and for 4 years was involved in important battles – see Addendum. #4

 

Elizabeth (Nidelet) Von Phul

 

 Next was a daughter Elizabeth Nidelet who was born in March of 1836 in St Louis, and died there on April 4th, 1883.  On January 4th, 1855, she married Theodore Frederick Von Phul.  He was born on January 4th, 1833, in St Louis and died there on January 31st, 1917.   Theodore was the son of Henry Von Phul and Rosalie Genevieve Saugrain.  Elizabeth’s brother Joseph Benoist Nidelet was born in 1839, and died on March 1st, 1868, in St Louis.  Mary Nidelet was born in 1842. 

 

Celeste Pratte Nidelet and Charles Eugene Michel

 

Celeste Pratte Nidelet was born on September 3rd, 1843, in Philadelphia, and died in Seattle, Washington, on November 30th, 1919.  On October 16th, 1873, she married Dr. Charles Eugene Michel who was born on May 9th, 1833, at Charleston, South Carolina, and died in St Louis on September 29th, 1913.  He was an Ophthalmologist in St Louis and worked out a method to remove “wild” eyelash hairs by electrolysis.  He became known as the “father of electrolysis”.

 

Dr Charles Eugene Michel

Francis Adolph Nidelet

 

The next child of Emilie and Stephen was Francis Adolph Nidelet who was born on June 9th, 1846, in St Louis, and died there on June 27th, 1915.  In 1876 he married Antoinette Renick who was born in 1845, and died in St Louis in 1940.  The youngest child was Alfred Ceran Nidelet who was born on September 19th, 1848, in St Louis, and died there on October 7th, 1848.

 

Lewis Vital Bogy

 

The seventh child of General Bernard was Pelagie Pratte who was born on May 18th, 1813, in St Louis and died there on December 19th, 1882.  In 1835 she married Lewis Vital Bogy.  He was born on April 9th, 1813, in Ste Genevieve, and died in Lincoln, Missouri, in September of 1877.  He was the son of Joseph Bogy and Marie Francoise Beauvais. 

From Wikipedia

Lewis Vital Bogy (April 9, 1813 – September 20, 1877) was a United States Senator from Missouri. Born in Ste. Geneviève, he attended the public schools, was employed as clerk in a mercantile establishment, studied law in Illinois, graduated from Transylvania University, Lexington, Kentucky, in 1835 and commenced practice in St. Louis. He served in the Black Hawk War, was a member of the board of aldermen of St. Louis in 1838, and was a member of the Missouri House of Representatives in 1840–1841 and 1854–1855. He was Commissioner of Indian Affairs in 1867 and 1868 and president of the city council of St. Louis in 1872. Bogy was one of the founders of the St. Louis Iron Mountain Railway, acting as president for two years. Bogy was elected as a Democrat to the U.S. Senate and served from March 4, 1873, until his death in St. Louis in 1877; he was buried at Calvary Cemetery section 1.

House where Lewis Vital Bogy was born

[Ste Genevieve, Missouri]

 

       

Jean Baptiste Pratte

 

The Father of General Bernard was Jean Baptiste Pratte who died on September 25th, 1826, in Ste Genevieve, Missouri.  It has been reported that Jean Baptiste was born in Montreal, Quebec, on August 21st,1739, but this is incorrect. He was confused with Sebastien Jean Prat the son of Jean Prat (blacksmith) and Madeleine Charlotte Godet.  This also where the incorrect Sebastien comes from. Jean Baptiste was actually the illegitimate son of Gabriel Duprat III and Madeline De La Haye.  He lived with an uncle who was unkind so he left and changed his name from Duprat to Pratte.  On June 30th, 1766, in Kaskaskia, Illinois, he married Marianne Lalumundiere.  She was born in 1746 in Kaskaskia, and died in Ste Genevieve in December of 1774.  She was the daughter of Francoise Lalumundiere and Louise Perthius.

