Navigation

    Bestiary‎ > ‎(Bestiary) By Type‎ > ‎Templates‎ > ‎

    Amalgam Creature (CR Special)

    Editor's Note

    The original amalgam creature template depended on base creature types which are now Pathfinder creature subtypes (elemental and giant). To preserve the flow of the entry, the elemental and giant titles have been retained and a reference to the new base type has been added in parentheses.

    Why is this Template So Complicated?

    Amalgam is so complicated because it gives the mechanics for taking any two monsters and mashing them together into a single creature. The amalgam template exists to provide a game mechanic for GMs who want to make creatures similar to owlbears, but it can just as easily be used to create tojanida-succubi, bodak-stone golems, and other odd combinations. The result is often a strange and unique creature that might deserve its own place in your world.

    It's also complicated because it has to encompass many variables. The manimal and lycanthrope templates combine different creatures, and they do so in very different ways, but neither is expansive enough to account for literally any combination of monsters.

    This template might be more than you need to create the monster combination you have in mind. If you want to create a human with a grick's tentacle attacks, for example, you can always just give a human those characteristics. But if you’d like a formal structure for combining any two monsters according to the rules, this template does the job.

    As you apply the template, you can make minor alterations based on how you want your two monsters to combine. For instance, if you were hoping that the combination of an ogre and a bear would make a giant, centaur-like bear-ogre rather than an ogre with bearlike features, you can alter how the template works to ensure the creature takes the right form.

    Ultimately, this template provides a fun way to think about monsters and make up new creatures. With it, you can create interesting encounters and adventures without designing a new monster from scratch.

    Using the Amalgam Template

    When you think about creatures to combine with the amalgam template, keep the following tips in mind.

    Go Crazy!

    The amalgam template was created to let you mix and match any two monsters. So don’t ignore a combination just because it seems silly or contradictory at first glance. Once you’ve put the monsters through the template, you might be surprised by the result. Look for compromises between conflicting abilities so that the monster can keep as many pieces of the base creatures as possible.

    Examine the Result...

    An amalgam need not be simply a combination of the two base creatures. Think of it as a wholly new monster. Examining its abilities and how they interact might suggest a new culture, psychology, ecology, and tactics.

    More Than Once

    With multiple applications of this template, you can add a third, fourth, or fifth creature to the mix. Such combinations can be a lot of fun to create and play, but continual addition of special attacks and special qualities makes the resulting monsters both more complicated and less balanced.

    An amalgam is two different monsters brought together into one being by either magic or selective breeding. The amalgam template can be used to create a new race to replace a standard one, or new creatures resulting from a crossbreeding experiment, or a series of monsters influenced by a god or demon, or even a unique creature created by a magical accident.

    Creating an Amalgam Creature

    “Amalgam creature” is an acquired or inherited template (your choice) that combines two creatures (referred to hereafter as base creatures). An amalgam uses all the statistics and special abilities of the two base creatures except as noted here.

    Challenge Rating: Compare the amalgam to both base creatures and select a challenge rating based on theirs. Then compare the amalgam to creatures with Challenge Ratings up to 3 higher to determine whether the CR you have assigned is reasonable.

    Alignment: The amalgam’s alignment includes elements of both base creatures’ alignments. For example, an amalgam created from a chaotic neutral and a lawful evil base creature could be chaotic evil or lawful neutral, at your option.

    Size and Type: The amalgams size is the same as the larger of the two base creatures. Find the amalgam’s new type by cross-referencing the two base creatures’ existing types on Table: Size & Type. The new creature retains any existing subtypes of the base creatures unless those subtypes directly conflict (fire and cold, for example). In case of such a conflict, the creature loses both subtypes.

