Friendship Series - 20th and 21st July 2019

posted 4 Aug 2019, 14:36 by Perth Sailing Club

               The Friendship Trophy donated by the Tay Corinthians Club of Dundee was competed for over two days of racing.  Eight boats took part in the first of 4 races to decide the overall winner. Conditions were sufficient to allow three laps to be completed with Jim Galloway in his Solo (Woodpecker) finishing ahead by just ten seconds from Cadet Ivan Kossko racing a full rigged Laser for the first time with Hunter Williamson in his Solo (Whoof) third. The breeze got up for the second race of the day and after another three lap race it was Peter Bevan in his Streaker over the line followed by Ivan in the Laser and Hunter again in third. Day two of the Friendship Series saw six boats on the water with Andrew Porteous (Whooper) making a flying start but it was James Curley who reached the Mark B first. A gust allowed Munro Gauld and daughter Molly in the RS Quest to shoot through the fleet but collide with another boat incurring a 720 degree penalty turn. The race was shortened due to the wind easing allowing James Curley (Bear) to cross the line first followed by Andrew Porteous (Whooper) with Doug Ogilvie in his Miracle Boofuls 3 in third place. Due to the falling wind conditions the last race of the series was changed to a two mark sausage course.  Doug in Boofuls 3 took an early lead followed by James (Bear) and Andrew (Whooper). Ivan was doing really well in the Laser overtaking on the outside. Ivan left his best moves until the last five metres beating Andrew to the line by 30cm.  James was third over the line followed by Doug.      

Positions after Handicap:-

Sat 20/7/19

Race 1 – 1st Woodpecker (J.Galloway) 2nd Boofuls3 (D.Ogilvie) 3rd Laser (I.Kossko)

Race 2 – 1st Woodpecker (J.Galloway) 2nd Streaker (P.Bevan) 3rd Whoof (H.Williamson)

Sun 21/7/19

Race 1 – 1st Bear (J.Curley) 2nd Whooper (A.Porteous) 3rd Boofuls3 (D.Ogilvie)

Race 2 – 1st Whooper (A.Porteous) 2nd Bear (J.Curley) 3rd Laser (I.Kossko)

Overall Winner of Friendship Trophy:  Andrew Porteous (Whooper)