Gnuse

Monday, May 21-Friday, May 25

posted May 21, 2018, 1:10 PM by Michele Gnuse

This week students are working on a project called "Let's Go on an Adventure" Students will work in groups to plan a vacation somewhere in the world for a family of 4. They will be required to research the location, calculate costs of hotel, airfare, transportation, meals, attractions, and a rental car. They will have a budget of $15,000. 

Monday, May 14- Friday, May 18

posted May 14, 2018, 12:18 PM by Michele Gnuse

Monday, May 14
  • Savvy Shopper (learning the difference between credit and debit cards)
Tuesday,  May 15
  • Keeping Score (Learning about credit scores)
Wednesday, May 16
  • Complete Keeping Score (credit score)
Thursday, May 17
  • What's The Risk? (Learning about insurance)
Friday, May 18
  • Complete JA
  • Intro to planning a trip to their dream city

Monday, May 7-Friday, May 11

posted May 7, 2018, 1:01 PM by Michele Gnuse

Monday, May 7
  • Students finish North Korea video
  • Start Junior Achievement (Skills/Interests/Beliefs)
Tuesday, May 8
  • JA-World at Work
  • Career Goal Chart
Wednesday, May 9
  • JA-Be a Success Game
Thursday, May 10
  • JA-Students create a budget based on salaries on Occupation Cards
Friday, May 11
  • Discussion on how consumers pay for goods and services

Monday, April 30-Friday, May 4

posted Apr 30, 2018, 1:33 PM by Michele Gnuse

Monday, April 30
  • Test review for Asia Assessment
  • Test on Friday
Tuesday, May 1
  • Complete test review
  • Test on Friday
Wednesday, May 2
  • Video on life in Vietnam
  • Students complete a Venn Diagram comparing and contrasting Vietnam and USA
  • Venn Diagram is due tomorrow
Thursday, May 3
  • Life in North Korea
  • Venn Diagram due
Friday, May 4
  • Asia Assessment

Monday, April 23-Friday, April 27

posted Apr 23, 2018, 9:30 AM by Michele Gnuse

Monday, April 23
  • Challenges in Asia: Geography of Asia (Notes and short answer)
  • Challenges in Asia: Tradition vs. Modernization (Notes and short answer)
Tuesday, April 24
  • Challenges in Asia: Overpopulation and Urbanization (Notes and short answer)
  • Challenges in Asia: Controversial Topics (Notes and short answer)
Wednesday, April 25
  • Challenges in Asia: World Connections (Notes and short answer)
Thursday, April 26
  • Video: Daily Life in China
Friday, April 27
  • Video: Daily Life in Vietnam

Monday, April 16-Friday, April 20

posted Apr 16, 2018, 1:07 PM by Michele Gnuse   [ updated Apr 18, 2018, 11:02 AM ]

Monday, April 16
  • Read and discuss an Asian country as a class
  • Model note taking strategies in a large group
Tuesday, April 17
  • Students work in assigned groups reading, discussing and taking notes on remainder of Asian countries
Wednesday, April 18
  • Students final day for reading, discussion and note taking
  • 5 countries must be complete in packet
  • Packets collected
Thursday, April 19
  • Japan Video
Friday, April 20
  • Challenges in Asia: Geography of Asia and Tradition and Modernization

Monday, April 9-Friday, April 13

posted Apr 9, 2018, 11:53 AM by Michele Gnuse

Monday, April 9
  • Students complete assessment on Australia and Surrounding Areas
Tuesday, April 10
  • Introduction video to Asia
Wednesday, April 11
  •  Atlas Activity: Comparing Asia Countries and the United States
Thursday, April 12
  •  Atlas Activity: Comparing Asian Countries and the United States (share out)

Friday, April 13
  • Walking Tour: Model expectations

Monday, April 2-Friday, April 6

posted Mar 23, 2018, 8:36 AM by Michele Gnuse

Monday, April 2
  • No School
Tuesday, April 3
  • People, Food and Culture of Australia, New Zealand and Oceania
  • Students complete graphic organizer
Wednesday, April 4
  • Students finish graphic organizer on culture of Australia, New Zealand and Oceania
  • Begin reviewing for test
Thursday, April 5
  • Review for Australia, New Zealand and Oceania assessment
Friday, April 6
  • Assessment on Australia, New Zealand and Oceania

Monday, March 19-Friday, March 23

posted Mar 18, 2018, 1:07 PM by Michele Gnuse

Monday, March 23
  • Whole class finishes GREASES activity on Australia
  • Students work with a partner to complete GREASES activity on New Zealand
Tuesday, March 23
  • Students individually work on GREASES activity on the islands of Oceania
  • Individual GREASES sheets will be due on Friday
Wednesday, March 24
  • Using a main idea web to learn about the region of Australia and the arrival of Europeans
Thursday, March 25
  • Students finish main idea web
  • Students will be given time to finish their GREASES sheet on Oceania (Sheets due on Friday)
Friday, March 26
  • People of Australia and the Diverse Culture
  • Begin a graphic organizer to easily compare and contrast different areas in the region

Monday, March 12-Friday, March 16

posted Mar 12, 2018, 11:31 AM by Michele Gnuse

Monday, March 12
  • KWL on Australia and discussion
  • Australia preview video
Tuesday, March 13
  • Students explore  maps of Australia and complete map exploration chart. Students will turn in map exploration chart when complete.
Wednesday, March 14
  • Students continue analyzing the maps of Australia and finish exploration chart (Students will turn this in when complete)
  • Last day for Nigeria projects to be turned in. No exceptions.
Thursday, March 15
  • Practice assessment on Geography of Australia
  • People and Culture of Australia, Oceania and Antarctica 
  • Image viewing and essential question
Friday, March 16
  • Continue People and Culture
  • Students write about essential question

1-10 of 38