Gnuse

Monday, November 12-Tuesday, November 20

posted by Michele Gnuse

 
Monday, November 12

  •  Latin America Maps
 
Tuesday, November 13

  •  Latin America Maps (Analyzing different types of maps to gain knowledge about Latin America)

Wednesday, November 14

  •  Continue map activity (Students work individually and with partners to find out information from maps)
 
Thursday, November 15

  •  Map Activity
 
Friday, November 16

  •  Finish map activity and whole group discussion
 
Monday, November 19

  •  Revisit KWL on Geography of Latin America

Tuesday, November 20

  •  Latin America Activity

Monday, November 5-Friday, November 9

posted Nov 5, 2018, 5:45 PM by Michele Gnuse


 Monday, November 5                
  •  Geography of Latin America
  • K-W-L chart
 
Tuesday, November 6

  •  Visual images of Latin America
  • Group Discussion
  • Work on KWL chart
 
Wednesday, November 7

  •  Analyzing maps of Latin America
  • Complete graphic organizer
 
Thursday, November 8

  •  Continue maps of Latin America
  • Continue graphic organizer
 
Friday, November 9

  •  No School

Monday, October 29-Friday, November 2

posted Oct 29, 2018, 6:10 AM by Michele Gnuse

 
Monday, October 29  
 
                    
  •  2nd Hour-Computer lab for Discovery Education scavenger hunt
  • All other classes-Finish jigsaw on the arts
 
Tuesday, October 30

  •  2nd hour plan end of unit project
  • All other classes-Test review
 
Wednesday, October 31


  •  2nd hour-work on project
  • All other classes-Kahoot review for test
 
Thursday, November 1

  •  All classes finish "An American Tail"
 
Friday, November 2

  •  2nd hour finish project
  • All other classes-Unit Assessment

Monday, October 22-Friday, October 26

posted Oct 21, 2018, 12:41 PM by Michele Gnuse

 

Monday, October 22


  •  Complete graphic organizer on different immigrants to the U.S. and Canada
  • Start "How Immigration Affects Culture"
  • Read and watch video segments
 

Tuesday, October 23


  •  Continue "How Immigration Affects Culture"
  • Read, discuss and watch video segments
  • Students start graphic organizer on Culture and Immigration
 

Wednesday, October 24


  •  Complete graphic organizer
  • Students play "3 Truths and a Lie"
 

Thursday, October 25


  •  Students jigsaw an activity regarding Music, Arts, Literature and Sports. Students will work in groups to teach each other about their assigned group.
 

Friday, October 26


  •  Students will share jigsaws and main idea sentences with their assigned groups

Monday, October 15-Friday, October 19

posted Oct 15, 2018, 6:26 AM by Michele Gnuse


 Monday, October 15                        
  •  Finish notes on From Rural to Urban
  • Answer question: How and why has the population distribution in the United States and Canada changed over time?
  • Begin First Cultures
  • 2nd hour (Amish and Technology)
 

Tuesday, October 16    

  •  Continue First Cultures
  • Students watch video segment on Reservation Life Today
  • What original cultures existed in the U.S. and Canada?
 
Wednesday, October 17    

  •  Immigration
  • How did the cultures in the United States and Canada change after Europeans came to the region?
 
Thursday, October 18    

  •  Video Segments on people coming to the United States
  • Graphic organizer on Diverse Experiences
 

Friday, October 19

  •  Students complete graphic organizer and turn it in

Monday, October 8-Friday, October 12

posted Oct 8, 2018, 5:50 PM by Michele Gnuse

 
Monday, October 8    

  •  Columbus Day-No School
 
Tuesday, October 9    

  •  Tests passed back (signed tests due Friday   for retake)
  • Test reflection and data tracking
  • People and Culture of the U.S. and Canada-A Melting Pot
 
Wednesday, October 10    

  •  Population Distribution in the United States and Canada
 

Thursday, October 11    

  •  Finish Population Distribution 
  • Rural to Urban Migration
 

Friday, October 12

  •  Complete Rural to Urban Migration
  • First Culture in the U.S.

Monday, October 1-Friday, October 5

posted Sep 30, 2018, 5:00 PM by Michele Gnuse   [ updated Sep 30, 2018, 5:05 PM ]

 
Monday, October 1

  • Latitude/Longitude Sheet due
  • Review for Test
  • Homework: Study for test
  • Please sign up for Student led conferences at the following link: Student Led Conference Sign-Up
 
Tuesday, October 2

  •  5 Themes of Geography Test
  • All late work must be turned in by end of day in order to receive credit
 
Wednesday, October 3

  •  Introduction to US/Canada
 
Thursday, October 4

  •  No School-Quincy Conference
 
Friday, October 5

  •  No School-Quincy Conference

Monday, September 17-Friday, September 28

posted Sep 17, 2018, 7:43 AM by Michele Gnuse   [ updated Sep 17, 2018, 10:49 AM ]

 
Monday, September 17

  •  Constitution Day Lesson
  • What is the Constitution and why is it needed?
 
Tuesday, September 18

  •  Finish taking notes on the 5 Themes of Geography
 
Wednesday, September 19

  •  Students apply the 5 Themes of Geography to Quincy Junior High School on an organizer
  • Class discussionn
  • Students turn in organizer
 
Thursday, September 20

  •  Class read aloud: Boxes for Katje
  • Students work in partnerships to decipher 5 Themes of Geography in the text
 
Friday, September 21

  •  All tests must be signed and returned for re-take
  • Students explore the physical geography of the United States using a physical map
 
Monday, September 24

  •  Students explore the physical geography of  Mexico using a physical map
 
Tuesday, September 25

  •  Begin latitude/longitude for finding locations on a map
 
Wednesday, September 26

  •  Continue finding locations using latitude/longitude
  • Practice sheet handed out (due Friday)

Thursday, September 26

  •  Start reviewing for 5 Themes assessment

 
Friday, September 27
  •  Review Game for 5 Themes assessment
  • Practice sheet due 

Monday, September 10-Friday, September 14

posted Sep 10, 2018, 6:10 AM by Michele Gnuse

 

Monday, September 10
  •  All Torn Maps turned in
  • Test review
  • Test on Wednesday (Continents and Oceans)

 Tuesday, September 11        

  •  Class review for test
 
Wednesday, September 12

  • Test on Continents and Oceans

 Thursday, September 13
  •   Intro. video on 5 Themes of Geography
  • Start notes on 5 Themes
 
Friday, September 14
 
  • Continue notes on 5 Themes

Monday, September 30-Friday, September 7

posted Sep 3, 2018, 6:45 PM by Michele Gnuse   [ updated Sep 3, 2018, 7:08 PM ]

 
Monday, September 3     
 
    
 
  • Labor Day-No School
 
Tuesday, September 4

  • Finish notes on continents and oceans
  • Pass out practice page (due Thursday)
  • Start Understanding Map Basics
 
Wednesday, September 5

  • Labeling world map
  • Extra practice: South America Political Map
 
Thursday, September 6

  • Torn World Map (In-class group activity)
  • Students turn in Homework
 
Friday, September 7

 
  • Torn World Map (In-class group activity)
  • Looking ahead...Continents and Oceans test next Tuesday...

1-10 of 12