Dens‎ > ‎

3rd grade - Bear

Bear Scout Program Information:

Welcome to the Bear Den!


Bears are boys and girls in the third grade (or 9 years old) who work toward earning their Bear rank. During the Bear year scouts will complete many tasks at den meetings as well as at home. This year the Bears will learn about the safe use of pocketknives, camping and what gear to pack for campouts, planning and cooking meals, hiking and nature, new games, and much, much more! If a Bear is new to Cub Scouting he must first earn his Bobcat rank before he can earn his Bear rank.

Each Bear Scout must complete six core Bear adventures and one of the thirteen Bear elective adventures to receive his Bear Rank badge. After completing an adventure each Cub Scout will receive an immediate recognition award in the form of a adventure loop that he can wear on his belt. Adventure loops are color coded and specific to each Scouting year. Adventure loops for this Scouting Year will have light blue edges.

After he has earned the Bear badge, a Bear Scout can work on the remaining 12 Bear electives until he finishes third grade (or turn 10 years old). He can choose elective adventures that may show him new hobbies and teach him skills that will be useful during his Boy Scout years. When he completes an elective adventure, he receives an additional adventure loop to wear on his belt.


Bear Den Meetings and Pack Meetings:

bear-handbook-coverPack 475 Bear Den meetings are held at the Guilford Lakes School cafeteria, 6:30-8:00 pm. Look at the Bear calendar on this page for more information on Bear Den specific meetings/activities as well as the monthly Pack 475 meetings and events.

 Please wear Class A Uniform to all functions/meetings (unless your den leader has specified otherwise).