They had four children the first was Odile Celeste Pratte who was born on February 3rd, 1770, at Ste Genevieve, and died in January of 1843, in Ste Genevieve.  On January 28th, 1793, at Ste Genevieve, she married Henry Diel. Henry was born on April 12th, 1769, in Ste Genevieve, and died there on November 21st, 1832.  He was the son of Antoine Diel and Elizabeth Aubuchon.  Celeste was followed by Bernard Abadie Pratte as above.  Jean Baptiste Sebastien Pratte Jr. was born on April 28th, 1773, and died on September 25th, 1826.  Joseph Pratte was the youngest and was born on December 16th, 1774, at Ste Genevieve.  He died in Ste Genevieve on January 5th, 1847.  On February 6th, 1797, at Ste Genevieve, he married Marie Francoise Valle.  Marie was born on September 17th, 1778, in Ste Genevieve, and died at Ste Genevieve, on March 18th, 1841.  She was the daughter of Captain Don Francois Valle and Marie Carpentier.

Marie Francoise Valle

 

Jean Baptiste Pratte married his second wife Marie Therese Billeron on November 9th, 1776, at Ste Genevieve.  She was born in 1752 in Kaskaskia, and died on April 13th, 1802, at Ste Genevieve.  Their children were: Jean Baptiste Pratte who was born and died in 1772.  Jean Baptiste was followed by Marie Louise Therese Pratte who was born on August 1st, 1777, at Ste Genevieve, and died there on November 4th, 1837.  On February 13th, 1798, she married Vital Ste Gemme Beauvais* who was born on October 15th, 1772, at Kaskaskia, Illinois, and died in Ste Genevieve on January 16th, 1824.  He was the son of Jean Baptiste Ste Gemme Beauvais and Marie Therese Boucher de Monbrun de la Soudray.   *The Beauvais is often dropped.

 

Home of Vital Ste Gemme Beauvais

[Ste Genevieve, Missouri]

“Amoureux House” – cedar log – 1792

[Ste Genevieve, Missouri]

Home of Jean Baptiste Ste Gemme Beauvais

 

The next child of Jean and Marie (Billeron) was Jean Baptiste Pratte who was born on June 25th, 1779, and died before his wife Louise Marie remarried in 1816.  On February 15th, 1808, at Ste Genevieve, he married Marie Louise Chevalier who was born about 1773 the daughter of Pierre Joseph Chevalier and Marie Rose Deguire. On April 25th, 1816, Marie Louise married Francois Aubuchon.  Archange Pratte was born on February 14th, 1780, and died in the same year.  A second Archange Pratte was born on January 26th, 1781, and died before the third Archange Pratte was born on September 20th, 1782.  Pelagie Pratte was born on September 14th, 1782, and died on May 15th, 1805.  She married Laprise Daigneau who was born in 1780 in Quebec.  Billeron “Biron” Pratte was born in 1784. 

Another son of Jean and Marie was Peter Auguste Pratte who was born on January 11th, 1786, and died on November 12th, 1870.  On December 28th, 1813, he married Emily Rene Janis who was born at St Genevieve on August 8th, 1791, and died at Bonne Terre, Missouri, on December 21st, 1878.  She is buried at Ste Genevieve.  Emily was the daughter of Jean Baptiste Janis and Rene Julia Barbeau.  Next was Father Henri Pratte who was born on January 19th, 1788, at Ste Genevieve, and died there on September 2nd, 1822, probably of yellow fever as he was carrying for others during an epidemic.  Father Henri was the first Missouri “home-grown” priest.  In 1803 he entered the Sulpician Seminary in Montreal, Quebec, and was ordained a priest there in 1815.  He returned to Ste Genevieve, and was at St Michael the Archangel, and also worked as a missionary.  His brother Antoine Pratte was born on January 29th, 1790, at Ste Genevieve, and died on March 19th, 1822.  On January 12th, 1813, he married Eleanor St Gemme Beauvais.  She was a daughter of Jean Baptiste St Gemme Beauvais and Marie Therese Boucher De M De La Soudrals, and a sister of Vital above.  The last child was born on January 19th 1797, and died on the 22nd of that same month. 


