Sherwood Anderson


Sherwood Anderson (1876 – 1941) was an American writer, mainly of short stories, most notably the collection Winesburg, Ohio. His influence on American fiction was profound. Anderson, whose prose style, derived from everyday speech, influenced American short story writing between World Wars I and II. He made his name as a leading naturalistic writer with his masterwork, Winesburg, Ohio (1919), a picture of life in a typical small Midwestern town, as seen through the eyes of its inhabitants. Together, these loosely related character studies, form a novel of unusual unity and vision.


A TV version was made in 1973 starring Joseph and Timothy Bottoms as George Willard, Jean Peters as Elizabeth Willard, Curt Conway as Will Henderson, Norman Foster as Old Pete, Dabbs Greer as Parcival, Albert Salmi as Tom Willard, Laurette Spang as Helen White, and William Windom as Dr. Reefy.


A musical of the same name won the Barrymore Award for "Outstanding musical" in 2006.



From LibriVox:

  1. Winesburg, Ohio    (Listed on Modern Library roster of the 20th Century's 100 Greatest Novels in English
  2. Brothers  (5th story from the Short Story Collection 036)
  3. The Man in the Brown Coat  (11th story from the Short Story Collection 038)
  4. The Dumb Man  (3rd Short Story Collection # 040)
  5. The Egg  (4th Short Story Collection # 040)

    6.  The Book of the Grotesque (18th story in short story #49)

    7.  The Triumph of the Egg: A Book of Impressions from American Life In Tales and Poems - The Triumph of the Egg” is a collection of stories and poems by Sherwood Anderson. Abandoning the interconnected quality of his more famous “Winesburg, Ohio,” the author adopts a variety of perspectives and settings while exploring similar themes: personal growth, disillusionment, loneliness, and urban-rural contrast. 

    8.  Windy McPherson's Son - Windy McPherson's Son is the story of Sam McPherson's rise in the world of business and search for emotional enlightenment in later life. McPherson starts out as an ambitious newsboy in Caxton, Ohio, with drunkard of a father who constantly embarrasses him. Eventually, after his mother's death and an episode with a middle-aged schoolteacher, McPherson leaves Caxton for Chicago. In Chicago, he gets a job as a buyer of farm implements and establishes his reputation in business. While his professional life is blossoming, his personal life suffers. After meeting Sue Rainey, the daughter of his boss Colonel Rainey, they get married and twice fail to have children. Following a business deal that forces his father-in-law out of his own company, McPherson and Sue Rainey separate. One day, once McPherson had become quite wealthy, he gets a telegram saying that Colonel Rainey committed suicide. This causes Sam to realize that he is unhappy with his life. This feeling inspires him to leave Chicago and travel all over becoming involved in various adventures. Finally, McPherson's comes across a promiscuous and alcoholic mother of three children. A deal is made and McPherson gets custody of the children. Showing up with the children at Sue's current place of residence, the five of them become family.