Quantum Machine Learning & Biomimetic Quantum Technologies

19-23 March 2018, Bilbao, Spain

Following the successful series of events on quantum machine learning organized in South Africa, the aim of this workshop is to go one step further and gather experts and interested colleagues in interdisciplinary research areas: from classical machine learning to quantum machine learning and quantum artificial intelligence, from theoretical developments to experimental groups in quantum technologies, as well as from memristive systems to quantum memristors and neural networks. Our goal is to enhance the sharing of ideas and the discussion of how to implement these novel ideas in current quantum platforms. We would also like to explore the latest advances on quantum algorithms applied to quantum machine learning, and the use of classical machine learning algorithms, such as genetic algorithms or autoencoders, to facilitate quantum tasks. We also intend to tap the potential of bioinspired quantum technologies, such as quantum memristors or quantum artificial intelligence, in order to develop and implement the aforementioned algorithms. We think it is time to approach the impressive theoretical developments in these fields with cutting-edge experiments in a variety of quantum technologies.

Invited Speakers

Christoph Adami* (Michigan State University)
Hans Briegel (University of Innsbruck)
Jorge Casanova (Ulm University)
Raúl Casaña-Eslava (Liverpool John Moores University)
Lucas Céleri (University of Goiás)
Max Di Ventra (UC San Diego)
Yonatan Dubi (Ben Gurion University)
Vedran Dunjko (University of Innsbruck)
Jens Eisert* (Freie Universität Berlin)
Joseph Fitzsimons (National University of Singapore)
Giacomo Indiveri* (ETH Zürich)
Mark Johnson* (D-Wave Systems)
Anthony Laing (Bristol University)
Daniel Lidar* (University of Southern California)
Seth Lloyd (MIT)
Miguel Angel Martin-Delgado* (Universidad Complutense)
José D. Martín-Guerrero (Universitat de València)
Ramón Muñoz-Tapia (Universidad Autónoma de Barcelona)
Hartmut Neven* (Google QAI Lab)
Franco Nori (RIKEN)
Yasser Omar (Instituto de Telecomunicações) 
Mauro Paternostro (Queen's University Belfast)
Sebastiano Peotta* (Aalto University)
Alejandro Perdomo-Ortiz (NASA Ames)
Borja Peropadre (Raytheon BBN Technologies)
Yuri V. Pershin* (University of South Carolina)
Paul Pfeiffer* (Bernstein Zentrum für Computational Neuroscience Berlin)
John Realpe-Gomez (NASA Ames)
Patrick Rebentrost* (MIT)
Juan Carlos Retamal (USACH)
Diego Ristè* (Raytheon BBN Technologies)
Maria Schuld (University of KwaZulu-Natal)
Fabio Sciarrino (Sapienza Università di Roma)
João Seixas* (CERN/Instituto Superior Técnico)
Matthias Steffen* (IBM Research)
Jacob Taylor (University of Maryland)
Fabio L. Traversa (UCSD)
Andreas Wallraff (ETH Zurich)
Göran Wendin (Chalmers University)
Birgitta Whaley* (UC Berkeley)
Nathan Wiebe* (Microsoft)
Frank Wilhelm (Universität des Saarlandes)
Peter Wittek (ICFO)
Roberta Zambrini (IFISC)

* To be confirmed

Organizing Committee

Mikel Sanz (Local Chair, University of the Basque Country)
Maria Schuld (International Chair, University of KwaZulu-Natal)
Enrique Solano (Local Chair, University of the Basque Country) 
Francesco Petruccione (International Chair, University of KwaZulu-Natal) 
Lucas Lamata (University of the Basque Country)
Yasser Omar (Instituto de Telecomunicações)
José D. Martín-Guerrero (Universitat de València)
Max Di Ventra (UC San Diego)

Scientific Committee

Francesco Petruccione (University of KwaZulu-Natal) 
Enrique Solano (University of the Basque Country) 
Yasser Omar (Instituto de Telecomunicações) 
Alexander Szameit (University of Rostock)
Jonas Bylander (Chalmers University)
Seth Lloyd (MIT)
Max Di Ventra (UC San Diego)
Hans Briegel (University of Innsbruck)
José D. Martín-Guerrero (Universitat de València)