The father of Jean Baptiste Pratte was Gabriel III Duprat who fathered Jean Baptiste as an illegitimate son with Marie Madeleine De La Haye.   She was born on October 11th, 1715, in Montreal.  She was the daughter of Jean La Haye (Lahaie) of Tallow, Ireland and Marie (possibly Madeleine) Sawrten (Schouarden or Souart) of Massachusetts.  Gabriel III was baptized on May 21st, 1690 in Quebec City, Quebec.

 

The father of Gabriel III Duprat was Gabriel II Duprat, a merchant, who was born on May 30th, 1656, in La Rochelle, France, and died in Quebec City, Quebec, in 1719.  On February 5th, 1686, in Quebec City, he married Marie Theresa Duquet who was born on February 21st, 1667, in Quebec City, and died there on July 11th, 1699.  She was the daughter of Denis Duquet and Catherine Gauthier.  Their two sons were: Francois Duprat who was born on December 17th, 1686, in Quebec City and died there on February 4th, 1687, and Gabriel III as above  On November 10th, 1700, in Quebec City, Gabriel II married Helene Suzanne Treffle who was born on April 26th, 1669, the daughter of Francis Treffle and Catherine Marie Mathieu.  They had a son Philippe Duprat who was born in Quebec on February 12th, 1702.  

Gabriel I Duprat was the father of Gabriel II Duprat.  He was a merchant born on June 12th, 1630, in La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime, France, and died there on July 12th, 1655.  On January 17th, 1655, at La Rochelle, France, he married Francoise Gaultier who was born in about 1635 and died in 1702.  She was the daughter of Andre Gaultier and Suzanne Bodin. Francoise also married Jean Dandeteau.

Jacques Duprat, the father of Gabriel I Duprat, was born on February 10th, 1591, in La Rochelle, France, and buried there on September 16th, 1644.  On May 18th, 1623, in La Rochelle, he married Marie Toupet who was born in 1607, in La Rochelle, and died at La Rochelle on December 1st, 1670. Marie was the daughter of Pierre Toupet and Marie Catherine Letoffe.  As well as Gabriel (above) the children of Jacques and Marie were: Pierre Duprat was born on November 27th, 1633, in La Rochelle, and about 1658 in La Rochelle he married Sara Allenet who was born about 1638 in La Rochelle. Paul Duprat was born on February 28th, 1633.  Francois Duprat was born on March 31st, 1636, in La Rochelle, and died there on January 5th, 1639.  Jean Duprat was born on June 8th, 1637, at La Rochelle, and died there on January 23rd, 1639.  Marie Duprat was born on March 29th, 1624, (there may have been a second Marie born on December 5th, 1626).  Elisabeth Duprat was born on September 23rd, 1631, and died on October 27th, 1674.  On April 29th, 1651 she married Jean Godfroy (Godeffroy) who was born about 1626 in La Rochelle.  He was the son of Benjamin Godeffroy.  There was possibly a previous Marie born on February 3rd, 1619.

Francois Duprat, the father of Jacques, was born about 1560 in La Rochelle, and died in France by 1623.  He married Marie Mignonneau.  She was born in La Rochelle, France, about 1565.  Their children, all born in La Rochelle, were:  Marie Duprat was born on March 17th, 1585.  Jacques Duprat was born on March 4th, 1586, and died before the next Jacques was born.  Francois Duprat was born on January 15th, 1587, (baptized February 18th 1588, at Charente-Maritime, France) and died before the next Francois was born.  Jean Duprat was born on May 15th, 1587.  Jacques Duprat as shown above. Francois Duprat was born on December 25th, 1594. 