    Table: Size & Type


    Aber Animal Con Drag Fey Hum MagB MonH Ooze Out Pla Und Ver
    Aber Aber Aber Con Drag Aber Aber MagB Aber Aber Out Pla Und Aber
    Animal Aber Animal Con Drag Fey MonH MagB MonH Aber Out Pla Und Ver
    Con Con Con Con Con Con Con Con Con Con Con Con Con Con
    Drag Drag Drag Con Drag Drag Drag Drag Drag Aber Out Pla Und Drag
    Fey Aber Fey Con Drag Fey Fey MagB Fey Aber Out Fey Und Aber
    Hum Aber MonH Con Drag Fey Hum Aber MonH Aber Out Pla Und Aber
    MagB MagB MagB Con Drag MagB Aber MagB Aber MagB Out Pla Und MagB
    MonH Aber MonH Con Drag Fey MonH Aber MonH Aber Out Pla Und Aber
    Ooze Aber Aber Con Aber Aber Aber MagB Aber Ooze Aber Aber Und Aber
    Out Out Out Con Out Out Out Out Out Aber Out Pla Und Out
    Pla Pla Pla Con Pla Fey Pla Pla Pla Aber Pla Pla Und Pla
    Und Und Und Con Und Und Und Und Und Und Und Und Und Und
    Ver Aber Ver Con Drag Aber Aber MagB Aber Aber Out Pla Und Ver

    Body Form: The amalgam has the general body form of whichever base creature has a higher character level (racial and class Hit Dice). In case of a tie, the DM may choose which base creature’s form the amalgam has. Limbs: The amalgam has the same kinds of limbs and attacking appendages as both base creatures do. If both base creatures have a particular kind of limb, the amalgam has the same number of such limbs as does the base creature with the higher character level or Hit Dice. If both base creatures have the same character level or Hit Dice, the amalgam has the greater number of limbs. The amalgam can attack with any appendage that either base creature can, even if the other base creature has no attack with that limb. All limbs are sized appropriately for the amalgam. For example, a Huge monstrous scorpion combined with a stirge has the general body form, legs, claws, and tail of the scorpion, plus stirge-like wings and a stirge’s proboscis—both sized to fit its new body. A hill giant combined with a heavy warhorse has the body form, legs, and arms of a hill giant, plus a horse-like face and hoof-like feet to deliver the warhorse’s hoof and bite attacks.

    Appearance: The amalgam looks like a combination of both base creatures, even if its features do not retain the same functions. The GM may freely assign any appropriate physical characteristics to the creature within those parameters.

    Hit Dice: The amalgam has the same number of racial Hit Dice as the base creature with the greatest number of racial HD. If the two base creatures have the same number of racial HD, the amalgam also has that number. Hit Dice gained through class levels do not count for this purpose. The amalgam’s racial Hit Dice are of a size appropriate to its new type, as given on the following table.

    Table: Hit Dice

    Type Hit Die Type
    Aberration d8
    Animal d8
    Construct d10*
    Dragon d12
    Fey d6
    Humanoid d8
    Magical beast d10
    Monstrous humanoid d8
    Ooze d8
    Outsider d10
    Plant d8
    Undead d8**
    Vermin d8

    * Constructs receive bonus hit points based on size. Constructs do not have Constitution scores, so they do not gain bonus hit points for each HD based on high Constitution.
    ** Undead do not have Constitution scores. Undead receive bonus hit points based on Charisma instead of Constitution.

    Speed: The amalgam possesses the speeds and movement modes of both base creatures. If both have a particular mode of movement, the amalgam’s speed for that mode is the higher of the two. If both base creatures have fly speeds, the amalgam has the better maneuverability rating. For example, combining a centaur and a cloaker, the resulting amalgam would have the land speed of the centaur (50 ft.) and the fly speed of the cloaker (40 ft. with average maneuverability).

    Armor Class: If the base creatures are the same size, simply average their natural armor bonuses and round down to determine the natural armor bonus of the amalgam. (A creature with no natural armor bonus has an effective natural armor bonus of +0.) Otherwise, adjust the natural armor bonus of the smaller creature according to the following table before averaging. Apply the modifiers stepwise to account for the size difference between the smaller base creature and the amalgam.

    Table: Natural Armor Bonus

    Size Change Natural Armor Bonus Increase for Averaging
    Fine to Diminutive +0
    Diminutive to Tiny +0
    Tiny to Small +0
    Small to Medium +0
    Medium to Large +2
    Large to Huge +3
    Huge to Gargantuan +4
    Gargantuan to Colossal +5

    For example, if the amalgam is Huge and the smaller of the two base creatures is Small, you would add +0 (for Small to Medium), +2 (for Medium to Large), and +3 (for Large to Huge), for a total of +5, to the smaller creature’s natural armor bonus before averaging it with that of the larger creature. The amalgam’s size also determines its size modifier to AC, as normal.

