Orissa Higher Education Task Force

The official site of the task force is at http://www.dheorissa.in/DHE/TaskForce.aspx. Following are some links from that page.

Tentative Meeting Dates:

The task force members are: 
  1. Chair: Professor Trilochan Pradhan: Founder and Retired Director, Institute of Physics and Ex-Vice-Chancellor of the Utkal University
  2. Convenor of the Task Force: Mr. Madhusudan Padhi, IAS, Commissioner-cum-Secretary, Higher Education
  3. Prof KL Chopra (former Director, IIT Kharagpur), NBA
  4. Prof Debi Prasanna Pattnaik
  5. Prof DP Ray, VC, OUAT
  6. Prof AK Pujari, VC, Sambalpur University
  7. Prof Sunil Sarangi, Director, NIT, Rourkela
  8. Prof Chitta Baral, Arizona State University USA
  9. Prof Priyambada Hejmadi (former VC)
  10. Prof Swadhin Patnaik, Director, Institute of Mathematics
  11. Mr. Abani Baral
  12. Prof DV Ramanna, XIMB
  13. Prof LN Mishra, former Utkal University VC
  14. Prof Rabindra Ku Nanda, former Prof in Chemistry
  15. Prof Damodar Acharya, Director IIT Kharagpur
  16. Dr. Rajib Sahu, Resources Consultant
  17. Dr Achyut Samant, UGC member
In addition, the special invitee to this task force include: 
  • All other vice-chancellors of universities in the state (Utkal, Berhampur, NOU, FMU, Ravenshaw, BPUT, VSSUT, Culture U, KIIT U, SOA U, NLUO, CUO, Sri Jagannath U)
  • Director, NISER, Prof Chandrasekhar
  • Ex-state information commissioner Radhamohan
  • Director, IIIT, Bhubaneswar, Prof Gopal Nayak
  • Commissioner-cum-state project director, OPEPA
  • Director of higher education
  • Director of secondary education
  • Director of elementary education
  • Director of technical education and training
  • Director of medical education and training
  • Prof Bhagaban Prakash
  • Chairman, HDF, Prof D K Ray
  • Prof Dhanada Mishra
  • Prof M K Mishra
  • Retired principal, R D Women’s College, Prof Bijaya Mishra.
The main task of this task force is to prepare a vision for higher education in Orissa that includes two one year plans (2010-2011 and 2011-2012) and two five year plans (2012-2017 and 2017-2022) corresponding to the 12th and 13th five year plan of India.

The task force will "study the present scenario of higher education in Orissa in all sectors including industries, agriculture and medical; suggest ways and means to improve the situation and bring it at par with international standard, keeping equity, excellence and inclusion as focus areas and suggest draft higher education policy for the state."

Officials said five regional consultative workshops will be held in Cuttack, Balasore, Sambalpur, Jeypore and Berhampur and a state-level workshop in Bhubaneswar to elicit opinion of the intelligentsia and stakeholders. Besides, sub-committees will be formed to examine such aspects as "expansion and structural configurations, quality and curricular concerns (including teachers training), governance issues (including autonomy and regulatory system), and financing of higher education."

Orissa Vision2020,
Oct 19, 2009, 8:34 AM
Orissa Vision2020,
Oct 19, 2009, 8:34 AM
Orissa Vision2020,
Oct 19, 2009, 8:35 AM