THE ANCESTORS OF MARRIANNE PELAGIE EMILIE PRATTE

[Pratte family only]

 

Francois Duprat – Marie Mignonneau

1560-1623           1565-

|

Jacques Duprat – Marie Toupet

1591-1644          1607-1670

|

Gabriel I Duprat – Francoise Gaultier

1630-1655             1635-1702

|

Gabriel II DuPrat – Marie Theresa Duquet

1656-1719                 1667-1699

|

Gabriel III Duprat – Marie Madeleine De La Haye

1715-

|

Jean Baptiste Pratte – Marianne Lalumundiere

1739-1826  |  1746-1774

    - Marie Therese Billeron

          1752-1802

|

 Bernard Abadie Pratte – Emilie Sauveur Labadie

1771-1836                            1778-1844

|

Marianne Pelagie Emilie Pratte – Ramsay Crooks

1806-1863                                 1787-1859

 

 

 PART #6

ADDENDA

Addendum #1

    Some Canadian data on the children of William Crooks and Margaret Ramsay Crooks. Those who appear to have accompanied their mother from Scotland to Canada are marked with an X

       Francis joined the Niagara Agricultural Society in 1791, age 25 **

       Mary – no Canadian data, probably never left Scotland **

       Margaret died in Scotland in 1857

      William (age 18) and James (age 16) arrived in Niagara via New York in             1794, and joined Francis.

     X Jane was married in Niagara, Ontario, in 1807

     X Anne died in Grimsby, Ontario in 1823

     X Francis married Mary Stagg in 1806

     X Helen died in Grimsby in 1813

     X Ramsay is reported as being in Montreal at age 16, i.e. 1803

     X Elizabeth died in Upper Canada in 1818

     X Jennet was married in Niagara in 1808

         Mathew reported as arriving in Canada in 1805

     X John was captured in the war of 1812

    ** With Elizabeth McFade

  Addendum #2

LETTER FROM RAMSAY CROOKS

Concerning the South Pass of the Oregon Trail

 

The Detroit Advertiser having asserted that Col. Fremont was the discoverer of the South Pass of the Rocky Mountains, a correspondent of the Detroit Free Press denies the truth of statement and the editor of that journal publishes the following letter from Ramsay Crooks, Esq., of New York:

"New York, June 28, 1856.

My Dear Sir:-

Just as I was about closing my letter to you of yesterday's date, I received the Detroit Free Press of the 21st inst., containing a laudation of Col. John C. Fremont taken from the Detroit Advertiser of the previous day and which (if it had been true) is not, in my humble opinion, a very important item in making up the essentials of such a man as should become President of this glorious confederacy.

 

I, however, presume it is intended to exhibit him as endowed with uncommon intrepidity and daring in exploring so wide a region, surrounded by savages and grizzly bears, thereby proving great firmness of character, so very desirable, but unfortunately so very rare in the head of a great nation.

 

But even if the Colonel had discovered the 'South Pass,' it does not show any more fitness for the exalted station he covets than the numerous beaver hunters and traders who passed and repassed through that noted place full twenty years before Col. Fremont had attained a legal right to vote, and were fully his equals in enterprise, energy, and indomitable perseverance, with this somewhat important difference, that he was backed by the United States treasury, while other explorers had to rely on their own resources.

 

The perils of the 'South Pass,' therefore, confer on the Colonel no greater claim to distinction than the trapper is entitled to, and his party must be pressed very hard when they had to drag in a circumstance so very unimportant as who discovered the 'South Pass.'

 

Although the Free Press conclusively proves that the Colonel could not be the discoverer of the 'South Pass,' the details are not accurate and in order that history (if it ever gets there) may be correctly vindicated, I will tell you how it was.

 

Mr. David Stuart sailed from this port in 1810 for the Columbia River on board the ship 'Tonquin' with a number of Mr. Astor's associates in the 'Pacific Fur Company,' and after the breaking up of the company in 1814, he returned through the Northwest Company's territories to Montreal, far to the north of the 'South Pass,' which he never saw.

