Call for Papers

QCAV 2013

11th International Conference on Quality Control by Artificial Vision
May 30 - June 1, Fukuoka, Japan
The even will be held at Nishijin Plaza, Kyushu University, Fukuoka.
For more details, please check here.

Important dates

Paper proposal due (Extended): Jan.7, 2013. Jan.21, 2013. Feb.4, 2013 Notification of acceptance: February 22, 2013. March 4, 2013. Camera-ready paper due: April 15, 2013

The objective of the QCAV2013 conference is to provide a forum for
researchers, engineers, suppliers and users of vision systems to present
and discuss the state-of-the-art in machine and computer vision and
image processing techniques, with an emphasis on quality control.
The conference will also offer an opportunity to fill the gap between
artificial vision and image processing community and people working
in application fields. 
The presentations will include contributed papers, poster sessions
and invited speakers for state-of the-art or key-note talks in specialized
subjects related to the conference topics. Papers describing original work
concerning the theoretical and experimental aspects of image processing
are invited. The International Scientific Committee invites authors
to submit original unpublished paper proposals.

Papers describing novel theoretical, experimental, and applied work in image
processing and computer vision for quality control are welcomed. Papers
are solicited from, but not limited to, the following categories:
  • Optical, Electron, X-ray, Ultrasound and other Imaging Modalities
  • Image Acquisition, Vision Sensors and Systems
  • Non-destructive Testing and Metrology
  • Image Processing and Segmentation
  • Image Interpretation and Pattern Recognition
  • Image Analysis and Geometrical Description
  • Process Automation, Characterization and Control
Papers are particularly encouraged from, but not limited to, the following
application fields:

Invited talks See special talk page.

General Chair
Fabrice MERIAUDEAU (Universite' de Bourgogne, France)
Rin-ichiro TANIGUCHI (Kyushu University, Japan)

Program Committee (tentative)
Philippe BOLON (University of Savoie, France)(Co-chair)
Kanghyun JO (University of Ulsan, Korea)
Kazuhiko SUMI (Aoyama Gakuin University, Japan)
Syed Abdul Rahman Syed ABU BAKAR (UTM, Malaysia)
Luciano da Fontoura COSTA (University of Sao Paulo, Brazil)
Yoshimitsu AOKI (Keio Gijuku University, Japan)
Philip R. BINGHAM (Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA)
Reiner DUDZIAK (Bochum University of Applied Sciences, Germany)
David FOFI (Universite' de Bourgogne, France)
Igor GUROV (Saint Petersburg National Research University of Information Technologies, Mechanics and Optics, Russia)
Manabu HASHIMOTO (Chukyo University, Japan)
Masayuki HATTORI (Panasonic, Japan)
Akira ISHII (Kagawa University, Japan)
Thomas P. KARNOWSKI (Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA)
Kunihito KATO (Gifu University, Japan)
Tetsuo KOEZUKA (Fujitsu Laboratory, Japana)
Akio KOSAKA (Olympus, Japan)
Makoto KURUMISAWA (Asahi Glass, Japan)
Frederic LAMARQUE (UTC, France)
Sarifuddin Madenda (Universitas Gunadarma, Indonesia)
Xavier MALDAGUE (Universite' Laval, Canada)
Robert Marti' MARLY (University of Girona, Spain)
Fabrice MERIAUDEAU (University of Burgundy, France)
Vittorio MURINO (Istituto Italiano di Tecnologia, Italy)
Hajime NAGAHARA (Kyushu University, Japan)
Akio NAKAMURA (Tokyo Denki University, Japan)
Kurt S. NIEL (University of Applied Sciences Upper Austria, Austria)
Minoru NOGUCHI (Hitachi Hi-technologies, Japan)
Jean Charles PINOLI (Ecole Nationale Superieure des Mines de Saint-Etienne, France)
Satoru TAKAHASHI (Kagawa University, Japan)
Kenji TERADA (Tokushima University, Japan)
Kazunori UMEDA (Chuo University, Japan)
Atsushi YAMASHITA (Tokyo University, Japan)

Organizing Chair
Hajime Nagahara (Kyushu University, Japan)
Advisory Committee Philippe BOLON (University of Savoie, France)
Shun-ichi KANEKO (Hokkaido University, Japan)
Hiroyasu KOSHIMIZU (Chukyo University, Japan)
Seiji HATA (Kagawa University, Japan)
Kazuhiko YAMAMOTO (Gufu University, Japan)

Local Arrangement
Daisaku ARITA (ISIT, Japan) Chair

Chikahito NAKAJIMA (CRIEPI, Japan): Chair

Toshikazu ONDA (Meidensha, Japan): Chair
Publicity Atsushi SHIMADA (Kyushu University, Japan) Chair


Also supported by

Technical Sponsor

  • IEEE Industrial Electronics Society
  • IEEE Fukuoka Section
  • Society of Academic Study on Sensing via Image Information, SSII
  • Collaborative Research Committee on Cutting Edge and Socially Spreading Pattern Recognition Technologies driven by the Applications in HISEIBI Environment, IEEJ
  • TC on Pattern Measurement, SICE
  • SIG Computer Vision and Image Media, IPS
  • IEICE Technical Committee on Pattern Recognition and Media Understanding (PRMU)
  • Technical Committee on Fusional Sensing via Multiple Sensory Perceptions
    The Institute of Electrical Engineers of Japan (IEEJ)
  • Graduate School / Faculty of Information Science and Electrical Engineering, Kyushu University