    Base Attack Bonus: Recalculate the amalgam’s base attack bonus for its racial Hit Dice based on its creature type and number of racial HD, according to the following table. Add to this value the base attack bonus for any class Hit Dice it has.

    Table: BAB

    Base Attack Bonus Creature Type
    HD x 3/4 (as cleric) Aberration, Animal, Humanoid, Ooze, Plant, Vermin
    HD (as fighter) Construct, Dragon, Magical Beast, Monstrous Humanoid, Outsider, Undead
    HD x 1/2 (as wizard) Fey

    CMB/CMD: The amalgam’s size modifier for CMB/CMD checks is given on the following table.

    Table: CMB/CMD

    Size Size Modifier for CMB/CMD Checks
    Fine –8
    Diminutive –4
    Tiny –2
    Small –1
    Medium +0
    Large +1
    Huge +2
    Gargantuan +4
    Colossal +8

    Attack: The amalgam retains all the attacks of the base creature with the greater racial hit dice. It also gains any attacks the other base creature has that are associated with limbs it gained from that creature, and it retains the weapon and armor proficiencies of both base creatures. Weapon attacks are always primary attacks, and natural attacks gained from the creature with fewer racial HD are always secondary attacks. Natural attacks gained from the base creature with more racial hit dice are either primary or secondary, as they were for that creature. If the base creatures have the same number of racial HD, the amalgam gains all the attacks of both, subject to the number of appropriate limbs it actually has. The GM chooses one kind of natural attack to be the primary one if more than one option exists. For example, a naga combined with a goblin would possess the goblin's arms, so it could wield weapons and make attacks with those limbs. The standard size modifier applies to the amalgam’s attack rolls, according to the following table.

    Table: Size Modifier for Attacks

    Size Size Modifier for Attacks
    Fine +8
    Diminutive +4
    Tiny +2
    Small +1
    Medium +0
    Large –1
    Huge –2
    Gargantuan –4
    Colossal –8

    Damage: If the base creatures are both the same size as the amalgam, the base damage for its attacks remains the same as it was for the base creatures. Otherwise, keep the damage for the larger base creature’s attacks the same and adjust the base damage for each of the smaller creature’s attacks according to the following table. Scale the damage once for each size category of difference between the smaller base creature and the amalgam. Ability score damage or drain and energy damage also scale up in the same manner, but negative levels bestowed via attacks do not increase.

    Table: Damage Changes

    Old Damage New Damage
    1 1d2
    1d2 1d3
    1d3 1d4
    1d4 1d6
    1d6 1d8
    1d8 2d6
    1d10 2d8
    2d6 3d6
    2d8 3d8
    4d6 6d6

    For example, if the amalgam is Huge and the smaller of the two base creatures is Small, an attack from the smaller one that originally dealt 1d4 points of damage would scale up three times. Thus, 1d4 becomes 1d6 (for Small to Medium), 1d6 becomes 1d8 (for Medium to Large), and 1d8 becomes 2d6 (for Large to Huge).

    Space/Reach: The amalgam has a space and reach appropriate for its size, as given in the following table. If the reach for a natural attack that the amalgam receives from one of the base creatures is greater than indicated for its size in the chart below, extend the reach of that attack by the same amount that it is extended from the original creature. For instance, an amalgam formed from a choker and an ogre mage would possess tentacle attacks with a reach of 15 feet.

    Table: Space and Reach

    Size Space/Reach (Tall) Space/Reach (Long)
    Fine 1/2 ft./0 ft.
    Diminutive 1 ft./0 ft.
    Tiny 2 1/2 ft./0 ft.
    Small 5 ft./5 ft.
    Medium 5 ft./5 ft. 5 ft./5 ft.
    Large 10 ft./10 ft. 10 ft./5 ft.
    Huge 15 ft./15 ft. 15 ft./10 ft.
    Gargantuan 20 ft./20 ft. 20 ft./15 ft.
    Colossal 30 ft./30 ft. 30 ft./20 ft.

