SCARA‎ > ‎SCARA Notices‎ > ‎

SCARA 13th Annual Reunion Lunch

posted 10 Nov 2018, 13:34 by Mike Chapman   [ updated 11 Nov 2018, 00:22 ]

We could have asked for better weather Thursday 1st November 2018 but not for a more successful 13th Annual Reunion.  Thank you to everyone who helped make it such an enjoyable day.

If you have a story to share with us about the day please let’s hear from you.  

Unfortunately, a few people did experienced transport difficulties with cancelled or slow running trains.  Ray Andrews and his wife Lynn were delayed by both trains and a torrential downpour which brought the London traffic to a standstill!  Fortunately, there was plenty of food so nobody went hungry.  Others like Wendy Carr enjoyed a chat en route to the event with some good-looking soldiers collecting for the Poppy Appeal and got a lovely pic to prove it.   

I am also aware that some of our members extended the reunion with a trip to the pub – possibly to avoid the rush hour traffic?  

It was a pleasure to welcome Tom Boardley as our guest speaker.  Tom, gave us a brief history of his career in the shipping industry finishing with an update of his new role in the Cruise industry. Just like the container industry, cruise ship owners are intent on increasing ship size to gain benefits of scale. Unlike our container industry however, they seem able to make a consistent profit!   

We were very pleased to see Lady St. Johnston and Bob Bowen, SCARA Vice Presidents, at the reunion.  Lady St. Johnston made the presentation of the silver rose bowl to Adrian Malupa who was this year’s winner of the Golf Challenge.  And Bob, well he was his usual cheeky self and a pleasure to see.  

The list of members who registered for the SCARA reunion is printed below.    

Belinda McCormack
SCARA Membership Sec.

Mr John Adams 
Ms Myrtle Alexander
Mr Raymond Andrews
Mrs Lynn Andrews
Mr Stephen Barraclough 
Mr James Baxter
Mr Terry Bethell
Mr Tony Blumer OBE
Mr Mike Board
Mr Tom Boardley
Mr Alan Bott OBE
Mr Bob Bowen

Mr Pat Boyle
Mr Jens Peder Braendeholm
Mrs Marilyn Braendeholm
Mr Lee Brewer
Mrs Wendy Carr

Mrs Rosemarie Cast
Mrs Sue Cessford
Mr Stanley Chalk
Miss Joan Chapman
Mr Mike Chapman
Mr David Charlesworth
Mr Trevor Chase
Mr Nigel Chew
Capt Bryan Chipperfield
Mr Ian Clark
Mr Tony Coughlin
Mr Peter Davies
Mr Ray Davis
Mrs Sandra Davy
Mrs Karen Diwell
Mrs Sue Evans
Miss Carol Fielding
Mr Edmund Filus 

Mrs Pam Garofalo
Mr Geoff Garner
Mrs Jane Gooch
Mr Bob Gooch
Mr Ian Grant 

Mrs Ann Guirey
Mr Danny Hallahan
Mr John Hallahan
Mr Adam Hedges
Mrs Jackie Honour
Mrs Sandra Isaacson
Mrs Agnes King
Mr Martin Lloyd
Mr John Loftin
Mr Ian Malcolm
Mr Adrian Malupa
Mr Philip Marks
Mrs Carol Marquis
Mr Tony Mason
Mrs Belinda McCormack

Mrs Erica Merrifield-Harris
Mr Clifford Miller
Mr Robert Milton
Mr Simon Moore 
Mr Todd Moore
Mr Patrick Moore OBE
Mr Stewart Moult
Mr Peter Nicholls
Mr Paul Nixon
Mrs Sylvia Norton
Mr Joe O'Brien
Mrs Tina Osborne
Capt Ken Owen
Mrs Debbie Paxton
Mrs Barbara Pease

Ms Hilary Perring
Ms Christine Phillippo
Mr Mark Poulter
Mr Derek Putman
Mr Anton Ratnayake
Ms Vicky Revill-Whelan
Mr John Richardson
Mrs Debbie Risbridger
Mrs Daphne Roberts
Mr John Roberts

Mrs Lynne Robertson
Mr Colin Rumble
Mr Graham Russell
Mrs Fiona Ruxton
Mr Trevor Ruxton
Mrs Susan Sellens
Mrs Lindy Seymour
Mr Michael Seymour

Mr Geoff Sharman 
Mr Stefan Sheriden
Mr Mike Shoesmith
Mr Roy Smith
Mr Stanley Smulders
Lady St Johnston
Mr John Stutely
Mrs Priscilla Stutely
Mr Ian Thomson

Mr Adrian Tucker 
Mr Edward van Dorp
Ms Jean Wheeler
Mr Nigel Wilks
Mr Martyn Willetts
Mr David Wilson