 

In 1811, the overland party of Mr. Astor's expedition, under the command of Mr. Wilson P. Hunt, of Trenton, New Jersey, although numbering sixty well armed men,

found the Indians so very troublesome in the country of the Yellowstone River, that the party of seven persons who left Astoria toward the end of June, 1812, considering it dangerous to pass again by the route of 1811, turned toward the southeast as soon as they had crossed the main chain of the Rocky Mountains, and, after several days' journey, came through the celebrated 'South Pass' in the month of November, 1812.

 

Pursuing from thence an easterly course, they fell upon the River Platte of the Missouri, where they passed the winter and reached St. Louis in April, 1813.

 

The seven persons forming the party were Robert McClelland of Hagerstown, who, with the celebrated Captain Wells, was captain of spies under General Wayne in his famous Indian campaign, Joseph Miller of Baltimore, for several years an officer of the U. S. army, Robert Stuart, a citizen of Detroit, Benjamin Jones, of Missouri, who acted as huntsman of the party, Francois LeClaire, a halfbreed, and Adré Valée, a Canadian voyageur, and Ramsay Crooks, who is the only survivor of this small band of adventurers.

 

I am very sincerely yours,

RAMSEY CROOKS.

Anthony Dudgeon, Esq., Detroit, Michigan."

 

 

Addendun #3

The Mission in Northwestern Wisconsin

 

In 1833, the first movement in opening the way for the influx of white settlers occurred when an “Indian mission” was opened at the outlet of Little Yellow Lake. All of the mission personnel came from Mackinaw, the general depot of the fur traders during the last years of this activity. The mission was under the patronage of the “American Board of Commissioners for Foreign Missions”.   Reverend Fred Ayers and his wife and Miss Hester Crooks (teacher and daughter of an American Fur Co. trader) arrived on September 16, 1833. School opened on September 24, 1833 with an enrolment of eight students! After wintering with Dr. Borup, the local trader (trading post was about 1 mile away), the mission resumed operations in spring 1834. The objectives of the mission were to provide schooling to Native American children, to aid the Native Americans in planting gardens and other forms of agriculture (rendering them an agrarian society), and to provide seeds to them. In April of 1834, 25 Native families had camped near the mission and four had planted gardens and were sending their children to school. Three of these four families were influential in the band, one having a chief who had visited Washington, D.C. during the Adams administration (named “Cat Ear” or Gis-kil-a-way).    Miss Crooks married Reverend William Boutwell, the couple subsequently moving to the Leech Lake mission. J.L. Seymour, Miss Sabrina Stevens and Henry Blatchford (local interpreter) became new personnel at the mission. However, things were not going very well. A chief and Menominee from the Green Bay region (Waiingas or “The Wolf”) announced that the white inhabitants had to go, by force if necessary. Some Natives were concerned about possible land losses. Over the course of the next few hours, after negotiations among themselves, the Natives reversed their decision and asked them to stay. However, things were never the same as they once were and in spring 1836, all whites left for Pokegama/Snake River after an invitation by the Natives there. The four reasons cited for this move were as follows: Pokegama had a superior food supply in place, they could serve more natives there, the soil was better at Pokegama, and Pokegama was much closer to St. Peter, the only site at that time where one could purchase the goods important to whites


Addendum #4

 Dr. James C. Nidelet is descended from some of the most noted pioneer families of Missouri. His grandfather, the well-known Gen. Bernard Pratte, was born in Ste. Genevieve, Mo., and was educated at the Sulsipitian College, Montreal (Canada); and returning to St. Louis, married Emilie I. Labadie, a native of the town, and daughter of Sylvester Labadie and Pélagie Chouteau. His father, Stephen F. Nidelet, of French extraction and a native of San Domingo, arrived in Philadelphia when but seven years old, and ultimately became a member of the prominent silk house of Chapman & Nidelet. While visiting St. Louis he met and married on Aug. 12, 1826, Celeste E., daughter of the Gen. Pratte above mentioned. He returned with his wife to Philadelphia, where, on the 15th of January, 1834, James C. Nidelet was born.

