Existing and Planned Universities; making Independent Colleges

Existing and/or Operational Universities, Deemed Universities and National Institutions in Orissa

National Institutes and central universities in Orissa with their own acts
  • NIT Rourkela
  • Central University of Orissa, Koraput
National institutes in Orissa that are operational but without an act
  • IIT Bhubaneswar
  • NISER Nhubaneswar
The fully developed State Universities in Orissa are
  • Utkal University, Bhubaneswar
  • Berhampur University, Berhampur
  • Sambalpur University, Burla, Sambalpur
  • Orissa University of Agriculture and Technology, Bhubaneswar
Recently established State universities that are eligible to receive central financial assistance under UGC 12(B), but not yet fully developed
  • Fakirmohan University, Balasore
  • North Orissa University, Baripada
  • Ravenshaw University, Cuttack
  • Sri Jagannath University, Puri
Recently established State universities that are yet to get UGC 12 (B) authorization
  • Utkal University of Culture, Bhubaneswar
  • Biju Patnaik University of Technology, Rourkela
  • VSS University of Technology, Burla, Sambalpur
  • National Law University of Orissa, Cuttack
Private Deemed Universities
  • KIIT University
  • Siksha O Anusandhan University

Already proposed Universities, Deemed Universities and National Institutions in Orissa

National institutes and universities that are planned 
  • IIIT
  • AIIMS-like institution, Bhubaneswar
  • National University, Bhubaneswar
State Universities that have been proposed
  • Orissa open University
  • Veterinary University
  • Orissa Health University
  • Khallikote University, Berhampur
Private Universities whose acts have been passed in the state assembly
  • Vedanta University
  • Sri Sri University
Private Universities whose acts are under consideration in the state assembly
  • ICFAI University
Deemed Univesrity Applicants and Aspirants
  • ASBM, Bhubaneswar
  • CEB, Bhubaneswar
  • CV Raman, Bhubaneswar
  • Hi-Tech, Bhubaneswar
  • KISS, Bhubaneswar
  • Koustuv, Bhubaneswar
  • Krupajal, Bhubaneswar
  • Vidya Bharati, Gunupur, Rayagada
Private Universities in pipeline 
  • Jagadguru Kripalu University for Spiritual Sciences
  • Xavier University
New Proposals for Universities, Deemed Universities and National Institutions in Orissa

Request to Central Government for National Universities and Institutes
  • Establishing a campus of Indira Gandhi National Tribal University in Kandhamala 
  • Request to expedite approval of Deemed University Status to Vidya Bharati, Gunupur, Rayagada as Rayagada is a low GER district.
  • Immediately establishing a regional center of the Worker's technical University in Orissa.
  • Making VSS University of Technology to an IIEST
  • Establishing a KBK Institute of Engineering and Technology along the lines of SLIET and ABA GKCIET in Balangir
  • Establishing a PIO/NRI University
  • Making Orissa School of Mining Engineering (Keonjhar) a branch of Indian School of Mines University
New State Universities (by 2015)
  • Rourkela University
  • Central Orissa University, Angul
  • Central Orissa University, Keonjhar
  • Western Orissa University, Balangir
  • South Orissa University, Bhawanipatna
  • Bhubaneswar-Cuttack metropolitan University
  • GM University, Sambalpur
  • Orissa Technical and Skills University (focusing on vocational programs)
  • Orissa Tribal University, Kandhamala
  • Orissa University of Agriculural Sciences, Bhawanipatna/Kesinga
New State Universities (by 2020) - Goal is to have areas with population greater than 100,000 to have a university nearby
  • Jeypore University
  • Rayagada University
  • Gajapati University, Parlakhemundi
  • Puri University
  • Paradip University
  • Kalinganagar University
  • Bhadrak University
  • Barbil University, Joda-Barbil
  • Jharsuguda University
  • Baragarh University
Autonomous Colleges to be upgraded to independent status and adopted by the state (if they are private) - by 2015
  • Government College, Phulbani
  • Rayagada College  (B)
  • SKCG College, Parlakhemundi (B)
  • Vikram Dev College, Jeypore (C++)
  • Bhadrakh College (B++)
  • Dharanidhar College, Keonjhar (B+)
  • Government College, Bhawanipatna (B++)
  • Rajendra College, Balangir (B++)
  • Titlagarh College
  • Kendrapara College (A)
  • Nayagarh College (B+)
  • NC College, Jajpur (B+)
  • VN College, Jajpur Rd (B+)
  • SVM College, Jagatsinghpur (B+)
(Accreditition grades are from the NAAC site)

Autonomous College to become part of state Universities (2015 target)
  • Khallikote College (to become a unitary university) (B+)
  • SBR Government Women's college, Berhampur  (B)
  • FM College, Balasore (B++)
  • MPC College, Baripada (B+)
  • GM College (to become a unitary university) (B)
  • Government College, Rourkela (B)
  • Banki College (B++) 
  • BJB College, Bhubaneswar  (A)
  • Dhenkanal College (B++)
  • Government College, Angul (B)
  • PN College, Khurda (A)
  • RD Women's College, Bhubaneswar (A)
  • SCS College, Puri  (B++)
  • UN College, Adaspur (B+)
Other Colleges with B++ or above accreditition that will be rewarded:
  • Choudwar College (B++)
  • Salipur College (B++)
  • Sailabala Women's College (A)
Establish new independent state colleges (or upgrade an existing college or adopt a private college) with Bachelors and Masters in low GER districts
  • Malkangiri
  • Nabarangpur
  • Nuapada
  • Baudha
  • Deogarh
  • Sonepur
  • Baragarh
(See http://www.orissalinks.com/archives/1786 for some district-wise analysis of state colleges.)

Other districts with no government colleges
  • Jharsuguda

Encouraging private trusts (by virtue of the quality of their current institutions and/or the needs of the area)
  • Encourage NIST Berhampur to become a university or an autonomous institution (NIST is a top college and is in Berhampur, Ganjam a low GER district)
  • Encourage JITM Parlakhemundi to become a university (JITM is an innovative college and is in the low GER district of Gajapati)
  • Encourage Silicon Institute of Technology to become a university (Silicon is the top private engineering college in the state)
  • Now that the deemed university scheme is temporarily frozen; either lobby for making exceptions with respect to KISS and GIET Gunupur or offer both to make them state universities.