DENS‎ > ‎

5th - Arrow of Light

Welcome to the Arrow of Light Year

Arrow of Light Leader: Anthony Martin

 Arrow of Light Scouts (also called Webelos II) are typically in fifth grade. 

Arrow of Light Scouts generally have three meetings each month: two Den meetings and the Pack meeting. However, more meetings may be held if needed to ensure the Scouts get their badges in a timely manner, especially if there are fewer meetings at a point in the year due to SES cross country, bad weather, or so forth. 

Typically, Arrow of Light Scouts has a shorter duration because many Boy Scout Troops prefer to start incorporating new Boy Scouts in late winter or early spring, so they can be fully functioning members of the Boy Scout Troop before Boy Scout summer camp begins. Pack 39 usually crosses over our Arrow of Light Scouts into Boy Scouts in January.

Between the opening and closing ceremonies, the meeting typically contains:
  • Talk Time: the Den Leaders/adult partners may have announcements, introduce the adventure, and talk about what the Den will be doing for upcoming Den meetings or the Pack meeting. Each boy has a chance to share something that he's done since the last meeting. 
  • Activity: This activity could fulfill one of the required or elective adventures. 

To achieve the Arrow of Light Badge, boys must do the following:

  • Be an active member of the Arrow of Light den for 3 months (having good attendance, paying den dues, and working on den projects);
  • Complete each of the following required Arrow of Light adventures with their den or family:
    • Building a Better World
    • Camper
    • Faith in Action - 2 (with family),
    • Scouting Adventure;
  • Complete three elective Webelos adventures of your den or family’s choosing;
  • With a parent or adult partner, complete the exercises in the pamphlet How to Protect Your Children from Child Abuse: A Parent’s Guide, and earn the Cyber Chip award for your age.

Updates to the requirements are in the addendum below.

Adventures can be performed in any order. Achievement of each required and elective adventure is marked by an activity pin that the Scout can wear on his uniform (Webelos Colors) or hat.
Mary Wilson,
Aug 19, 2017, 6:09 AM