Race Report – Points Series – Sunday 17th June 2017

posted 13 Jun 2017, 11:19 by Perth Sailing Club

               Sunday evening saw the resumption of Racing at Lairwell after the break for the RYA training courses. Although there was a good turnout, not everybody decided to brave the squally conditions on the Tay. With force 4 winds gusting to a force 6 on occasion only four boats took to the water. Peter Bevan Race Officer for the day set a triangular course with all marks to Port.  Peter then helped Gillie Amatt in the Rescue boat allowing Leonie Poor to start the race and take the times. Everybody got away to a good start with some close sailing towards the windward mark. Jack Douglas (Streaker /Flat OoT)) capsized on his way to the downwind mark and only 34 seconds separated the first three boats on the first lap. Andrew Porteous helming his Albacore (Kelpie) crewed by Vicky Wright were early leaders overtaken on occasion by Bob Watson in his Laser (Blue Meanie). Bob could not maintain his lead and was overhauled on the last lap. Hunter Williamson did well to maintain close contact with the leading boats and was required to perform two penalty turns on the very last lap as he collided with Bob in his laser. It was Andrew and Vicky over the line first followed by Bob then Hunter.

               The wind strength increased for the second race of the day. All sailors got away to a good start with Andrew  & Vicky (Kelpie) in the lead followed by Jack Douglas (Flaty Oot)  then Bob Watson (Blue Meanie).  During lap two the two leading boats were the Albacore of Andrew & Vicky and Bob in the Laser.  During lap three Hunter capsized and called on the Rescue boat crewed by Peter Bevan & Gillie Amatt to help out. Hunter was still being recovered from the water on the final lap, when Jack was caught by a fierce gust and capsized for the second time that evening. At the finish It was Andrew & Vicky over the line followed three minutes later by Bob in the Laser.       

Results after Handicap:-

Sun 10.6.17: Race 1 – 1st Whoof (H.Williamson) 2nd Blue Meanie (B.Watson) 3rd Kelpie (A.Porteous/V.Wright)

                         Race 2 – 1st Kelpie (A.Porteous/V.Wright) 2nd Blue Meanie (B.Watson)