Home‎ > ‎Latest Parish Council news‎ > ‎


posted Mar 3, 2019, 7:51 AM by Karen Birks


Election to Oxton Parish Council May 2019

Elections are to take place on Thursday 2nd May 2019 for Parish Councillors to sit on Oxton Parish Council. These elections take place every four years. The Parish Council has seven councillors who are all volunteers and give their time freely for the benefit of the village. The Parish Council meets on a monthly basis with the exception of August and a commitment is necessary to attend as many meetings as possible throughout the year.

Anyone who meets the following criteria is eligible to stand for the Parish Council. If seven or less people are nominated the candidates will be automatically elected or if more than seven then an election will take place and all local residents will be entitled to vote.

Anyone who would like to stand must meet the following criteria:

- 18 years of age;

-  A British Citizen or eligible commonwealth citizen;

- Meet one of the following four qualifications: be registered as an elector in the Parish/have occupied as owner or tenant land or premises in the Parish for 12 months prior to the election/ your main place of work has been in the Parish for the past 12 months/you have lived in the Parish or within three miles of it for the past 12months.


If anyone meeting the criteria would like to stand for the position of Oxton Parish Councillor a nomination pack giving all the details, essential dates and the nomination papers can be obtained by visiting the Newark & Sherwood District Council website (Local elections 2019 page – Parish and Town Council Candidates Nomination Pack) and printing a copy off or by contacting N&SDC Democratic Services to request that a pack is posted. Nominations will be accepted by the District Council from 19th March and the last date for receipt of nominations will be 3rd April.

If you have any questions regarding the elections for Parish Councillors please contact the Parish Clerk or N&SDC on 01636 650000 or 01636 655222.


Clerk to Oxton Parish Council