Peter Graham Osborne. 黑碧德. Baongong Agriscience Center.

Born 1957, Australia. Highschool education - Papua New Guinea & Australia.

BSc Hon Zoology - Australian National University.
Ph.D Brain Phisiology - Howard Florey Institute, Melbourne University.
In Taiwan: In 2009 I started work at the Department of Life Sciences at National Donghwa University in Taiwan. 2010-2011 I was Guest Professor of Neuroscience in the Department of Psychology. I devised and was responsible for the undergraduate courses 'Physiological Pschology', 'Introduction to Neuropsychology' and post graduate 'Science movies for presentation'. Prior to coming to Taiwan I focused my research on the physiology of mammalian hibernation. Hibernation research is not yet possible in Taiwan and now I research the psychology and neurochemical basis of betel quid addiction. I co-ordinated the Binlang Psychological and Neurophysiological Research Group. More information about the results of our experiments and publications The psychological, physiological and EEG characterisation of betel quid intoxication' in PloSOne at this link  In 2011 I finished work at NDHU to focus of improving my Mandarin. I finished 3 months Mardarin study at TsuChi University. Unfortunately my Mandarin is still basic, much better but still basic. I taught English to medical and language students at Tsuchi University in 2011. Sadly their are no real jobs on the east coast of Taiwan for foreign neuroscientists. Local university politics is such that unless you want to trade being a scientist for an English teacher you will be disappointed. In 2012 I started making science radio documentaries for Tsuchi public radio under the program name of Tilting at Windmills ? Currently I am part time lecturer, part time proof reader and part time builder.
History: Prior to coming to Taiwan I have lived and researched productively in Australia, Antarctica, America, China, Japan and Sweden in academic and business environments. This roving research life style results from my need to satisfy my curiosity about cultures and a need to follow employment opportunities. Life in these cultures has given me a diverse range of skills, honed my ability for independent thought and action and educated me to the value and complexity of diversity.
 Currently: I am seeking a stimulating teaching/research environment that will value an international attitude towards scientific research and student education to which I can contribute. I am committed to providing the most thorough and international education to the students I teach.
Languages: English – adequate, Japanese – conversational, Mandarin – basic but I am working on this.
Hobbies: surfing, digging weeds on my paddock.
Likes: opera & kabuki, merlot & atsukan, eggplant musaka & choudofu, strong weather & art galleries.  
Dislikes: inflexible bureaucracy, bigotry.


Subpages (1): Web page contents