Race Report - General Sailing and Final Heathens & Points Race of the 2017 Season

posted 30 Oct 2017, 16:10 by Perth Sailing Club   [ updated 30 Oct 2017, 16:29 ]

It was a fantastic weekend of sailing for the finale of the sailing season at Perth Sailing Club. Nine boats went out on Saturday’s General Sailing day enjoying the light winds and the fine conditions. Novices and expert sailors alike were able to practice their skills. One Dutch freighter heading down river was escorted through the fleet by the rescue boat.

                Sunday was the very last race of the 2017 season and the club had one of the best turnouts of the year. Twelve boats took part in the last of the Heathens & Points race. Conditions were very light at the start of the race. Race Officer Vicky Wright, set a long figure of eight course with the windward mark, just east of Moncrieffe Island.  All boats got away to a clean start with Euan MacDonald in his RS Aero7 pulling away from the fleet followed by Bob Watson in his Enterprise.  The wind eased as all boats headed under the Friarton Bridge and this made conditions difficult even with an incoming tide. The race was shortened to three rounds and it was Euan who crossed the line ahead of Bob by a minute on the first lap. Eric Taylor in his Phantom was lying in third place and there was close racing between the two Solos of Andrew Porteous and Hunter Williamson, who were the two contenders battling it out in this final race for the Heathens Trophy. Bob in his Enterprise took advantage of the light conditions to overtake Euan and was in the lead at Lap two with Peter Bevan in his Miracle now in second place aided by the use of his spinnaker. Jack Douglas Safety Officer guided the Tourist Boat Badger through the racers  as the fleet headed back up the river. At the back of the fleet were the following boats, the RS quest sailed by Munro Gauld, Brian Thorburn in his Wanderer and Sam Gleave in the Laser making the best of a delayed start due to rigging issues. The wind picked up at the start of the last lap and this allowed the fleet to catch up with the leaders.  Audrey Robertson in her Streaker was going pretty well as was Sandy Roger trying out the other Firefly. Both Eric and Bob hit the last mark on the final round and had to do penalty turns before finishing. At the line it was Euan MacDonald (RS Aero), followed by Andrew Porteous (Solo), then Bill Inches (Firefly) and Bob Watson (Enterprise).

Members are reminded that there is Bonfire night Party on the 5th November and the 67th Anniversary & Prize-giving Dinner will be held in the Willowgate Café on the 11th November.               

Results after Handicap:-

Sun 29/10/17:

Heathens 1 – 1st Ptarmigan (P.Bevan) 2nd Aeolian (B.Watson) 3rd Hellespont (B.Inches)

2017 Heathens Trophy Winner Andrew Porteous