Scholarships and Awards

  • Excellence Award for Innovation in Curriculum, Teaching and Learning by the Australian Association for Engineering Education (AAEE), 2007
  • PhD thesis nominated for the Dean’s list (All examiners unanimously made this recommendation - a recognition to be among the top 10% of all PhDs), 2007
  • University of Canterbury Doctoral Scholarship, 2003
  • University of Canterbury Masters Scholarship, 2000
  • G B Battersby-Trimble Scholarship in Computer Science for Masters, 2000 (turned down to accept the University of Canterbury Masters Scholarship)
  • G B Battersby-Trimble Scholarship in Computer Science for B.Sc. honours, 1999
  • Gertrude Ardagh Holmes Bursary Fund scholarship, 1997
  • Granted direct entry to second year B.Sc. (Computer Science) at the University of Canterbury - based on excellent university entrance exam results, 1997
  • Obtained A Bursary standard with two scholarships at university entrance examina-tion, 1996
  • Distinction, Australian Mathematics Competition, Senior Division, 1996


  • Runner up Dux (Second best student in school- university entrance level), Newlands College, Wellington, New Zealand, 1996
  • Represented Sri Lanka at SEARCC International Software Competition, Colombo, Sri Lanka, 1995
  • Merit award in national schools software competition, Computer Society of Sri Lanka, 1995