Arrow of Light


Arrow of Light is the last year of Cub Scouting. 5th graders transition to Boy Scouts in February so that they may be comfortable in their Troop before the beginning of the summer camping season.

Fifth graders work toward the Arrow of Light rank. If a fourth-grade Cub Scout has completed the Webelos rank, they may begin to work on the Arrow of Light. The Arrow of Light rank is earned by completing five adventures as described below.

1. Be an active member of your Webelos den for three months.

2. Complete each of the four required adventures:

  • Building a Better World
  • Duty to God in Action
  • Outdoor Adventurer
  • Scouting Adventure

3. In addition to the four required adventures, complete at least one elective adventure of your den’s or family’s choosing.

4. With your parent, guardian, or other caring adult, complete the exercises in the pamphlet entitled How to Protect Your Children From Child Abuse: A Parent’s Guide.

5. Earn the Cyber Chip award for your age. (The Cyber Chip portion of this requirement may be waived by your parent or guardian if you do not have access to the internet.)

Arrow of Light Den Leaders

There are separate Dens for boy and girl Scouts in 5th grade, with separate Den Leaders.

Find our Arrow of Light Den Leaders here.


From BSA Official Website

The Arrow of Light Cub Scout uniform has the following parts;

1. Shirt—The official tan uniform shirt is available with long or short sleeves and has button-flap pockets.

2. Pants*— The official green shorts, long pants, skorts, and roll up pants.

3. Belt^—Official navy-blue web belt with metal buckle or the green web belt with BSA buckle is acceptable for the 2018-19 program year.

4. Socks*—Official green socks are available in three lengths: ankle, crew, and knee.

5. Hat*—Official green hat with Webelos plaid front and Webelos emblem.

6. Neckerchief—Webelos/Arrow of Light plaid triangular neckerchief with Webelos logo. Official BSA neckerchiefs are the only neckerchiefs that are part of the uniform.

7. Neckerchief slide—Official gold-tone metal slide with Webelos emblem. Cub Scouts may wear handmade neckerchief slides.

8. Webelos Colors.- The Webelos Colors is an optional uniform piece that is worn on the right sleeve to display the Webelos Adventure Pins that have been earned. If the Webelos Colors are not used, Webelos Adventure Pins may be worn on the Webelos hat.

^The Webelos belt is going through a rolling change from navy-blue web belt with Webelos buckle to green web belt with BSA buckle Either is acceptable for the 2018-19 program year.
*Currently Optional for Pack 625