DENS‎ > ‎

3rd - Bears

Welcome to the Bear Year

Bear Scout Leaders: Karen Claussen Bishop, Allie Bradshaw

Bear Scouts are typically third grade boys.

Bear Scouts generally have three meetings each month: two Den meetings and the Pack meeting. However, more meetings may be held if needed to ensure the Scouts get their badges in a timely manner, especially if there are fewer meetings at a point in the year due to SES cross country, bad weather, or so forth.

The Bear Den Leaders can still participate in a shared-leadership, especially if this worked well during the Tiger and Wolf years.

Between the opening and closing ceremonies, the Den meeting is divided into two parts:

  • Talk Time: the Den Leaders/adult partners may have announcements, introduce the adventure, and talk about what the Den will be doing for upcoming Den meetings or the Pack meeting. Each boy has a chance to share something that he's done since the last meeting. 
  • Activity: This activity could fulfill one of the required or elective adventures.

To achieve the Bear Badge, boys must do the following: 

  • Complete each of the following required Bear adventures with their den or family:
    • Bear Claws,
    • Bear Necessities,
    • Fellowship of Faith (with family),
    • Fur, Feathers, and Ferns,
    • Grin and Bear It,
    • Paws for Action;
  • Complete one Bear elective adventure of your den or family’s choosing; and
  • With a parent or adult partner, complete the exercises in the pamphlet How to Protect Your Children from Child Abuse: A Parent’s Guide, and earn the Cyber Chip award for your age.
Updates to the requirements are in the addendum below.

Adventures can be performed in any order. Achievement of each required and elective adventure is marked by a metal belt loop stamped with the symbol for that adventure; the Cub Scout wears it on his belt. 

Mary Wilson,
Aug 19, 2017, 6:06 AM