The SCREAM-MAC-EMT dataset includes 10 classical violin pieces and 10 expressive musical terms. Each piece is interpreted by 5 expressive musical terms and 1 non-expressive version (e.g., no expression, denoted as None) by 11 distinct musicians. The dataset therefore contains 660 excerpts, that is, 110 excerpts of None and 55 excerpts for each of the 10 expressive musical terms.
  • The 10 classical violin pieces are:
ComposersMusic Pieces Measures 
W. A. Mozart Variationen 1-24 
T. A. Vitali Chaconne 1-9 
G. Faure Elegie 2-9 
P. I. Tchaikovsky String Quartet No. 1, Mov. II 1-16 
M. Bruch Violin Concerto No. 1, Mov. I 6 and 10 (solo. ad lib.) 
E. Elgar Salut d'Amour 3-17 
A. Vivaldi 
La primavero, Mov. I and II
L' autunno, Mov. I and III
1-13 and 2-11
1-13 and 1-29

  • The 10 expressive musical terms (EMTs) are:
Musical TermsMeaning Musical Terms Meaning 
Scherzando Playful Grazioso Graceful 
Tranquillo Calm Con Brio With Spirit 
Maestoso Majestic Affettuoso Affectionate 
Risoluto Resolute Agitato Agitated 
Espressivo Expressive Cantabile Singing-like

  • Each violin piece is interpreted in 6 versions (5 EMTs + 1 non-expression):
Violin Pieces SchAffTraGraConAgiEspMaeCanRisNone 
Variationen V  V  V   V  V V
Chaconne V V   V V   V  V
Elegie V   V  V  V  V
String Quartet No. 1, Mov. II   V V  V    V V V
Violin Concerto No. 1, Mov. I  V V   V  V V  V
La primavera, Mov. I V V  V V     V V
La primavera, Mov. II    V  V V V V  V
Salut d’Amour  V  V  V V V   V
L’autunno, Mov. I   V V V  V   V V
L’autunno, Mov. III V  V    V V  V V

The dataset is presented in the following paper:
  • P.-C. Li, L. Su, Y.-H. Yang and A. W. Y. Su, “Analysis of expressive musical terms in violin using score-informed and expression-based audio features,” in Proc. Int. Society of Music Information Retrieval Conf. (ISMIR), 2015.


To request the SCREAM-MAC-EMT dataset:
If approved, it might take up to a working week to receive the download link by email.


The authors would like to thank the following three professional violinists for consulting: 
  • Chia-Ling Lin (Doctor of Musical Arts, City University of New York; concertmaster of Counterpoint Ensemble)

  • Liang-Chun Chou (Master of Music, Manhattan School of Music; concertmaster of Tainan Symphony Orchestra)

  • Hsin-Yi Su (Master of Music, New England Conservatory of Music; major violin performance of Tainan Symphony Orchestra).
This dataset is created by a team of researchers at SCREAM Lab and MAC Lab.
Subpages (1): Questionnaire