    Special Attacks: An amalgam retains all the special attacks of both base creatures that do not depend on a limb or body form the amalgam does not possess. If two special attacks are similar, the amalgam has the better of the two. For example, if both base creatures deals extra fire damage with their melee attacks, but one deals +1 point and the other deals +1d6 points, the amalgam deals +1d6 points of fire damage with each of its melee attacks. Recalculate the save DCs for all special attacks based on the amalgam creature’s racial HD or character level, as applicable, and its ability scores. Now evaluate your monster’s special attacks, realizing it may get to use only two or three of them in a single combat. If it seems as if your amalgam has too many special attacks, pare them down until you are satisfied.

    Special Qualities: An amalgam retains all the special qualities of both base creatures that do not depend on a limb or body form that the amalgam does not possess. If two special qualities are similar, the amalgam has the better of the two. For example, if one base creature has fire resistance 20 and the other has fire immunity, the amalgam has fire immunity.

    Saves: The amalgam’s base saves depend on its type, as given on the following table. Any saves not noted as good for a particular type are poor. Add to each of these values the corresponding base save bonuses for any class hit dice the amalgam has.

    Table: Saving Throws

    Creature Type Good Saves
    Aberration Will
    Animal Fortitude and Reflex
    Construct
    Dragon Fortitude, Reflex, Will
    Fey Reflex and Will
    Humanoid Varies (Any One)
    Magical Beast Fortitude, Reflex
    Monstrous Humanoid Reflex, Will
    Ooze
    Outsider Varies (Any Two)
    Plant Fortitude
    Undead Will
    Vermin Fortitude

    Abilities: For each mental ability score, take the average for the two base creatures, rounding down if the result is 10 or higher or up if it is below 10. If the base creatures are the same size, follow the same procedure for each physical ability score. Otherwise, adjust the ability score of the smaller creature according to the following table before averaging. Apply the modifiers stepwise to account for the size difference between the smaller base creature and the amalgam.

    Size Change Strength Dexterity Constitution
    Fine to Diminutive +0 –2 (minimum 1) +0
    Diminutive to Tiny +2 –2 (minimum 1) +0
    Tiny to Small +4 –2 (minimum 1) +0
    Small to Medium +4 –2 (minimum 1) +2
    Medium to Large +8 –2 (minimum 1) +4
    Large to Huge +8 –2 (minimum 1) +4
    Huge to Gargantuan +8 +0 +4
    Gargantuan to Colossal +8 +0 +4

    Skills: The amalgam retains the racial skill bonuses described in the Skills section of the creature descriptions for both base creatures, but it loses all skill ranks the base creatures possessed. Recalculate skill points for the amalgam’s racial Hit Dice according to its type, as given on the following table, then purchase its skills afresh, treating both base creatures’ skills as class skills and all others as cross-class skills. The amalgam retains any skill points gained from class levels.

    Table: Skills

    Creature Skill Points/HD
    Aberration (4 + Int modifier, minimum 1)
    Animal (2 + Int modifier, minimum 1)
    Construct (2 + Int modifier, minimum 1)
    Dragon (6 + Int modifier, minimum 1)
    Fey (6 + Int modifier, minimum 1)
    Humanoid (2 + Int modifier, minimum 1)
    Magical beast (2 + Int modifier, minimum 1)
    Monstrous humanoid (4 + Int modifier, minimum 1)
    Ooze (2 + Int modifier, minimum 1)
    Outsider (6 + Int modifier, minimum 1)
    Plant (2 + Int modifier, minimum 1)
    Undead (4 + Int modifier, minimum 1)
    Vermin (2 + Int modifier, minimum 1)

    Languages: If the amalgam can speak, it speaks a number of languages appropriate for its Intelligence score, chosen from the languages the base creatures speak.

    Feats: The amalgam retains any bonus feats of the base creatures, but it loses all other feats that the base creatures had. Recalculate the number of feat slots the amalgam has based on its character level (racial and class HD) and assign feats as desired, giving preference to the feats that the base creatures possessed. Th e amalgam must still meet any prerequisites for feats chosen to fill vacant feat slots.

    Environment: The amalgam can exist in any environment that either base creature could.

    Organization: An amalgam is often a wholly new and strange being, so you can assign whatever organization you wish. A typical amalgam, however, is organized in the same manner as one of its base creatures.

    Treasure: Standard if both base creatures have standard treasure, or as the base creature with the most treasure, if both have poorer than standard, or as the base creature with the least treasure if they both have better than standard.