Robert Heinlein





Robert A Heinlein 1907 –1988) was an American novelist and science fiction writer. Often called "the dean of science fiction writers", he is one of the most popular, influential, and controversial authors of "hard science fiction". He set a high standard for science and engineering plausibility and helped to raise the genre's standards of literary quality. He was the first writer to break into mainstream, general magazines such as The Saturday Evening Post, in the late 1940s, with unvarnished science fiction. He was among the first authors of bestselling, novel-length science fiction in the modern, mass-market era. For many years, Heinlein, Isaac Asimov, and Arthur C. Clarke were known as the "Big Three" of science fiction.


From Archive Org:

 1Methuselah’s Children   by   Robert Heinlein (Audio in 6 parts):

Robert A. Heinlein first published Methuselah's Children in a serialized version in the magazine Astounding Science Fiction in July through September 1941. He completely rewrote, expanded and republished the novel independently in 1958.

When Methuselah's Children saw light of day in 1941, the Holocaust was well under way with the S.S. rounding up Jews and others deemed undesirable, and shipping them to concentration camps for the "final solution." Just as Eve Barstow, referring to her neighbors, in the novel opined, "I cannot believe they would hate me and destroy me," real living Jews had the same misimpression under the Third Reich's actuality. They became scapegoats, just as the Howard Families do. As the Howard Families would have done given the choice many of the Jews of the Third Reich for the most part simply expressed increasing disbelief, resignation and powerlessness and wound up martyred. Rights were suspended for the minority while the many turned a blind eye or actively supported "cleansing" and genocide. When the novel was being rewritten for its second publication in the 1950s, the citizenry of United States for the first time during the author's adult lifetime were enjoying great material prosperity and becoming far less willing to dedicate themselves to hard chores. There is more than a hint in this novel that he found this defect as disconcerting as earlier lassitude to genocide.

The adventures of Lazarus Long and his branch of the Howards continue well beyond this novel into Time Enough For Love (1973), The Number of the Beast (1980), and To Sail Beyond the Sunset (1987). Heinlein places Methuselah's Children near the end of his Future History, from 2136 to 2210.


From SFF Audio:


2.  Solution Unsatisfactory – (3 parts)

Solution Unsatisfactory describes an American super-secret project to develop an atomic super-weapon that proves vital to the Allied triumph of World War II. ‘So what,’ you say. ‘That’s old news.’ And you’d be right, the atomic bombs dropped on Hiroshima and Nagasaki in 1945. But what’s weird is, Solution Unsatisfactory was published in 1940, a full half decade before the atom bomb was even known to exist by the general public. What’s more, Heinlein’s story goes on to foresee the coming cold war with the Soviet Union and the concomitant race to arm with atomic weapons. Heinlein’s story doesn’t actually foretell the same events that happened, but the similarities are pretty eerie.”


From Archive.Org:


3.  They  

They: A man in a mental hospital is convinced that the world around him is fabricated solely to prevent him from realizing the ultimate truth behind existence.

The narrator shows all signs of paranoid schizophrenia, suspecting even his Doctor and his own wife of being in on a plot to create the illusion of an innocuous, fatuous world around him. 

 4.  Orphans of the Sky - X Minus One Radio Program

The title of the show is given as "Mars is Heaven", but the show contained is "Orphans of the Sky"

Orphans of the Sky is a 1963 science fiction novel by Robert A. Heinlein, consisting of two parts: "Universe" (Astounding Science Fiction, May 1941) and its sequel, "Common Sense" (Astounding Science Fiction, October 1941).

The gigantic, cylindrical generation ship Vanguard, originally destined for Proxima Centauri, is cruising pilotless through interstellar space as a result of a failed mutiny that killed all of the piloting officers. The descendants of the surviving crew have forgotten the purpose and nature of their ship over time and lapsed into a pre-technological culture infested with superstition. Most crew members lead a simple illiterate life of farming, never venturing to the "upper decks" where the "muties" (mutants or mutineers) dwell. These descendants of the loyalists — who live in the lower, outer levels of the cylinder — believe their world is the entire Universe, not realizing they live inside a spaceship. They are ruled by an oligarchy of "Officers" and "Scientists", whose head is the putative heir or successor of the original Captain.

They still use the term "The Ship" for where they live, but it has come to mean "The World" or in fact "The Universe" so that "To move the ship" is considered an oxymoron. Old texts talking of "The Voyage" are interpreted as a metaphor for the voyage from birth to death.

5.  "X Minus One Radio Program # 78 - Universe" from X Minus One Radio Program

This radio program "Universe" is another version of "Orphans of the Sky".

6.   SSREP09 The Green Hills of Earth

This is a episode of Spaceship Radio Hosted by Andy Doan, it features X Minus One writen by Robert Heinlein. It was uploaded Oct 1 2005 

From Escapepod.Org:

 1.  EP 200: All You Zombies

"The Unmarried Mother was a man twenty–five years old, no taller than I am, childish features and a touchy temper. I didn’t like his looks—I never had—but he was a lad I was here to recruit, he was my boy. I gave him my best barkeep’s smile. ....."

 From and others:

1.  Podkayne Of Mars

 Podkayne of Mars is a science fiction novel by Robert A. Heinlein, originally serialised in Worlds of If (November 1962, January, March 1963), and published in hardcover in 1963. The novel is about a teenage girl named Podkayne "Poddy" Fries and her younger, asocial genius brother, Clark, who leave their home on Mars to take a trip on a spaceliner to visit Earth, accompanied by their uncle.

2.  By His Bootstraps - Episode 177 (Radio Drama Revival)

A short story that plays with some of the inherent paradoxes that would be caused by time travel. It was originally published in the October 1941 issue of Astounding Science Fiction under the pen name Anson MacDonald. It was reprinted in Heinlein's 1959 collection, The Menace From Earth and in several subsequent anthologies.