Young Nidelet acquired his early education in Philadelphia, at the classical school of John D. Bryant, a famous instructor in that city. In 1844 he was taken by his parents to St. Louis, where his father spent the rest of his life, dying in 1856, after having won the respect of a large circle of friends. His widow is yet living (1883), a sprightly and well-preserved lady of seventy-three years. In her day she was one of the belles of St. Louis, and, despite the lapse of years, her recollections of pioneer times are very distinct and interesting.

James C. Nidelet attended the St. Louis University for a year or two, and in 1847 and 1848 St. Mary's College, Emmittsburg, Md. In 1849 he entered St. Louis University again, and spent five years there, but left in 1853 while on the point of graduating. He then prepared for the Military Academy at West Point, but failing to receive an appointment as cadet, applied himself to the study of medicine. His first tuition was obtained in the practical experience of a drug store, and for three years he was employed in the well-known houses of Bacon, Hyde & Co. and Barnard, Adams & Co. He then attended the St. Louis Medical College, under Dr. C. A. Pope, and the Missouri Medical College, under Dr. Joseph N. McDowell. He graduated in 1860, and began the practice of medicine.

In December, 1861, he joined the Confederate army, and served as chief surgeon under Gens. Price, Maury, and Forney in the Army of East Tennessee and Mississippi. During the last year of the war he was transferred to the Trans-Mississippi Department. His service embraced four years of desperate and bloody warfare, and he was in every engagement in which his army corps participated. Among the most memorable of these conflicts may be mentioned those attending the capture of Vicksburg, and the sanguinary fields of Corinth, Big Black, Iuka, and the famous retreat from Hatchie. During all this period of exposure to the dangers and privations incident to the war, Dr. Nidelet was never wounded and never lost a day from sickness, his splendid constitution carrying him safely through trials to which weaker natures would have succumbed. He was always to be found where the danger was greatest, and where there was the greatest need of the prompt assistance of the surgeon. His composure amid the storms of shot and shell and the awful distractions of the battlefield was proverbial, and repeatedly won the commendation of his superiors.

Frequently, with the din of conflict raging about him, he performed operations that would have made many a hospital practitioner famous. His four years service in the war gave him a practically unlimited experience in every branch of surgery, especially that appertaining to the treatment of gunshot-wounds, and in July, 1865, he returned to St. Louis rich in knowledge of the surgeon's art but extremely poor in purse. The "Drake Constitution," which was then in force forbade him to practice medicine, because he could not take the oath*, and at one time, while struggling against adverse fortune, he was on the point of leaving for the Pacific coast. During the winter of 1865-66, however, he formed an engagement with his old Alma Mater, the Missouri Medical College, and assisted in gathering the scattered faculty together once more. In the winter of 1866-67 the college was reopened, and as Professor of Anatomy he was for four or five years engaged in his favorite pursuit of teaching medicine. He had large classes, and contributed materially towards bringing the historic old institution into popular favor again. He then engaged in the private practice of medicine with distinguished success.  In 1875-76, Dr. Nidelet was appointed police commissioner.

* Part of the Constitution prepared by Charles D Drake (a Radical Republican) was embodied in what became known as the “Ironclad” or “Kucklebur” Oath, which was contained in Article 2.  It required all voters to promise that they had not committed a long list of disloyal acts.


 Addendum #5

SOURCES


Mountain Men and life in the Rocky Mountain West – Ramsay Crooks

 

Wilderness Marthas at Minnesota Historical Society

 

Crooks Family Papers as retained by the Logie Family of Ontario

 

The genealogy studies by Major-General William Alexander Logie

 

Find a Grave

 

Annals of the Forty

 

Ontario genealogy society

 

Scrapbook of Anna Barbara Logie

 

“Carte de Visite” Album of the Logie Family

 

Ancestory.com

 

Rootsweb

 

Later Day Saints